Our Teachers

Caroline Blank © Goethe-Institiut Caroline Blank
Teacher
Tel. +1 312 2630474
Fax +1 312 2630476
Caroline.Blank@goethe.de


I am originally from the Saarland and spent the most important parts of my life in Bochum and Shanghai. Before starting at the Goethe-Institut Chicago, I was a DAAD-Lecturer for 11 years in Shanghai and Beijing. In 2008 Chicago has become my adoptive home and I’ve been at the Goethe-Institut ever since. I love the synergy between German students and teachers and therefore enjoy trying new things in the classroom.



Sade Akkoek © Goethe-Institut Sade Akkoek
Teacher
Tel. +1 312 2630474
Fax +1 312 2630476
Sade.Akkoek@goethe.de


I grew up near the Teutoburg Forest in Bielefeld. I studied Educational Science at the University of Dortmund. Since 2009, I call Chicago my new home, in spite of having spent two years in Berlin and Bielefeld. My Hobbies are travelling, creating fiber crafts, hiking and taking long walks in nature.



Reinhard Andress © Goethe-Institut Reinhard Andress
Teacher
Tel. +1 312 2630474
Fax +1 312 2630476
Reinhard.Andress@goethe.de


Born 1957 in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, son of German immigrants to the USA, PhD in German Studies from the University of Illinois, current professorship at Loyola University Chicago, where he also served as Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences. Publications in GDR literature, German film and in Exile Studies, for example: “Der Inselgarten” - das Exil deutschsprachiger Schriftsteller auf Mallorca, 1931-1936 (2001). Also the editor of exile texts found in archives, for example: Martha Brill’s Der Schmelztiegel (2002) and Fred Heller’s Das Leben beginnt noch einmal (2016). More recently research on Alexander von Humboldt.



Asiye Bakirman © Goethe-Institut Asiye Bakirman
Teacher
Tel. +1 312 2630474
Fax +1 312 2630476
Asiye.Bakirman@goethe.de


I was born and raised in beautiful Düsseldorf and did my state examination at the University of Essen. Since 2010, I’ve been calling Chicago my home, and since 2013, I’ve been teaching at the Goethe Institut here as well. Apart from arts and reading I spent most of my free time traveling the world. I’m passionate about getting to know new cultures and people and love recording unforgettable moments through photography.



Anja Gebauer © Goethe-Institut Anja Gebauer
Teacher
Tel. +1 312 2630474
Fax +1 312 2630476
Anja.Katharina.Gebauer@goethe.de


I was born in Göttingen, but I call Berlin my home where I grew up and where my parents still live today. After many years working in organizational development, I obtained a second Master degree in Adult Education. Having lived abroad in different European and Asian countries, I feel that I can easily relate to students who learn German as a foreign language. I am excited to learn about the various motives our students have to study German and I especially love to bring German experiences into my classroom that relate to my students’special interests. I have been living in Chicago for 2 years now. I explore the city by foot and I enjoy the vast variety of music, art and food on offer everywhere I go. I also love to go boxing and running.



Martina Gombas © Goethe-Institut Martina Gombas
Teacher
Tel. +1 312 2630474
Fax +1 312 2630476
Martina.Gombas@goethe.de


Originally I am from Frankfurt, Germany, but have lived in Chicago for many years. Chicago is my “Wahlheimat” (chosen home).  Even though my degree is in economics/finance, my passion is teaching. Since 2009 I have been teaching at the Goethe-Institut in Chicago. I really enjoy the energy in the classroom - teaching is so rewarding.  In my free time I am a passionate runner - meet me at Lake Michigan early in the morning. ​​



Ruth Herrmann © Goethe-Institut Ruth Herrmann
Teacher
Tel. +1 312 2630474
Fax +1 312 2630476
Ruth.Herrmann@goethe.de


My name is Ruth Herrmann. I am a real Hessian: born in Fulda, grown up in the Darmstadt area and a Kassel residents for 12 years before my move to Chicago. I studied teaching profession in Frankfurt. My family and I have lived in Chicago since 2012 where I started to work for the Goethe Institut in 2014. I love my job and am very happy to see that so many people from Chicago are interested in the German culture and language.



