Bauhaus in New England

BauhausNE Button © mischen-berlin


Celebrate with us

The Bauhaus rose from the ashes of World War I in Germany 100 years ago. Its utopian ideas, inspired by founder Walter Gropius, attracted architects, artists and craftsmen from all around the world, challenging them to rethink design, its function in society and how it should be taught.

New England became an important Bauhaus hub after the school was closed down by the National Socialists in 1933. Bauhäusler like Walter Gropius, Marcel Breuer, Xanti Schawinski, and Anni and Josef Albers taught at local universities and left a legacy of Bauhaus buildings.

This centennial year we invite you to explore Bauhaus in New England and (re)discover how its ideals continue to live on.

Presented as part of Wunderbar Together: The Year of German-American Friendship 2018/19 – an initiative funded by the German Federal Foreign Office, implemented by the Goethe-Institut, and supported by the Federation of German Industries (BDI). More information at www.wunderbartogether.org.

Download the Bauhaus Flyer


 
Herbert Bayer, Design for a Multimedia Trade Fair Booth, 1924. Harvard Art Museums/Busch-Reisinger Museum. © Artists Rights Society (ARS), New York/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn.

Exhibition/Events | 2/7 - 7/28 | Harvard University
The Bauhaus and Harvard

Harvard Art Museums spearheads a semester of exhibitions and events that highlight Harvard's close relationship with the Bauhaus. The centerpiece is its exhibition which presents nearly 200 works by more than 70 artists, drawn almost entirely from the Busch-Reisinger Museum’s extensive Bauhaus collection.

Radical Geometries Bauhaus Prints, 1919–33 © MFA Boston

Exhibition/Lectures | 2/9 - 6/23 | Museum of Fine Arts, Boston
Radical Geometries: Bauhaus Prints

This spring, the MFA presents two exhibitions — Radical Geometries: Bauhaus Prints, 1919–33 and Postwar Visions: European Photography, 1945–60 — and the five-part lecture series The Bauhaus Movement as it explores its and Boston's relationship to the Bauhaus.

Werner David Feist: Wecker, Doppelbelichtung (1929) ©Bauhaus-Archiv Berlin

Exhibition | 3/28 - 9/1 | MIT Museum
Arresting Fragments: Object Photography at the Bauhaus

In celebration of the Bauhaus centennial, the MIT Museum presents a photography exhibition featuring 90 digital prints from Bauhaus Archive, Berlin, collections which explores the close relationship of photography, graphic design and the book arts, all areas of significant focus and impact for the Bauhaus program. 

HNE Tour ©HNE

Tour | 5/11 | Harvard Graduate School of Design
Modern Architecture Walking Tour of Harvard/Brattle Street

Modern Architecture Walking Tour of Cambridge visits distinctive modern structures on the Harvard campus as well as Brattle Street “Architects’ Walk” in Cambridge. Explore modern movement buildings from 1947 to 1973 designed by Walter Gropius, Le Corbusier, Josep Luis Sert, and others.

HNE Tour ©HNE

Tour | 5/12 | MIT
Modern Architecture Walking Tour of MIT

Modern Architecture Walking Tour of Cambridge visits distinctive modern structures on the MIT campus including the Eero Saarinen chapel. Explore modern movement buildings from 1947 to 1976 by Eero Saarinen, Alvar Aalto, I.M. Pei, Carl Koch, and others.
 

"Gefecht (Battle)," 1930, gouache on cardboard, by Paul Klee, Swiss, 1879–1940. © Bowdoin College

Exhibition/Events | 3/1 - 5/12 | Bowdoin College, ME
Modernism for All: The Bauhaus at 100

Bowdoin College Museum of Art's  exhibition is the starting point for a series of lectures, concerts, panels and student exhibitions that celebrates many aspects of the Bauhaus movement.

Katarina Burin: Zijeme, Installation view, ViPer Gallery Prague, 2017 © ViPer Gallery Prague

Exhibitions | 4/1/19 - 8/1/20 | Providence College-Galleries
Beyond Bauhaus

Providence College-Galleries presents a yearlong series of exhibitions, publications and commissioned installations featuring contemporary, cutting-edge artists whose practices are inspired by or respondent to the history of the Bauhaus. The intention is to encourage critical reassessment of Bauhaus ideas, especially as they relate to art histories of geographic, ethnic and gender diversity.

Grope Fest 85th birthday © Historic New England

Party/Talk | 5/18, 6/14, 8/2 | Gropius House
Metallisches Fest, Hip Sips & Perfect Things

Celebrate the centennial in Bauhaus style at the Gropius House in Lincoln MA, built by Walter Gropius for himself and his family in 1938. And discover the stylistic trendsetting of Ise Gropius, also known as Mrs. Gropius.

Bauhaus in Neuengland

BauhausNE Button © Goethe-Institut Boston


Feiern Sie mit uns

Das Bauhaus ist vor 100 Jahren in Deutschland aus der Asche des Ersten Weltkriegs erstanden. Seine utopischen Ideen, inspiriert vom Gründer Walter Gropius, lockten Architekten, Künstler und Kunsthandwerker aus aller Welt an. Sie wurden herausgefordert, die Funktion von Design, Kunst und Architektur neu zu durchdenken und wie diese gelehrt werden sollte.

