Music A concert with Lee Blalock, Jen Hill, and Jenna Lyle & Deidre Huckabay

weed © katerha via Flickr, Creative Commons

Mon, 12/04/2017

Experimental Sound Studio

5925 N. Ravenswood Ave
Chicago, IL

SSSS! Second Sexing Sound Symposium

Our final event of SSSS! is a concert with works by Lee Blalock, Jen Hill, and Jenna Lyle.

Lee Blalock
Lee Blalock is an artist who considers what it may mean to live in a computational body, in multiple futures, in an invisible place. Rules and systems are inherent to her process, while her imagination leans toward the N3w Hum4n. Lee uses her work to create new origin stories, visual or written, which are influenced by a lifelong interest in speculative fiction and science fiction. Many ideas behind Lee's work attempts to describe the posthuman, replacing the failed language around identity with the self-constructed, expanded, and ‘amplified’ self. This new body (or “NeueBody” or “n3w_b0d1es”) often takes the form of abstraction or algorithmic composition. In all cases, Lee’s work represents the physical, computational, or behavioral body and uses repetition as a strategy to move past the automatic and into something transformative. Lee writes and performs under versions of the alphanumeric moniker, L[3]^2.

L[3]^2’s most recent live work embraces noise and fissure as a natural state of being for bodies living in the information age. Systems (or “Sy5z3ns”) imposed on performers create conditions for meditation in the form of generative behavior in an experimental band setting.


Jen Hill
Jen Hill (b 1993) is a sound enthusiast & artist working in various media including sound, music, video, image, idea, the internet, jokes. Recent collaborations include work with/for rage thormborns a collaboration between trombonist Matt Barbier and Weston Olencki, Kendra Steiner Editions, and Cacophony Magazine; upcoming projects include recordings for Weighter Records and Kendra Steiner Editions.

The opposite of tense (2015) is a performance for solo acoustic guitar modeled after Peter Ablinger's exercitium (1-6) by means of negation.


Jenna Lyle
Composer, performer, installation-builder, and administrator, Chicago-based artist Jenna Lyle explores how the physical body, and in turn the culture in which it functions, adapts to its semiotic or "data-based" representation. Magnifying the relationship between sonic output and physical process and separating it from the second nature, she often places performers in physical arrangements that force a heightened awareness of body while they execute a set of instructions for sound production. 
Deidre Huckabay
Deidre Huckabay is a Chicago-based performer, writer, photographer, and event producer. She is a flutist with degrees from the Eastman School of Music and Duquesne University. Her work reflects a solitary, interior world, drawing on a musical life that requires long hours alone and listening. As a flutist, she has extensively toured the U.S., Europe, and Latin America. Deidre performs with the Eastman BroadBand and Manual Cinema, and has recorded for Urtext and Bridge Records. She is co-owner of the experimental cassette tape label Parlour Tapes+ and a regular contributor to Cacophony Magazine.

Jenna Lyle and Deidre Huckabay present 2 Flutes, 1 Mic, a collaborative work for precisely those resources.




 

Back

Musik Ein Konzert mit Lee Blalock, Jen Hill und Jenna Lyle & Deidre Huckabay

weed © katerha via Flickr, Creative Commons

Mo, 04.12.2017

Experimental Sound Studio

5925 N. Ravenswood Ave
Chicago, IL

SSSS! Second Sexing Sound Symposium

Unsere Abschlussveranstaltung von SSSS! ist ein Konzert mit Arbeiten von Lee Blalock, Jen Hill und Jenna Lyle.

Lee Blalock
Lee Blalock ist eine Künstlerin die sich überlegt was es bedeutet in einem komputergesteuerten Körper zu leben, in multiplen Zukünften, in einem unsichtbaren Raum. Regeln und Bestimmungen sind ein integraler Teil ihres Arbeitsprozesses, obwohl ihre Vorstellungskraft sich mehr an den N3w Hum4n anlehnt. Lee kreiert in ihrer Arbeit neue Geschichten, visuell und verschriftlicht, die von ihrem lebenslangen Interesse an spekulativer Fiktion und Science Fiction beeinflusst sind. Viele von Lees Ideen beschreiben das „Posthumane“ indem sie die gescheiterte Sprache der Identität mit neuen Konstrukten erweitern und das Selbst verstärken. Dieser New Body (oder “NeueBody” oder “n3w_b0d1es”) nimmt oft die Form von Abstraktionen oder algorithmischen Kompositionen an. In jedem Fall repräsentieren Lees Arbeiten physische, rechnerische und verhaltenden Körper, sie verwendet Wiederholungen als eine Strategie um jenseits von Automatismen transformativ zu verwandeln. Lee schreibt und performt unter dem Moniker L[3]^2.

L[3]^2s aktuellste live Arbeiten umfassen Noise und Spaltung als einen natürlichen Zustand für im Informationszeitalter lebenden Körper. Systeme (oder “Sy5z3ns”), die den Performern auferlegt werden erzeugen Rahmenbedingungen für Meditationen als generatives Verhalten im Rahmen eines „experimental band setting”.


Jen Hill
Jen Hill (1993) ist Klang-Enthusiast und Künstler der in den unterschiedlichsten Kunstformen arbeitet, von Klangkunst zu Musik, Video, Bild und Idee, vom Internet zu Witzen. Sie arbeitet mit und für rage thormborns, eine Kooperation von Posaunist Matt Barbier und Weston Olencki, Kendra Steiner Editions, and Cacophony Magazine. Zur Zeit arbeitet Jen an Aufnahmen für Weighter Records und Edition Kendra Steiner und Cacophony Magazine.

opposite of tense (2015) ist ein Stück für Sologitarre nach Peter Ablingers exercitium (1-6) via Negation.

Jenna Lyle
Jenna Lyle, die in Chicago ansässige Komponistin, Performerin, Installationskünstlerin und Kunstadministratorin hat sich den physischen Körper und die Kultur in der er sich ausdrückt zum Thema gemacht. Sie untersucht wie der Körper sich an semiotische und auf Daten basierende Repräsentation anpasst. Sie platziert die Beziehung von klanglichem Output und physischen Prozessen unter einem Vergrößerungsglas und trennt sie von deren Konnotationen indem sie die Performer in physischen Arrangements unterbringt, die eine gehobenen Wahrnehmung des Körpers forciert und gleichzeitig Anweisungen für Klangproduktionen gibt.
Deidre Huckabay
Die in Chicago ansässige Deidre Huckabay ist eine Performerin, Kritikerin, Photographin und Produzentin. Als Flötistin erhielt sie ihre Ausbildung von der Eastman School of Music und von Duquesne University. Sie beschäftigt sich mit der einsamen inneren Welt, die sich auf ein musikalisches Leben bezieht, das aus unzähligen Stunden besteht, die allein und zuhörend verbracht werden. Als Flötistin bereiste sie die USA, Europa und Lateinamerika. Deidre tritt mit der Eastman BroadBand und Manual Cinema auf und nahm Platten für Urtext und Bridge Recordings auf. Sie ist Mitbesitzerin des experimentalen Cassetten-Labels Parlour Tapes+ und schreibt regelmässig fuer Cacophony Magazin.

Jenna Lyle und Deidre Huckabay präsentieren 2 Flutes, 1 Mic, einen Kollaboration für genau diese beiden Resourcen.



 

Zurück