Exhibition Gaze Shift

Reverie, Video, loop, 3:40 min 2017 © Julia Stoddard

Fri, 03/01/2019 -
Sat, 03/23/2019

Cat Head Press

2834 E. Washington St.
Indianapolis, IN 46201

LIA - Leipzig International Art Programme

The LIA - Leipzig International Art Programme (LIA) on the premises of the Spinnerei has been supporting more than 60 visual artists from the USA for the past 10 years.
"Blickwechsel / Gaze Shift" establishes transcultural references between U.S. and Leipzig artists. American and Leipzig-based artists, each of whom was artist-in-residence in the host country, present their work in the exhibition. It includes video, installation, conceptual art, photography, painting and graphics.

The juxtaposition of artistic production from both countries over the past ten years in form of a dialogue should illustrate cultures and their ways of life as well as differences in the perception of both. Are there common themes that touch artists from both countries? Are there any cultural differences in dealing with the foreign? What kind of exchange of experiences took place and how did it affect the artists’ way of working?

Leipzig: Oskar Schmidt (photography), Silke Koch (photography and installation), Franziska Holstein (graphics), Henriette Grahnert (graphics), Matthais Weischer (graphics), Bastian Muhr (graphics), Maria and Vlado Ondrej (graphics) and others.

USA: Francesco Cincotta (video), Julia Stoddard (sound and video installation), Kylie Lefkowitz (collage), Connor Calhoun (drawing), Santiago Chavez (drawing), Katie Armstrong (animation), Margo Greb (video), John Jacobsmeyer (graphics), Charlotte Segall (graphics), Marcelo Daldoce (graphics)

Curated by Anna-Louise Rolland / LIA Founder

The Residencies were made possible with the kind support of Hauptpartner BMW, School of Visual Arts New York City and the New York Academy of Art as well as Radierwerkstatt Maria and Vlado Ondrej Leipzig.

This exhibition is part of the
Year of German-American Friendship initiated by the German Federal Foreign Office and the Goethe-Institut, and supported by the Federation of German Industries (BDI).

 

Back

Ausstellung Blickwechsel

Reverie, Video, loop, 3:40 min 2017 © Julia Stoddard

Fr, 08.03.2019 -
So, 24.03.2019

Cat Head Press

LIA - Leipzig International Art Programme

Das LIA - Leipzig International Art Programme (LIA) auf dem Gelände der Spinnerei förderte seit zehn Jahren über 60 bildende KünstlerInnen aus den USA.
 
Die Ausstellung „Blickwechsel / Gaze Shift“ stellt bewusst transkulturelle Bezüge zwischen U.S. - amerikanischen sowie Leipziger Künstlern und Künstlerinnen her, die jeweils einen
Auslandsaufenthalt im Gastland absolvierten. Sie umfasst Video, Installation, Konzeptkunst,
Fotografie, Malerei und Grafik.
 
Die pointierte Gegenüberstellung künstlerischer Produktion beider Länder der letzten zehn Jahre in Form eines Dialogs soll Gemeinsamkeiten und Unterschiede in der Wahrnehmung beider Kulturen und deren Lebensweisen veranschaulichen. Gibt es gemeinsame Themen, die KünstlerInnen beider Länder berühren? Gibt es kulturelle Unterschiede im Umgang mit der Fremde? Welcher Erfahrungsaustausch fand statt und wie hat er sich auf die Arbeitsweise ausgewirkt?
 
Leipzig: Oskar Schmidt (Fotografie), Silke Koch (Fotografie und Installation), Franziska Holstein (Grafik), Henriette Grahnert (Grafik), Matthais Weischer (Grafik), Bastian Muhr (Grafik), Maria und Vlado Ondrej (Grafik) u.a.

USA: Francesco Cincotta (Video), Julia Stoddard (Installation Klang und Video), Kylie Lefkowitz (Collage), Connor Calhoun (Zeichnung), Santiago Chavez (Zeichnung), Katie Armstrong (Animation), Margo Greb (Video), John Jacobsmeyer (Gafik), Charlotte Segall (Grafik), Marcelo Daldoce (Grafik)

Kuratorin: Anna-Louise Rolland / LIA Founder

Die Residenzen wurden mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Hauptpartner BMW, School of Visual Arts New York City und der New York Academy of Art sowie der Radierwerkstatt Maria und Vlado Ondrej Leipzig ermöglicht.

Die Ausstellung ist Teil des vom Auswärtigen Amt und dem Goethe-Institut initiierten und vom Bundesverband der Deutschen Industrie (BDI) unterstützten
Year of German-American Friendship.
 

Zurück