Thorsten Hillert © Goethe-Institut Thorsten Hillert
Teacher
Tel. +1 312 2630474
Fax +1 312 2630476
Thorsten.Hillert@goethe.de


My name is Thorsten Hillert and I was born in Lower Saxony in Germany. Though for 17 years prior to my move to Chicago in 2014 I lived in the south-west of Germany in the Mannheim area, where I also acquired my B.A. in English from the University of Mannheim. In my free time I like to be outdoors with my camera and am generally quite connected to fauna and flora.



Netti Jansen © Goethe-Institut Netti Jansen
Teacher
Tel. +1 312 2630474
Fax +1 312 2630476
Netti.Jansen@goethe.de


I live in Chicago since 2015. What I like – the lake! I like sailing and during the summer I spend many hours on the water – sometimes with a baguette, cheese and a bottle of wine on board. However, I miss are the mountains and skiing. I am from Garmisch – the very south of Germany and where the mountains have become a part of my life.


Jutta Meyer © Goethe-Institut Jutta Meyer
Teacher
Tel. +1 312 2630474
Fax +1 312 2630476
Jutta.Meyer@goethe.de


I moved to Chicagoland from East-Westphalia, an area east of the Ruhr valley. I have worked in adult education in and around my home town of Lage for a number of years. I hold a master degree in Education.  I have lived in Chicago-land since 2008 and I love the city with its wonderful architecture and the Lake Michigan. I’m still fascinated by the cultural diversity. In 2013, I started teaching at the Goethe Institut in Chicago and I really enjoy the combination of teaching German language and German culture and at the same time learning my students’ diverse perspectives. Since 2018 I’m also in charge of German exams at the Goethe-Institut Chicago.


Shiva Rahmani © Goethe-Institut Shiva Rahmani
Teacher
Tel. +1 312 2630474
Fax +1 312 2630476
Shiva.Rahmani@goethe.de


My name is Shiva Rahmani and I was raised in Heidelberg/Germany. I am a Purdue University graduate in Germanic Studies (Master Program), and have also obtained another master’s degree in German translation from the University of Tehran in 2010. I love languages, and am fluent in German, Farsi, Kurdish and English. I have been teaching German to adults and children for over 14 years. Before starting at the Goethe Institute in August 2016, I was a social studies teacher at the German International School of Chicago (GISC). My hobbies are: listening to music, reading, shopping, styling others, dancing, watching documentaries about the cosmos.



Michaela Roberts © Goethe-Institut Michaela Roberts
Teacher
Tel. +1 312 2630474
Fax +1 312 2630476
Michaela.Roberts@goethe.de


Originally, I am from Northern Bavaria. After completing my studies in sociology at the Munich university, I lived in Munich for a number of years, working as a market researcher and trainer. Since 2013, I have been living in a suburb of Chicago with my husband and two tortoises. I have been teaching at the Goethe-Institut Chicago since 2014. I love sharing the German language and culture with our students.


Daniel Wacker © Goethe-Institut Daniel Wacker
Honorarlehrkraft
Tel. +1 312 2630474
Fax +1 312 2630476
Daniel.Wacker@goethe.de


Shortly after moving to Chicago from his native Bavaria, Daniel joined the Goethe-Institut in Winter 2018. He received degrees in German & English Education from Universität Regensburg, with additional concentrations in Cultural Studies and Spanish. Prior to graduation, Daniel spent a year abroad in Nashville, Tennessee, working as a graduate teaching assistant at Vanderbilt University, where he first became acquainted with fried chicken, country music, and his now-wife. In addition to foreign languages, Daniel is passionate about cooking, traveling, and Fußball (Bayern München!).

Unsere Deutschlehrer

Caroline Blank © Goethe-Institiut Caroline Blank
Vertragslehrkraft
Tel. +1 312 2630474
Fax +1 312 2630476
Caroline.Blank@goethe.de


Ursprünglich komme ich aus dem Saarland, habe den wichtigsten Teil meines Lebens als Erwachsene in Bochum und Shanghai verbracht. Bevor ich beim Goethe-Institut Chicago anfing, habe ich 11 Jahre in Shanghai und Beijing als DAAD-Lektorin gearbeitet. Seit 2008 ist Chicago meine Wahlheimat und solange arbeite ich auch schon hier am Goethe-Institut. Ich liebe die Synergie zwischen Kursteilnehmenden und Lehrenden und probiere deshalb gerne neue Dinge im Klassenraum aus.



