Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Picture of full moonPhoto: © Shane Charles Smith

Shane Charles Smith

Shane Smith bild Photo: Jeff Barnett-Winsby Shane Charles Smith (b. 1983, Maine) lives and works between Bangor, ME, and Portland, and was the most recent recipient of the Space Gallery Studio Grant (2020-2021) in Portland. In addition to Gathering at the Goethe-Institut Boston (2021) and site-specific commission for Re-site, Space Gallery, at the Eastern Promenade, Portland, ME (2020), Smith has held recent exhibitions at the Center for Maine Contemporary Art, Rockland (2020), MASS MoCA Studio Program (2020, 2019), I-Park Foundation (2019), Wassaic Project (2019), the School of Visual Arts (New York, NY, 2018), the ICA at Maine College of Art (Portland, ME, 2015), the Ackland Art Museum (Chapel Hill, NC, 2015), and the John and June Allcott Gallery (Chapel Hill, NC, 2015). Performance works include those held at the American Museum of Natural History, NYC, Columbia Sculpture Garden, NYC, and at the High Line, NYC. In 2016, Smith was awarded a permanent commission in the University of North Carolina sculpture garden. He received his Master of Fine Arts degree from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Shane Charles Smith

Gathering

Exhibition and Performance
December 2-11, 2021
Goethe-Institut Boston
170 Beacon Street, Boston

 

Opening Performance and Reception
Thursday, December 2, 6-8 pm

Finissage
Sunday, December 12, 2-4 pm

Gallery Hours
Saturday December 4, 2-4 pm
Sunday December 5, 2-4 pm

Thursday December 9, 6-8pm
Saturday December 11, 2-4pm
Sunday December 12, 2-4pm
 

©Goethe-Institut Boston
Gathering, the latest exhibition by Shane Charles Smith, deals with the shift between appearance and disappearance and the divide of generational loss. His series Native Soil (2015-2020) commemorated his father’s work as the Penobscot surveyor after the 1980 Maine Indian Claims Settlement Act. Hand-stitched hemp with soil from these lands, mixed with ash and paint, take the form of mapped terrain. Now, with Gathering, Smith has reimagined a work from this series in memoriam to his father, who passed on Memorial Day, 2020. He incorporporated pieces commissioned from Maine-based craftsmen to create new work for this exhibition, which also features movement-based artist Kayva Yang. These works in their entirety are a meditation on the “body in the landscape,” as well as on the responsibility and representation within the personal history of Smith’s heritage.

Supported by the Goethe-Institut Boston, Gathering marks an important continuation in Smith’s work, emphasizing temporality, from the ephemeral to the sculptural. As is characteristic of his singular creations, Smith uses raw form materials (e.g., beeswax, clay, ash) for large-scale, process-based, and performance-aligned works.

Kayva Yang Photo: courtesy of artist Kayva Yang is a New York-based artist who explores body to land intimacy and regeneration through performance, photography, archival materials, and site-specific movement research. Her current projects, Lost 40 and Elastic Elm, investigate extraction, interiority, and indigeneity specific to a boreal forest and a city boulevard. She is a 2020 Create Change Fellow of the Laundromat Project and received grants in 2017 from the Jerome Foundation and Lower Manhattan Cultural Council. Her completed project, Body in Flora (2016) was exhibited at New York University Kimmel Center and performed at Intermedia Arts and Southern Theater in Minneapolis. She also performs for other choreographers including Jill Sigman/ thinkdance and dustin maxwell and formerly danced for Aniccha Arts and Ananya Dance Theatre. Yang is an independent producer and content creator for performing arts organizations. She holds an M.A. in Arts Politics from New York University Tisch School of the Arts.



 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
VollmondabbildungFoto: © Shane Charles Smith