Nach der Schließung der Schule durch die Nationalsozialisten 1933 wurde Neuengland zu einem wichtigen Bauhaus-Zentren. Bauhäusler wie Walter Gropius, Marcel Breuer, Xanti Schawinski und Anni und Josef Albers unterrichteten an lokalen Universitäten und hinterließen ein Erbe an Bauhaus-Gebäuden und Kunstwerken.

In diesem Jubiläumsjahr laden wir Sie ein, das Bauhaus in Neuengland (wieder) zu entdecken und zu erkunden, wie seine Ideale weiterleben.

Präsentiert im Rahmen von Wunderbar Together: The Year of German-American Friendship 2018/19 – eine vom Auswärtigen Amt geförderte, vom Goethe-Institut umgesetzte und vom Bundesverband der Deutschen Industrie (BDI) unterstützte Initiative. Weitere Informationen unter www.wunderbartogether.org.

Bauhaus Flyer zum Runterladen


 
Herbert Bayer, Design for a Multimedia Trade Fair Booth, 1924. Harvard Art Museums/Busch-Reisinger Museum. © Artists Rights Society (ARS), New York/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn.

Ausstellung/Veranstaltungen | 07.02 - 28.07 | Harvard University
Bauhaus und Harvard

Das Harvard Art Museum präsentiert eine Reihe von Veranstaltungen, die die intensive Beziehung der Harvard Universität mit dem Bauhaus unterstreichen. Herzstück ist die Ausstellung, die fast 200 Werke von mehr als 70 Künstlern präsentiert, die fast ausschließlich aus der umfangreichen Bauhaus-Sammlung des Busch-Reisinger Museums stammen.

Radical Geometries Bauhaus Prints, 1919–33 ©MFA Boston

Ausstellung/Vorträge | 09.02 - 23.06 | Museum of Fine Arts, Boston
Radical Geometries: Bauhaus Prints

Im Frühjahr präsentiert das MFA zwei Ausstellungen — Radical Geometries: Bauhaus Prints, 1919–33 und Postwar Visions: European Photography, 1945–60 — sowie die fünfteilige Vortragsreihe The Bauhaus Movement, die die Bostoner Beziehung zum Bauhaus untersucht.

Werner David Feist: Wecker, Doppelbelichtung (1929) ©Bauhaus-Archiv Berlin

Ausstellung | 28.03 - 01.09 | MIT Museum
Arresting Fragments: Object Photography at the Bauhaus

Anlässlich des 100-jährigen Bestehens des Bauhauses präsentiert das MIT Museum eine Fotoausstellung mit 90 Digitaldrucken aus der Bauhaus-Archiv, Berlin Sammlung. Die Fotografien setzen sich mit der engen Beziehung von Fotografie, Grafik und den Buchkünsten auseinander, die alle  von grosser Bedeutung für das Bauhaus-Programm waren.

HNE Führung ©HNE

Tour | 11.05 | Harvard Graduate School of Design
Modern Architecture Walking Tour of Harvard/Brattle Street

Modern Architecture Walking Tour of Cambridge besucht markante moderne Strukturen auf dem Harvard Campus sowie die Brattle Street "Architects ' Walk" in Cambridge. Entdecken Sie moderne Gebäude von 1947 bis 1973, entworfen von Walter Gropius, Le Corbusier, Josep Luis Sert und anderen.

HNE Führung ©HNE

Tour | 12.05 | MIT
Modern Architecture Walking Tour of MIT

Modern Architecture Walking Tour of Cambridge besucht markante moderne Strukturen auf dem MIT Campus in Cambridge. Entdecken Sie moderne Gebäude von 1947 bis 1976, entworfen von Eero Saarinen, Alvar Aalto, I.M. Pei, Carl Koch und anderen.

"Gefecht (Battle)," 1930, gouache on cardboard, by Paul Klee, Swiss, 1879–1940. ©Bowdoin College

Ausstellung/Veranstaltungen | 01.03 - 12.05 | Bowdoin College, ME
Modernismus fuer Alle : 100 Jahre Bauhaus

Die Ausstellung des Bowdoin College Museum of Art ist der Ausgangspunkt für eine Reihe von Vorträgen, Konzerten, Panels und Studentenausstellungen, die viele Aspekte der Bauhausbewegung zelebrieren.

Katarina Burin: Zijeme, Installation view, ViPer Gallery Prague, 2017 © ViPer Gallery Prague

Ausstellungen | 01.04.19 - 01.08.20 | Providence College-Galleries
Beyond Bauhaus

Eine einjährige Reihe von Ausstellungen, Publikationen und Auftragsinstallationen zeitgenössischer, moderner Künstler, deren Praktiken von der Geschichte des Bauhauses inspiriert sind. Ziel ist es, eine kritische Neubewertung der Bauhaus-Ideen anzuregen, insbesondere, da sie sich auf Kunstgeschichten geografischer, ethnischer und geschlechtsspezifischer Vielfalt beziehen.

Grope Fest 85th birthday © Historic New England

Feier/Talk | 18.05, 14.06, 02.08 | Gropius House
Metallisches Fest, Hip Sips & Perfect Things

Feiern Sie den 100. Jahrestag im Bauhaus-Stil im Gropius-Haus in Lincoln MA, das Walter Gropius 1938 für sich und seine Familie erbaut hat. Und entdecken Sie die stilistische Trendwende von Ise Gropius, auch bekannt als Mrs. Gropius.