Symposium Bauhaus Beyond Borders

bauhausbanner © Irmi Maunu-Kocian

Fri, 04/05/2019 -
Sun, 04/07/2019

9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Chicago Architecture Center

Exploring the Legacy in the 21st Century

  1. Chicago Architecture Center, Chicago, IL, April 5, 3 pm – 8 pm
  2. Northwestern University, Evanston Campus, Evanston, IL, April 6, 9 am – 5 pm
  3. Elmhurst College and Elmhurst Art Museum, Elmhurst, IL, April 7, 10 am – 3 pm (public) / 9 am – 5 pm (students)

This 3-day interdisciplinary symposium is organized to celebrate the centenary of the Bauhaus, one of the world’s most innovative art and design schools and movements, and to highlight its tremendous global influence. The German Bauhaus, known for its hands-on approach and its linear, functional, but elegant forms, was founded on April 1, 1919, in Weimar, and continued to operate during the Weimar Republic until 1933, when numerous artists and architects emigrated. Many moved to the USA and to Chicago, such as Ludwig Mies van der Rohe and László Moholy-Nagy.

More information and RSVP and registration forms for all parts
of the symposium and the immersion day will be available in early February, 2019, on this site: http://bit.ly/bauhausbeyondborders


auditoriumstuehle © Irmi Maunu-Kocian Friday, April 5, 2019  at 6:00 pm
Chicago Architecture Center, Joan and Gary Gand Lecture Hall
Keynote Address by Dr. Regina Bittner, Bauhaus Dessau
Episodes from a Cosmopolitan Project: Bauhaus Encounters and Resonances 

In October 1934, Jack Pritchard met Walter Gropius and his wife at Victoria Station in London. Jack Pritchard founder of the Isokon Ltd. welcomed the prominent couple and offered them an apartment in the Lawn Road Flats, designed by Wells Coats. These in 1934 opened service houses became a preferred destination and temporary place to stay for artists and intellectuals from Europe, a kind of ‘arrival city’.
The episode serves as point of departure of the talk, sketching out moving networks between various actors, objects, ideas and places, where the Bauhaus school resonates within different cultural context.
Taking Walter Benjamin`s conception of translation as conceptual frame, the lecture doesn`t present a homogenous system of the Bauhaus unchanged by its transnational journeys, rather reveals the misunderstandings, resistances and hindrances in the migration process of modern design and architecture.

gropiusdesk © Irmi Maunu-Kocian Saturday, Arpil 6, 2019 at 9:00 am
Northwestern University Evanston Campus, Kaplan Humanities Center
Opening Lecture by
Michael Dreyer (Forschungszentrum Politikwissenschaft und Weimarer Republik, FSU Jena)
Modernity and the Republic: The first German Democracy and the Bauhaus

The Bauhaus was not just an architectural, aesthetic, or even cultural “event”. It was born, it lived, and it was destroyed in a politically volatile environment – not unlike the Weimar Republic, which was conceived in the same provincial town in Thuringia. The talk will address the connections between the first German democracy and the democratic culture it created and nurtured. It will be argued that the Bauhaus could only be created – and exist – within the political framework of the Weimar liberal democracy and the cultural environment the new Republic deliberately furthered.


                                                                                                                                                                  

bauhauslicht © Irmi Maunu-Kocian Sunday, April 7, 2019  at 1:30 pm
Elmhurst Art Museum
Public Lecture by Dr. Regina Bittner, Bauhaus Dessau
Bauhaus Translated: Transcultural Encounters with the Avant-garde School







