Conversation ​The State of the Arts

Backstage with BSO/GHO/Steinmeier/Nelsons Photo: Mark Römisch

Thu, 03/04/2021

1:00 PM

Online

A Conversation between Boston Symphony Orchestra President Mark Volpe and Leipzig Gewandhaus General Director Andreas Schulz

Last February, as COVID-19 took hold, cultural organizations around the world were forced to close their doors to the public. A year later most are still closed and struggling to find alternative ways to reach their audiences. Meanwhile, the calls for inclusion and diversity in classical music grow louder and more insistent. We check in with arts organizations on both sides of the Atlantic to ask how they are doing and what the future looks like in their eyes.
 
Our first conversation connects into the innovative partnership between the Boston Symphony Orchestra and Gewandhaus zu Leipzig. The leaders of these two prestigious orchestras talk with Boston Globe music critic Jeremy Eichler about their experiences and visions for the future.

Please register below. A zoom link will be sent separately via email.
Registration
ANDREAS SCHULZ
General Director of the Gewandhaus zu Leipzig.

Andreas Schulz (*1961) studied musicology, literature, and educational science with special emphasis on music education in Hamburg. For several years he was responsible for pedagogic matters of the master classes at the University of Lübeck and the Orchestra Academy in the Castle Salzau. From 1995 to 1997, he held the post of CEO at Bremen’s concert hall „Die Glocke“. In 1998, he was appointed General Director of the Gewandhaus zu Leipzig. His responsibilities include both the artistic management of the Gewandhausorchester and the Gewandhaus itself which is one of the most prestigious concert halls in Europe. During his tenure he worked in close collaboration with the Gewandhauskapellmeister Herbert Blomstedt and Riccardo Chailly. He now continues this successful teamwork with Andris Nelsons, appointed as the 21st Gewandhauskapellmeister in 2018.
 
Besides his post at the Gewandhaus, Andreas Schulz has lectured since 2001 as honorary professor in music management and cultural management at the University of Music in Bremen.
 
Amongst many other initiatives which include being co-initiator of the “Deutsche Konzerthauskonferenz” (German Concert-Hall Conference), Andreas Schulz is also co-founder of „The Management Symphony“ as well as of the Orchestra Foundation of German  Economy. Several marketing and media networks of selected concert halls and festivals were founded thanks to his initiative. Since 2012, he has been a much sought-after jury member in many renowned music competitions and is active in numerous foundations.

MARK VOLPE
Eunice and Julian Cohen President and Chief Executive Officer, Boston Symphony Orchestra
 
Mark Volpe, who celebrated his 23rd anniversary as leader of the Boston Symphony Orchestra at the start of the 2020-21 season, has played a major role in reaffirming the BSO’s standing as one of the world’s greatest orchestras. He has also maintained the orchestra’s financial equilibrium in a challenging economic environment, while overseeing its artistic mission of musical excellence and bringing the BSO to the widest possible audience through live performances, traditional and new media, and a wide variety of social media platforms. As CEO of BSO, Inc., he has been responsible for all the activities of the Boston Symphony Orchestra, Boston Pops Orchestra, and Tanglewood, as well as the institution’s real estate holdings in Boston and the Berkshires, a scope of activities unmatched by any other orchestra in the world. In addition to his many accomplishments with the BSO, Volpe’s tenure with the orchestra, along with his previous leadership positions with the orchestras of Baltimore, Minneapolis, and Detroit, represents an impressive 38-year commitment to the advancement of the field of classical music in this country.

JEREMY EICHLER is an award-winning critic and cultural historian who, since 2006, has served as chief classical music critic of The Boston Globe. His work has also appeared in The New Yorker and The New York Times among many other publications. Eichler holds a doctorate in European History from Columbia University, and his writing and scholarship have been recognized with an ASCAP Deems Taylor Award for music criticism, a Public Scholar grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities, the Salo and Jeanette Baron Dissertation Prize, and fellowships from Harvard University’s Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study as well the MacDowell Colony. A frequent guest speaker, Eichler previously taught at Brandeis University and is currently a local affiliate of Harvard's Center for European Studies. His first book — Time's Echo: Four Composers, the Second World War, and the Memory of Music — will be published by Alfred A. Knopf.

Back

Podiumsdiskussion ​The State of the Arts

Backstage mit BSO/GHO/Steinmeier/Nelsons Foto: Mark Römisch

Do, 04.03.2021

13:00 Uhr

online

Ein Gespräch zwischen Boston Symphony Orchestra Präsident Mark Volpe und dem Leipziger Gewandhaus Generaldirektor Andreas Schulz

Im Februar letzten Jahres, als COVID-19 einsetzte, waren Kulturorganisationen auf der ganzen Welt gezwungen, ihre Türen für die Öffentlichkeit zu schließen. Ein Jahr später sind die meisten immer noch geschlossen und kämpfen darum, alternative Wege zu finden, um ihr Publikum zu erreichen. Gleichzeitig 
werden die Rufe nach Dekolonisierung und Inklusion in der klassischen Musik immer dringlicher. Wir haben uns bei Kunstorganisationen auf beiden Seiten des Atlantiks erkundigt, wie es ihnen geht und wie die Zukunft in ihren Augen aussieht.
 