Shane Charles Smith

Shane Smith bild Foto: Jeff Barnett-Winsby Shane Charles Smith (geb. 1983, Maine) lebt und arbeitet zwischen Bangor, ME, und Portland und war der jüngste Empfänger des Space Gallery Studio Grant (2020-2021) in Portland. Neben Gathering am Goethe-Institut Boston (2021) und einer ortsspezifischen Auftragsarbeit für Re-site, Space Gallery, an der Eastern Promenade, Portland, ME (2020), hatte Smith kürzlich Ausstellungen im Center for Maine Contemporary Art, Rockland (2020), MASS MoCA Studio Program (2020, 2019), I-Park Foundation (2019), Wassaic Project (2019), der School of Visual Arts (New York, NY, 2018), dem ICA am Maine College of Art (Portland, ME, 2015), dem Ackland Art Museum (Chapel Hill, NC, 2015) und der John and June Allcott Gallery (Chapel Hill, NC, 2015). Performance-Arbeiten wurden unter anderem im American Museum of Natural History, NYC, im Columbia Sculpture Garden, NYC, und auf der High Line, NYC, gezeigt. Im Jahr 2016 erhielt Smith einen permanenten Auftrag für den Skulpturengarten der University of North Carolina. Er erhielt seinen Master of Fine Arts von der University of North Carolina in Chapel Hill.

Shane Charles Smith

Gathering

Ausstellung und Performance
2. bis 12. Dezember 2021
Goethe-Institut Boston
170 Beacon Street, Boston

Eröffnung mit Performance und Empfang
Donnerstag, 2. Dezember, 18-20 Uhr



On Sunday, December 12, 2-4 pm, join Shane Charles Smith for a vernissage with refreshments. Shane will give short tours as requested and be available for questions. No RSVP necessary.

Öffnungszeiten
Samstag, 4. Dezember, 14-16 Uhr
Sonntag, 5. Dezember, 14-16 Uhr

Donnerstag, 9. Dezember, 18-20 Uhr
Samstag, 11. Dezember, 14-16 Uhr
Sonntag, 12. Dezember, 14-16 Uhr
 



Gathering, die jüngste Ausstellung von Shane Charles Smith, befasst sich mit der Verschiebung zwischen Erscheinen und Verschwinden und der Kluft des Generationenverlusts. Seine Serie Native Soil (2015-2020) erinnert an die Arbeit seines Vaters als Vermesser der Penobscot nach dem Maine Indian Claims Settlement Act von 1980. Handgenähter Hanf mit Erde aus diesen Gebieten, vermischt mit Asche und Farbe, nimmt die Form eines kartierten Geländes an. Mit Gathering hat Smith nun ein Werk aus dieser Serie in Erinnerung an seinen Vater, der am Memorial Day 2020 verstarb, neu gestaltet. Für diese Ausstellung, an der auch die Bewegungskünstlerin Kayva Yang teilnimmt, hat er bei Kunsthandwerkern in Maine in Auftrag gegebene Arbeiten eingearbeitet. Diese Werke sind in ihrer Gesamtheit eine Meditation über den "Körper in der Landschaft" sowie über die Verantwortung und Repräsentation innerhalb der persönlichen Geschichte von Smiths Erbe.

Mit Unterstützung des Goethe-Instituts Boston stellt Gathering eine wichtige Fortsetzung in Smiths Werk dar, die die Zeitlichkeit betont, vom Ephemeren zum Skulpturalen. Wie für sein einzigartiges Schaffen charakteristisch, verwendet Smith rohe Formmaterialien (z. B. Bienenwachs, Ton, Asche) für großformatige, prozessbasierte und auf Performance ausgerichtete Arbeiten.

Kayva Yang Foto: mit freundlicher Genehmigung des Künstlers Kayva Yang ist eine in New York lebende Künstlerin, die durch Performance, Fotografie, Archivmaterial und ortsspezifische Bewegungsforschung die Intimität und Regeneration von Körper und Land erforscht. Ihre aktuellen Projekte "Lost 40" und "Elastic Elm" untersuchen Extraktion, Innerlichkeit und Indigenität in einem borealen Wald und einem Stadtboulevard. Sie ist 2020 Create Change Fellow des Laundromat Project und erhielt 2017 Zuschüsse von der Jerome Foundation und dem Lower Manhattan Cultural Council. Ihr abgeschlossenes Projekt Body in Flora (2016) wurde im New York University Kimmel Center ausgestellt und bei Intermedia Arts und Southern Theater in Minneapolis aufgeführt. Sie tritt auch für andere Choreografen wie Jill Sigman/ thinkdance und dustin maxwell auf und tanzte früher für Aniccha Arts und Ananya Dance Theatre. Yang ist eine unabhängige Produzentin und Autorin von Inhalten für Organisationen der darstellenden Künste. Sie hat einen M.A. in Kunstpolitik von der New York University Tisch School of the Arts.

 

Top