Our commitment to sustainability

Cotton and cork drawstring bags with the slogan "Eat. Sleep. Reuse. Reduce. Recycle. Repeat" © Goethe-Institut

The Goethe-Institut Chicago is making every effort to be a sustainable institute. That's why employees in Chicago formed the "Green Institute" initiative in the spring of 2017 - it started with small changes: "Lights out!” stickers on the light switches, automatically setting the copier to two-sided printing, and using environmentally friendly cleaning products in the kitchen. Gradually, more and more ideas developed on how to make the work at the Institute more sustainable.

Current projects

In May 2019, we organized the Sustainability Summit at Loyola University as part of the Year of German American Friendship. 300 students and teachers from the USA met to learn more about sustainability in the classroom, gained practical experience in workshops and Future Labs, and exchanged ideas with other teachers and students. While organizing the summit, it was important to us to produce as little plastic waste and garbage as possible. All participants received a reusable metal drinking bottle, cotton and cork drawstring bags, and even the nametags and programs were printed on seeded paper that can easily be planted in soil to grow native wildflowers.

Also in May 2019 Germany Week took place at Daley Plaza. The Year of German American Friendship project of the German-American Chamber of Commerce, in cooperation with the Goethe-Institut and the German Consulate General, attracted over 21,000 visitors. Vinyl and net banners adorned the plaza in the heart of Chicago - and these banners, as well as banners from the Sustainability Summit, will be processed into bags and pencil cases by the Chicago company SeamCraft in the summer of 2019. As a result, approximately 300 ft2 of material will be saved from ending up in a landfill, but will be upcycled to useful bags.

Since spring 2019, we have set up a compost bin, in addition to other recycling options, that is used by both visitors and employees. A local company, Collective Resource, collects the compost weekly. If visitors want to enjoy a cup of locally sourced coffee or water, they can choose between the TC 100 stacking tableware - a design icon from the Ulm University of Design, designed by Nick Roericht in 1959 - or compostable paper cups. We also emphasize plastic-free packaging for catering orders and work with local companies that offer organic and local food.

Since July 2017, all print materials are printed on 100% recycled paper. On average, we produce about 170 lbs/77 kg of promotional flyers and brochures – by switching to recycled paper we save 1,7 trees (8 in/20 cm diameter und 45 ft/14 m high; source: Sierra Club. It is also very important to us to order all promotional materials from recycled or environmentally friendly materials and if possible, made in the USA.
 
  • Banner Tasche © Goethe-Institut
    This bag is made from old banners used in an exhibit
  • Tauschregal © Goethe-Institut
    The exchange book case is a way for students and guests to trade books, bags and other items
  • Kaffee Maschine © Goethe-Institut
    Students and guests use cups to avoid producing more waste through disposable cups
  • Recycled Logo © Goethe-Institut
    Our drawstring bags are made from recycled materials
  • Close Up Wasserbecher © Goethe-Institut
    Our water cups are made from 100% renewable resources and are compostable
  • Ceramic Becher © Goethe-Institut
    All new students receive a ceramic mug on their first day of class
  • Paprikapflanzen © Goethe-Institut
    We are growing peppers in our reading room
  • Recycled Paper © Goethe-Institut
    Since July 2017, all flyers, brochures, postcards etc. are printed on 100% recycled paper

Projects 2017-2018

In spring 2017 the "Share/Exchange" shelf became a central meeting point in the foyer of the institute. Students, guests and staff are able to exchange books, shopping bags, notebooks, and much more. The book case itself was old office furniture that we upcycled by painting. We were inspired by a similar project at the Goethe-Institut Bratislava. Since spring 2019, the “Share/Exchange” shelf is many used for exchanging books.

In 2015, we produced a series of banners for our “Building Bridges” exhibit that celebrated the 20th anniversary of Chicago and Hamburg’s sister cities partnership at 2 North Riverside Plaza. In April 2017, the banners, which had been in storage for two years, came back to life: SeamCraft, a local manufacturer in Chicago, was able to transform the banners into 42 tote bags. Every bag is truly unique and was avaiable for purchase at the Goethe-Institut.

We regularly post about our sustainability projects on Instagram, Facebook and Twitter. We always look forward to receiving suggestions and are happy to answer questions: denise.elsman@goethe.de
 
 

MORE INFORMATION

Unser Engagement zur Nachhaltigkeit

Baumwolle und Kork Turnbeutel mit dem Motto "Eat. Sleep. Reuse. Reduce. Recycle. Repeat" © Goethe-Institut

Das Goethe-Institut Chicago bemüht sich sehr, ein nachhaltiges Institut zu sein. Deswegen bildeten Mitarbeiter*innen in Chicago im Frühjahr 2017 die Initiative „Grünes Institut“ – es fing mit kleinen Änderungen an: „Licht aus!“ Sticker an den Lichtschaltern, den Kopierer automatisch auf zweiseitigen Druck einstellen, und umweltfreundliche Reinigungsmittel in der Küche benutzen. Nach und nach entwickelten sich immer mehr Ideen, wie man die Arbeit am Institut nachhaltiger Gestalten kann.