Sade Akkoek © Goethe-Institut Sade Akkoek
Honorarlehrkraft
Tel. +1 312 2630474
Fax +1 312 2630476
Sade.Akkoek@goethe.de


Ich bin am Fuße des Teutoburger Waldes in Bielefeld aufgewachsen. Nach dem Abi hat es mich ins Ruhrgebiet verschlagen, wo ich in Dortmund Diplom-Pädagogik studiert habe. Seit Ende 2009 ist Chicago mein neues Zuhause (mit einer zweijährigen Unterbrechung in Berlin und Bielefeld). Meine Interessen sind Reisen, kreative Handarbeit, Wandern und ausgiebige Spaziergänge in der Natur.




Reinhard Andress © Goethe-Institut Reinhard Andress
Honorarlehrkraft
Tel. +1 312 2630474
Fax +1 312 2630476
Reinhard.Andress@goethe.de


Geboren 1957 in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, Sohn deutscher Auswanderer in die Vereinigten Staaten, Doktor der Germanistik von der University of Illinois, gegenwärtig Professor an der Loyola University Chicago, wo er auch als Dekan vom College of Arts and Sciences diente. Veröffentlichungen zur DDR-Literatur, zum deutschen Film und auf dem Gebiet der Exilforschung, u.a. “Der Inselgarten” - das Exil deutschsprachiger Schriftsteller auf Mallorca, 1931-1936 (2001). Ebenfalls der Herausgeber aufgefundener Exiltexte: z.B. Martha Brills Der Schmelztiegel (2002) und Fred Hellers Das Leben beginnt noch einmal (2016). In letzter Zeit Forschung zu Alexander von Humboldt.



Asiye Bakirman © Goethe-Institut Asiye Bakirman
Honorarlehrkraft
Tel. +1 312 2630474
Fax +1 312 2630476
Asiye.Bakirman@goethe.de


Anja Gebauer © Goethe-Institut Anja Gebauer
Honorarlehrkraft
Tel. +1 312 2630474
Fax +1 312 2630476
Anja.Gebauer@goethe.de


Martina Gombas © Goethe-Institut Martina Gombas
Honorarlehrkraft
Tel. +1 312 2630474
Fax +1 312 2630476
Martina.Gombas@goethe.de


Ursprünglich komme ich aus Frankfurt, Deutschland, lebe aber schon seit vielen Jahren in Chicago. Chicago ist meine "Wahlheimat". Obwohl ich Wirtschafts- und Finanzwissenschaften studiert habe, ist unterrichten meine Leidenschaft. Seit 2008 arbeite ich am Goethe-Institut in Chicago. Mir gefällt die positive Energie im Klassenzimmer - unterrichten ist wirklich sehr bereichernd. In meiner Freizeit laufe ich leidenschaftlich gern - am liebsten früh morgens am Lake Michigan. 



Ruth Herrmann © Goethe-Institut Ruth Herrmann
Honorarlehrkraft
Tel. +1 312 2630474
Fax +1 312 2630476
Ruth.Herrmann@goethe.de


Mein Name ist Ruth Herrmann. Ich bin ein Hesse: geboren in Fulda, aufgewachsen im Raum Darmstadt und die letzten Jahre vor meinem Umzug in die USA in Kassel gelebt. Ich habe in Frankfurt Lehramt studiert. Seit 2012 wohne ich mit meiner Familie in Chicago. Für das Goethe-Institut arbeite ich seit Anfang 2014. Mir macht meine Arbeit großen Spaß und es freut mich, dass sich so viele Chicagoer für die deutsche Sprache und Kultur interessieren.



