A Little Piece of Bauhaus

Serene Wise:  studies in grays and white © Michael Tropea

Wed, 04/11/2018 -
Fri, 06/29/2018

Goethe-Institut Chicago

150 North Michigan Avenue
Suite 200
Chicago, lL 60601

Serene Wise: studies in grays and white

These paintings, studies in grays and white, reflect the teachings of three Bauhaus painters:  two masters, Johannes Itten (1888 - 1967) and Josef Albers (1888 - 1976) and a student, Max Bill (1908 - 1994). 

"I am a painter.  My work focuses on lines:  I love lines perhaps as Josef Albers loved the square.  I am endlessly fascinated by the power and eloquence of lines and lines are my basic design elements. 
Using oil on cotton canvas in square format I place lines over contrasting background fields and I use translucent and/or opaque textures such as the brushed line, the screened line, the sanded line or a light wash of line
In this series, studies in grays and white, the grays are mixed from charcoal, chrome yellow and titanium white.  I am investigating color values and color placements.  The underpainting is either medium gray or very, very light gray and the overlay of lines is always screened oil." (SW)

Serene Wise © Richard Shipps Serene Wise studied art and design at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago and the University of Michigan. She is a graduate of the University of Wisconsin, Madison (B.A.), the University of Chicago (M.A.) and the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor (M.U.P., A. Alfred Taubman College of Architecture and Urban Planning). 
She was the 2017 City of Chicago International Sister Cities Program artist-in-residence in Lucerne, Switzerland, where she exhibited in Das Gelbe Haus.  She was also artist-in-residence in the Cité internationale des arts, Paris, France and the Chicago Artists’ Coalition, Coalition Gallery, Chicago and scholar-in-residence at the University of Chicago. 
Serene’s solo exhibitions include the American Library in Paris, Paris, France; Chelsea Gallery, Old Town Hall, London, United Kingdom; and in Chicago. 
She lives and works in Chicago.  

 

Back

Ein Stück Bauhaus

Serene Wise:  studies in grays and white © Michael Tropea

Mi, 11.04.2018 -
Fr, 29.06.2018

Goethe-Institut Chicago

Serene Wise: studies in grays and white

Diese Arbeiten, studies in grays and white, spiegeln die Lehren von drei Bauhausmalern wider: Johannes Itten (1888 - 1967) und Josef Albers (1888 - 1976) und Max Bill (1908 - 1994). 

"Ich bin Malerin.  Meine Arbeit konzentriert sich auf Linien: Ich mag Linien, vielleicht so wie Josef Albers das Quadrat mochte.  Ich bin unendlich fasziniert von der Kraft und Eloquenz von Linien, die meine grundlegenden Gestaltungselemente sind.  
Mit Öl auf Baumwoll-Leinwand im quadratischen Format platziere ich Linien über kontrastierende Hintergrundfelder und verwende lichtdurchlässige oder opake Oberflächen wie die gemalte Linie, die gerasterte Linie, die geschliffene Linie oder eine leichte Linienwaschung.
In dieser Serie, studies in grays and white, sind die Grautöne aus Antharzit, Chromgelb und Titanweiß gemischt.  Ich schenke besonders Farbwerte und Farbplatzierungen grosse Aufmerksamkeit.  Die Untermalung ist entweder mittelgrau oder sehr, sehr hellgrau und die Linien sind immer in Öl gemalt." (SW)

Serene Wise © Richard Shipps Serene Wise studierte Kunst und Design an der School of the Art Institute of Chicago und der University of Michigan. Sie ist Absolventin der University of Wisconsin, Madison (B.A.), der University of Chicago (M.A.) und der University of Michigan, Ann Arbor (M.U.P., A. Alfred Taubman College of Architecture and Urban Planning).
Sie war 2017 im Rahmen des City of Chicago International Sister Cities Program Artist-in-Residence in Luzern, Schweiz, wo sie im Gelben Haus ausstellte.  Außerdem war sie Artist-in-Residence in der Cité internationale des arts, Paris, Frankreich und der Chicago Artists' Coalition, Coalition Gallery, Chicago und Scholar-in-Residence an der University of Chicago.
Zu Serenes Einzelausstellungen gehören die American Library in Paris, Paris, Frankreich; die Chelsea Gallery, Old Town Hall, London, Großbritannien; und in Chicago. 
Sie lebt und arbeitet in Chicago.
 

Zurück