Aktuelle Projekte


Im Mai 2019 organisierten wir Rahmen des Deutschlandjahr USA den Nachhaltigkeitsgipfel an der Loyola University. 300 Schüler*innen und Lehrer*innen aus den USA trafen sich, um mehr über Nachhaltigkeit im Unterricht zu lernen, in Workshops und Future Labs praktische Erfahrungen zu sammeln, und sich untereinander auszutauschen. Bei der Organisation des Gipfels war uns wichtig, so wenig Plastik und Müll wie möglich zu produzieren. Alle Teilnehmer erhielten eine wiederverwendbare Metal Trinkflasche, Baumwoll- und Korkturnbeutel, und sogar die Namensschilder und Programme wurden auf Samenpapier gedruckt, das einfach in Erde eingepflanzt werden kann um einheimische Wildblumen zu wachsen.

Ebenfalls fand die Germany Week im Mai 2019 am Daley Plaza statt. Das Deutschlandjahrprojekt der Deutsch-Amerikanischen Handelskammer, in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe-Institut und dem Deutschen Generalkonsulat, lockte über 21.000 Besucher an. Vinyl- und Netzbanner verzierten das Plaza im Herzen Chicagos – und genau diese Banner, sowie Banner des Nachhaltigkeitsgipfels, werden im Sommer 2019 von der Chicagoer Firma SeamCraft zu Taschen und Federmäppchen weiterverarbeitet. Dadurch landen ca. 300 ft2 an Material nicht in einer Müllhalde, sondern werden zu nützlichen Taschen aufgewertet.

Seit dem Frühjahr 2019 gibt es am Goethe-Institut Chicago neben verschiedenen Recyclingoptionen auch einen Kompost der sowohl von Gästen wie auch Mitarbeiter*innen genutzt wird. Eine lokale Firma, Collective Resource, holt den Kompost wöchentlich ab. Wenn Besucher*innen eine Tasse lokalen Kaffee oder Wasser trinken, haben Sie die Auswahl zwischen dem TC 100 Stapelgeschirr – eine Design-Ikone der der Ulmer Hochschule für Gestaltung, 1959 von Nick Roericht entworfen – oder kompostierbaren Papierbechern. Auch bei Cateringbestellungen achten wir auf plastikfreie Verpackung und arbeiten mit lokalen Firmen, die organisches und lokales Essen anbieten.

Seit Juli 2017 sind alle Print Produkte am Goethe-Institut Chicago auf 100% recyceltem Papier gedruckt. Im Durchschnitt drucken wir pro Jahr 170 lbs/77 kg an Werbeflyern und Broschüren – durch den Wechsel auf recyceltes Papier schützen wir somit 1,7 Bäume (8 in/20 cm Durchmesser und 45 ft/14 m Höhe; Quelle: Sierra Club). Außerdem legen wir viel Wert darauf alle Werbematerialien aus recycelten oder umweltfreundlichen Material zu bestellen das, wenn möglich, in den USA hergestellt wurde.
.

  • Banner Tasche © Goethe-Institut
    Diese Tasche ist aus alten Ausstellungsbannern produziert
  • Tauschregal © Goethe-Institut
    Das Tauschregal bietet Kursteilnehmern und Besuchern die Möglicheit, Bücher, Taschen oder Ähnliches zu tauschen
  • Kaffee Maschine © Goethe-Institut
    Kursteilnehmer, Gäste und Mitarbeiter bringen Ihre eignen Tassen um Einwegbecherabfall zu vermeiden
  • Recycled Logo © Goethe-Institut
    Unsere Turnbeutel sind aus recyceltem Material hergestellt
  • Close Up Wasserbecher © Goethe-Institut
    Unsere Wasserbecher sind aus 100% erneuerbaren Rohstoffen hergestellt und kompostierbar
  • Ceramic Becher © Goethe-Institut
    Alle Schüler erhalten am ersten Kurstag einen Keramikbecher
  • Paprikapflanzen © Goethe-Institut
    Im Lesesaal wachsen Paprikapflanzen
  • Recycled Paper © Goethe-Institut
    Alle Flyer, Broschüren, Postkarten etc. werden seit Juli 2017 auf 100% recyceltem Papier gedruckt

 

 

Projekte 2017 - 2018

Im Frühjahr 2017 wurde das "Teilen/Exchange" Regal ein zentraler Treffpunkt im Foyer des Instituts. Kursteilnehmer, Gäste und Mitarbeiter*innen können dort Bücher, Einkaufstaschen, Notizhefte und noch vieles mehr miteinander tauschen. Das Regal selbst ist ein altes Büroregal, das gestrichen wurde. Inspiriert wurden wir durch an ähnliches Projekt am Goethe-Institut Bratislava. Seit dem Frühjahr 2019 dient das Tauschregal hauptsächlich zum Austausch von Büchern.

2015 ließen wir mehrere Banner produzieren, die Teil der „Brückenschlagen“ Ausstellung waren, die die 20-jährige Städtepartnerschaft zwischen Chicago und Hamburg feierte, Sie waren am 2 North Riverside Plaza zu besichtigen. Im April 2017 wurden den Bannern neues Leben eingehaucht: SeamCraft, eine Manufaktur in Chicago, konnte daraus insgesamt 42 Taschen nähen. Jede einzelne Tasche ist ein Unikat und konnte am Goethe-Institut erworben werden.


Auf Instagram, Facebook und Twitter posten wir regelmäßig zu unseren Nachhaltigkeitsprojekten. Wir freuen uns immer auf Vorschläge und beantworten gerne Fragen: denise.elsman@goethe.de

LINKS ZUM THEMA