Regina Bittner © Regina Bittner Regina Bittner (PhD) studied cultural theory and art history at Leipzig University and received her doctorate from the Institute for European Ethnology at the Humboldt Universität zu Berlin. As head of the Academy of the Bauhaus Dessau Foundation she is responsible for the conceptualization and teaching of the postgraduate program for design and global modernism studies, the Bauhaus Lab and the CoopDesignReserach program. She has curated numerous exhibitions on the architectural, urban and cultural history of modernism as well as on the Bauhaus. She has been the Deputy Director of the Bauhaus Dessau Foundation since 2009. Since 2018 she holds a professorship for Art History at the Martin Luther University Halle. Her most recent curatorial and publication projects include Craft becomes modern. The Bauhaus in the making (in collaboration with Renee Padt 2017),  In Reserve. The Household! Historic Models and Contemporary Positions from the Bauhaus. (in collaboration with Elke Krasny) and  The Bauhaus in Calcutta. An Encounter of the Cosmopolitan Avant-garde (in collaboration with Kathrin Rhomberg, 2013).

This project is a part of the “Year of German-American Friendship” initiative in 2018/19. The “Year of German-American Friendship” is a comprehensive and collaborative initiative of the Federal Foreign Office, the Goethe-Institute, and with support ‎of the Federation of German Industries (BDI), highlighting the decades long relationship grounded in common values, interests, and goals. It is co-organized by Northwestern University, the Chicago Architecture Center, the Goethe-Institut Chicago, the Northern Illinois AATG, and the Elmhurst Art Museum.
 

Back

Symposium Bauhaus Beyond Borders

bauhausbanner © Irmi Maunu-Kocian

Fr, 05.04.2019 -
So, 07.04.2019

Chicago Architecture Center

111 East Wacker Drive
Chicago

Das Erbe des Bauhaus im 21. Jahrhundert

  1. Chicago Architecture Center, Chicago, IL,  5. April - 15 Uhr - 20 Uhr
  2. Northwestern University, Evanston Campus, Evanston, IL - 6. April - 9 Uhr - 17 Uhr
  3. Elmhurst College und Elmhurst Kunstmuseum, Elmhurst, IL - 7. April - 10 Uhr - 15 Uhr (öffentlich) / 9 Uhr - 17 Uhr (Studierende)

Dieses dreitägige interdisziplinäre Symposium feiert das hundertjährige Bestehen des Bauhauses, einer der innovativsten Kunst- und Designschulen und -bewegungen der Welt, und hebt seinen enormen globalen Einfluss hervor. Das Bauhaus, bekannt für seine innovativen Lehrmethoden und seine geradlinigen, funktionalen, aber eleganten Formen, wurde am 1. April 1919 in Weimar gegründet und blieb während der Weimarer Republik bis 1933 in Betrieb, als viele Künstler und Architekten in die USA und nach Chicago auswanderten, wie Ludwig Mies van der Rohe und László Moholy-Nagy.

Weitere Informationen und Registrierungsformulare für das gesamte
Symposium sowie den Immersionstag sind Anfang Februar 2019, auf dieser Seite verfügbar: http://bit.ly/bauhausbeyondborders 

auditoriumstuehle © Irmi Maunu-Kocian Freitag, 5. April 2019 um 18 Uhr
Chicago Architecture Center, Joan and Gray Gand Lecture Hall
Eröffnungsvortrag von Dr. Regina Bittner, Bauhaus Dessau
Episoden aus einem kosmopolitischen Projekt: Bauhaus Begegnungen und Resonanzen
 
Im Oktober 1934 traf Jack Pritchard Walter Gropius und seine Frau an der Victoria Station in London. Jack Pritchard, Gründer der Isokon Ltd., begrüßte das prominente Paar und bot ihnen eine Wohnung in den Lawn Road Flats an, die von Wells Coats entworfen wurde. Diese 1934 eröffneten „service houses“ wurden zu einem bevorzugten Ziel und einer vorübergehenden Unterkunft für Künstler und Intellektuelle aus Europa, einer Art "Ankunftsstadt".
Die Episode dient als Ausgangspunkt des Vortrags und skizziert bewegliche Netzwerke zwischen verschiedenen Akteuren, Objekten, Ideen und Orten, an denen die Bauhausschule in einem unterschiedlichen kulturellen Kontext schwingt.
Ausgehend von Walter Benjamins Konzeption der Übersetzung als konzeptionellem Rahmen stellt der Vortrag kein homogenes System des Bauhauses dar, das durch seine transnationalen Reisen unverändert bleibt, sondern offenbart die Missverständnisse, Widerstände und Hindernisse im Migrationsprozess moderner Gestaltung und Architektur.