Thorsten Hillert © Goethe-Institut Thorsten Hillert
Honorarlehrkraft
Tel. +1 312 2630474
Fax +1 312 2630476
Thorsten.Hillert@goethe.de


Mein Name ist Thorsten Hillert und ich komme ursprünglich aus Niedersachsen in Deutschland. Allerdings habe ich die letzten 17 Jahre vor meiner Umsiedlung nach Chicago im Jahr 2014 in der Mannheimer Gegend gelebt. Dort habe ich auch u.a. meinen Bachelor in Anglistik/Amerikanistik an der Universität Mannheim gemacht. In meiner Freizeit bin ich gerne in der Natur mit meiner Kamera unterwegs und bin auch sonst der Tier- und Pflanzenwelt sehr verbunden.



Netti Jansen © Goethe-Institut Netti Jansen
Honorarlehrkraft
Tel. +1 312 2630474
Fax +1 312 2630476
Netti.Jansen@goethe.de


Ich lebe erst seit 2015 in Chicago. Was mir gefällt – der See! Ich segel sehr gerne und hier verbringe ich im Sommer viele Stunden auf dem Wasser – manchmal mit Baguette, Käse und einer Flasche Wein an Board. Was ich vermisse sind die Berge zum Wandern und Ski fahren, ich komme aus Garmisch – ganz im Süden von Deutschland und da sind die Berge ein Teil meines Lebens geworden…


Jutta Meyer © Goethe-Institut Jutta Meyer
Honorarlehrkraft
Tel. +1 312 2630474
Fax +1 312 2630476
Jutta.Meyer@goethe.de

Geboren und aufgewachsen bin ich in einem kleinen Ort in Nordrhein-Westfalen, genauer gesagt in Ostwestfalen Lippe. In der Stadt Bielefeld habe ich Erziehungswissenschaften studiert und habe lange im Bereich der beruflichen Erwachsenenbildung gearbeitet. Im Jahr 2008 bin ich dann nach Chicago gezogen. Ich liebe die Stadt: die Architektur, den Lake Michigan und vor allem die Menschen. Seit 2013 unterrichte ich Deutsch als Fremdsprache am Goethe Institut in Chicago und bin seit 2018 auch Prüfungsbeauftragte am Goethe-Institut Chicago. Ich unterrichte sowohl die deutsche Sprache als auch die deutsche Kultur, lerne aber gleichzeitig von meinen Schülern. Diese kulturelle Vielfalt und das Zusammentreffen mit vielen unterschiedlichen Personen fasziniert mich besonders.



Shiva Rahmani © Goethe-Institut Shiva Rahmani
Honorarlehrkraft
Tel. +1 312 2630474
Fax +1 312 2630476
Shiva.Rahmani@goethe.de


Mein Name ist Shiva Rahmani und ich komme aus dem Iran, bin aber in Heidelberg/Deutschland aufgewachsen. Ich bin Absolventin des Master-Studiengangs: Germanic Studies an der Purdue Universität in Indiana/USA und auch Absolventin eines weiteren Master-Studiengangs "Deutsch mit dem Schwerpunkt Übersetzungswissenschaft" an der Tehran Universität. Ich spreche fließend Deutsch, Farsi, Kurdisch und Englisch und liebe es immer wieder neue Sprachen zu lernen. Seit über 14 Jahren unterrichte ich Deutsch für Erwachsene und Kinder. Bevor ich im August, 2016 beim Goethe-Institut anfing, war ich Sozialkunde Lehrerin für Grundschulkinder an der Deutschen Internationalen Schule von Chicago (GISC). Meine Hobbys sind: Musik hören, Lesen, Shopping, Styling, Tanzen, Dokumentarfilme über den Kosmos anschauen.



Michaela Roberts © Goethe-Institut Michaela Roberts
Honorarlehrkraft
Tel. +1 312 2630474
Fax +1 312 2630476
Michaela.Roberts@goethe.de


Ich komme eigentlich aus Oberfranken in Bayern. Nach dem Studium der Soziologie in München habe ich viele Jahre in München gewohnt und als Marktforscherin und Trainerin gearbeitet. Seit 2013 lebe ich mit meinem Mann und zwei Schildkröten in einem Vorort von Chicago. Am Goethe-Institut unterrichte ich seit 2014. Es macht mir viel Spaß, den Kursteilnehmern die deutsche Sprache und Kultur näherzubringen.

Daniel Wacker
Honorarlehrkraft
Tel. +1 312 2630474
Fax +1 312 2630476
Daniel.Wacker@goethe.de