Unser erstes Gespräch knüpft an die innovative Partnerschaft zwischen dem Boston Symphony Orchestra und dem Gewandhaus zu Leipzig an. Die Leiter dieser beiden renommierten Orchester sprechen mit dem Boston Globe Musikkritiker Jeremy Eichler über ihre Erfahrungen und Visionen für die Zukunft.

Bitte registrieren Sie sich hier. Ein Zoom-Link wird Ihnen anschließend separat per E-Mail zugesandt.
Anmeldung
ANDREAS SCHULZ
Gewandhausdirektor am Gewandhaus zu Leipzig.

Andreas Schulz (*1961) studierte Musikwissenschaft, Literatur und Pädagogik mit dem Schwerpunkt Musikpädagogik in Hamburg. Er war mehrere Jahre für die pädagogischen Fragen der Meisterkurse an der Universität Lübeck und der Orchesterakademie im Schloss Salzau verantwortlich. Von 1995 bis 1997 war er Geschäftsführer des Bremer Konzerthauses "Die Glocke". 1998 wurde er zum Generalintendanten des Gewandhauses zu Leipzig ernannt. Seine Aufgaben umfassen sowohl die künstlerische Leitung des Gewandhausorchesters als auch des Gewandhauses selbst, das zu den renommiertesten Konzerthäusern Europas zählt. Während seiner Amtszeit arbeitete er eng mit dem Gewandhauskapellmeister Herbert Blomstedt und Riccardo Chailly zusammen. Diese erfolgreiche Zusammenarbeit setzt er nun mit Andris Nelsons fort, der 2018 zum 21. Gewandhauskapellmeister ernannt wurde.

Seit 2001 lehrt Andreas Schulz außerdem als Honorarprofessor für Musikmanagement und Kulturmanagement an der Hochschule für Musik in Bremen.
 
Neben vielen anderen Initiativen, unter anderem als Mitinitiator der Deutschen Konzerthauskonferenz, ist Andreas Schulz auch Mitbegründer von "The Management Symphony" sowie der Orchesterstiftung der Deutschen Wirtschaft. Mehrere Marketing- und Mediennetzwerke ausgewählter Konzerthäuser und Festivals wurden aufgrund seiner Initiative gegründet. Seit 2012 ist er ein gefragter Juror bei vielen renommierten Musikwettbewerben und engagiert sich in zahlreichen Stiftungen.

MARK VOLPE
Eunice und Julian Cohen Präsident und Vorstandsvorsitzender, Boston Symphony Orchestra
 
Mark Volpe, der zu Beginn der Saison 2020–21 sein 23-jähriges Jubiläum als Leiter des Boston Symphony Orchestra feierte, hat maßgeblich dazu beigetragen, die Stellung des BSO als eines der größten Orchester der Welt zu bekräftigen. Er hat das finanzielle Gleichgewicht des Orchesters in einem herausfordernden wirtschaftlichen Umfeld aufrechterhalten, während er die künstlerische Mission der musikalischen Exzellenz beaufsichtigt und das BSO durch Live-Auftritte, Medien und Social-Media-Plattformen einem möglichst breiten Publikum nahebringt. Als CEO von BSO, Inc. war er für alle Aktivitäten des Boston Symphony Orchestra, Boston Pops Orchestra und Tanglewood sowie für den Immobilienbesitz der Institution in Boston und den Berkshires verantwortlich — ein Tätigkeitsbereich, der keinem anderen Orchester der Welt gleicht. Zusätzlich zu seinen vielen Errungenschaften mit dem BSO stellt Volpes Amtszeit bei dem Orchester, zusammen mit seinen früheren Führungspositionen bei den Orchestern von Baltimore, Minneapolis und Detroit, ein beeindruckendes 38-jähriges Engagement für den Bereich der klassischen Musik in diesem Land dar.

JEREMY EICHLER ist ein preisgekrönter Kritiker und Kulturhistoriker, der seit 2006 als Chefkritiker für klassische Musik beim Boston Globe tätig ist. Seine Arbeiten sind unter anderem auch im New Yorker und der New York Times erschienen. Eichler hat an der Columbia University in Europäischer Geschichte promoviert und wurde für seine Arbeiten mit einem ASCAP Deems Taylor Award für Musikkritik, einem Public Scholar Stipendium des National Endowment for the Humanities, dem Salo and Jeanette Baron Dissertation Prize und Stipendien des Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study der Harvard University sowie der MacDowell Colony ausgezeichnet. Eichler, der häufig als Gastredner auftritt, lehrte zuvor an der Brandeis University und ist derzeit Mitglied des Center for European Studies bei Harvard. Sein erstes Buch — Time's Echo: Four Composers, the Second World War, and the Memory of Music — wird von Alfred A. Knopf herausgegeben.
 

Zurück