Film and Discussion The Frankfurt Kitchen

Die Frankfurter Küche © architektur-aktuell/I. Maunu-Kocian

Thu, 05/09/2019

Eggersmann Kitchen | Home Living

300 W Hubbard St 4th floor
Chicago

Edition Bauhaus

Chicago Women in Architecture, Docomomo and the Goethe-Institut, with support by Eggersmann, present a short film about the Frankfurter Küche and post-screening discussion.  
Light refreshments will be served.

Introduction by Kristin Jones.
Presenter: Aidan O'Connor


Margarete "Grete" Schütte-Lihotzky (January 23, 1897, Wien – January 18, 2000) was the first female Austrian architect and a communist activist in the German resistance to Nazism. She is mostly remembered today for designing the so-called Frankfurt kitchen.
As part of the New Frankfurt-project Schütte-Lihotzky created the Frankfurt Kitchen in 1926, which was the prototype of the built-in kitchen now prevalent in the western world. Based on the scientific research by U.S. management expert Frederick Winslow Taylor and her own research, Lihotzky used a railroad dining car kitchen as her model to design a "housewife's laboratory" using a minimum of space but offering a maximum of comfort and equipment to the working mother. The Frankfurt City Council eventually installed 10,000 of her mass-produced, prefabricated kitchens in newly built working-class apartments.
On her 100th birthday Schütte-Lihotzky commented "You'll be surprised that, before I conceived the Frankfurt Kitchen in 1926, I never cooked myself. At home in Vienna my mother cooked, in Frankfurt I went to the Wirtshaus [restaurant/pub]. I designed the kitchen as an architect, not as a housewife."

Director: Jonas Geist and Joachim Krausse, Germany, 1985, 35 min, Stiftung Bauhaus Dessau
Selection from Edition Bauhaus, Das neue Frankfurt


Dr. Kristin Jones is a founding principal of the architecture firm, Studio Integra, Ltd., and professor of Architecture at Illinois Institute of Technology.  She began her career at some of Chicago's largest firms, including Holabird and Root, DeStefano and Partners and OWP/P (now Cannon Design), working on such projects as University of Chicago's Ratner Athletics Center and the Federal Reserve Bank before founding her firm.  The work of Studio Integra. Ltd. focuses on sustainable community development and urban renewal primarily through urban design, renovation and adaptive reuse.  Kristin's academic research area is architectural education, with special attention to Mies's school of architecture.  Her work has been published and exhibited and she is currently working on a book, Aesthetics in Architectural Education, anticipated to be released at the end of the year.  

Aidan O'Connor © Aidan O'Connor Aidan O'Connor is an independent curator and consultant specializing in modern and contemporary design. She is currently teaching design history at Pratt Institute in Brooklyn and preparing to move with her family to Minneapolis. She has worked for AIGA and The National Design Awards and in curatorial departments at MoMA, Cooper Hewitt, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, and Harvard’s Peabody Museum of Archaeology & Ethnology.
 

Back

Film mit Diskussion Die Frankfurter Küche

Die Frankfurter Küche © architektur-aktuell/I. Maunu-Kocian

Do, 09.05.2019

Eggersmann Kitchen | Home Living

300 W Hubbard St 4th floor
Chicago

Edition Bauhaus

Chicago Women in Architecture, Docomomo und das Goethe-Institut präsentieren einen Kurzfilm über die Frankfurter Küche und die Post-Screening-Diskussion, mit Unterstützung von Eggersmann
Einführung von Kristin Jones.
Präsentation von Aidan O'Connor


Margarete "Grete" Schütte-Lihotzky (23. Januar 1897, Margareten bei Wien, Österreich-Ungarn - 18. Januar 2000)[1] war die erste österreichische Architektin und kommunistische Aktivistin im deutschen Widerstand gegen den Nationalsozialismus. Sie ist heute vor allem für die Gestaltung der sogenannten Frankfurter Küche bekannt.

Im Rahmen des neuen Frankfurter Projekts schuf Schütte-Lihotzky 1926 die Frankfurter Küche, die der Prototyp der heute in der westlichen Welt verbreiteten Einbauküche ist. Basierend auf den wissenschaftlichen Untersuchungen des US-amerikanischen Management-Experten Frederick Winslow Taylor und ihrer eigenen Forschung entwarf Lihotzky nach dem Vorbild einer Eisenbahnspeisewagenküche ein "Hausfrauenlabor", das auf kleinstem Raum ein Maximum an Komfort und Ausstattung für die arbeitende Mutter bietet. Die Frankfurter Stadtverwaltung installierte schließlich 10.000 ihrer massenproduzierten Fertigküchen in neu errichteten Arbeiterwohnungen.

An ihrem 100. Geburtstag kommentierte Schütte-Lihotzky: "Du wirst überrascht sein, dass ich, bevor ich 1926 die Frankfurter Küche erfand, nie selbst gekocht habe. Zu Hause in Wien kochte meine Mutter, in Frankfurt ging ich ins Wirtshaus. Ich habe die Küche als Architektin entworfen, nicht als Hausfrau ".

Regie: Jonas Geist und Joachim Krausse, Deutschland, 1985, 35 min, Stiftung Bauhaus Dessau
Auswahl aus Edition Bauhaus, Das neue Frankfurt



Dr. Kristin Jones ist Gründungsmitglied des Architekturbüros Studio Integra, Ltd. und Professor für Architektur am Illinois Institute of Technology.  Sie begann ihre Karriere bei den größten Chicagoer Unternehmen, darunter Holabird und Root, DeStefano und Partner und OWP/P (heute Cannon Design), wo sie an Projekten wie dem Ratner Athletics Center der University of Chicago und der Federal Reserve Bank arbeitete, bevor sie ihre Firma gründete.  Die Arbeit von Studio Integra. Ltd. konzentriert sich auf nachhaltige Gemeindeentwicklung und Stadterneuerung, vor allem durch Städtebau, Renovierung und adaptive Wiederverwendung.  Kristin's akademischer Forschungsbereich ist die Architekturausbildung, mit besonderem Augenmerk auf Mies' Architekturschule.  Sie arbeitet derzeit an einem Buch mit dem Titel Aesthetics in Architectural Education. 

Aidan O'Connor © Aidan O'Connor Aidan O'Connor ist eine unabhängige Kuratorin und Beraterin, die sich auf modernes und zeitgenössisches Design spezialisiert hat. Derzeit unterrichtet sie Designgeschichte am Pratt Institute in Brooklyn. Sie arbeitete für AIGA und die National Design Awards sowie in den kuratorischen Abteilungen des MoMA, Cooper Hewitt, des Metropolitan Museum of Art und des Harvard Peabody Museum of Archaeology & Ethnology.
 

Zurück