gropiusdesk © Irmi Maunu-Kocian Samstag, 6. April 2019 um 9 Uhr
Northwestern University Evanston Campus, Kaplan Humanities Center
Eröffnungsvortrag von
Michael Dreyer (Forschungszentrum Politikwissenschaft und Weimarer Republik, FSU Jena)
Die Moderne und die Republik: Die erste deutsche Demokratie und das Bauhaus

Das Bauhaus war nicht nur ein architektonisches, ästhetisches oder gar kulturelles "Ereignis". Es wurde in einem politisch instabilen Umfeld geboren, gelebt und zerstört - nicht anders als die Weimarer Republik, die in der gleichen Provinzstadt in Thüringen entstand. Der Vortrag befasst sich mit den Zusammenhängen zwischen der ersten deutschen Demokratie und der von ihr geschaffenen und gepflegten demokratischen Kultur. Es gilt zu zeigen, dass das Bauhaus nur im politischen Rahmen der liberalen Weimarer Demokratie und des kulturellen Umfelds, das die neue Republik bewusst gefördert hat, geschaffen werden - und existieren - konnte.


bauhauslicht © Irmi Maunu-Kocian Sonntag, 7.April 2019 um 13 Uhr
Elmhurst Art Museum
Öffentlicher Vortrag von Dr. Regina Bittner, Bauhaus Dessau
Bauhaus übersetzt: Transkulturelle Begegnungen mit der Avantgarde-Schule






 
Regina Bittner © Regina Bittner Regina Bittner studierte Kulturtheorie und Kunstgeschichte an der Universität Leipzig und promovierte am Institut für Europäische Ethnologie der Humboldt Universität zu Berlin. Als Leiterin der Akademie der Stiftung Bauhaus Dessau ist sie für die Konzeption und Lehre des Aufbaustudiengangs für Design und globale Moderne, des Bauhaus-Labors und des Programms CoopDesignReserach verantwortlich. Sie kuratierte zahlreiche Ausstellungen zur Architektur-, Stadt- und Kulturgeschichte der Moderne sowie zum Bauhaus. Seit 2009 ist sie stellvertretende Direktorin der Stiftung Bauhaus Dessau. Seit 2018 hat sie eine Professur für Kunstgeschichte an der Martin-Luther-Universität Halle inne. Zu ihren jüngsten kuratorischen und publizistischen Projekten gehört Craft becomes modern. Das Bauhaus im Entstehen (in Zusammenarbeit mit Renee Padt 2017), In Reserve. Der Haushalt! Historische Modelle und zeitgenössische Positionen aus dem Bauhaus. (in Zusammenarbeit mit Elke Krasny) und The Bauhaus in Kalkutta. Eine Begegnung der kosmopolitischen Avantgarde (in Zusammenarbeit mit Kathrin Rhomberg, 2013).

Dieses Projekt ist Teil der Initiative Deutschlandjahr USA 2018/19. Das Deutschlandjahr USA ist eine umfassende und kooperative Initiative des Auswärtigen Amtes, des Goethe-Instituts und mit Unterstützung des Bundesverbandes der Deutschen Industrie (BDI) und unterstreicht die jahrzehntelange Beziehung, die auf gemeinsamen Werten, Interessen und Zielen beruht. In Kooperation mit Northwestern University, Chicago Architecture Center, Goethe-Institut Chicago, Northern Illinois AATG und dem Elmhurst Art Museum.
 

Zurück