Film Die Frankfurter Küche

Die Frankfurter Küche © architektur-aktuell/I. Maunu-Kocian

Thu, 09/26/2019

6:00 PM

Goethe-Institut Chicago

100 Years of Bauhaus

Margarete "Grete" Schütte-Lihotzky (January 23, 1897, Wien – January 18, 2000) was the first female Austrian architect and a communist activist in the German resistance to Nazism. She is mostly remembered today for designing the so-called Frankfurt kitchen.

As part of the New Frankfurt-project Schütte-Lihotzky created the Frankfurt Kitchen in 1926, which was the prototype of the built-in kitchen now prevalent in the western world. Based on the scientific research by U.S. management expert Frederick Winslow Taylor and her own research, Lihotzky used a railroad dining car kitchen as her model to design a "housewife's laboratory" using a minimum of space but offering a maximum of comfort and equipment to the working mother. The Frankfurt City Council eventually installed 10,000 of her mass-produced, prefabricated kitchens in newly built working-class apartments.

On her 100th birthday Schütte-Lihotzky commented "You'll be surprised that, before I conceived the Frankfurt Kitchen in 1926, I never cooked myself. At home in Vienna my mother cooked, in Frankfurt I went to the Wirtshaus [restaurant/pub]. I designed the kitchen as an architect, not as a housewife."
RESERVE YOUR FREE TICKET HERE
 

Back

Film Die Frankfurter Küche

Die Frankfurter Küche © architektur-aktuell/I. Maunu-Kocian

Do, 26.09.2019

Goethe-Institut Chicago

150 North Michigan Avenue
Suite 200
Chicago, lL 60601

100 Jahre Bauhaus

Margarete "Grete" Schütte-Lihotzky (23. Januar 1897, Margareten bei Wien, Österreich-Ungarn - 18. Januar 2000)[1] war die erste österreichische Architektin und kommunistische Aktivistin im deutschen Widerstand gegen den Nationalsozialismus. Sie ist heute vor allem für die Gestaltung der sogenannten Frankfurter Küche bekannt.

Im Rahmen des neuen Frankfurter Projekts schuf Schütte-Lihotzky 1926 die Frankfurter Küche, die der Prototyp der heute in der westlichen Welt verbreiteten Einbauküche ist. Basierend auf den wissenschaftlichen Untersuchungen des US-amerikanischen Management-Experten Frederick Winslow Taylor und ihrer eigenen Forschung entwarf Lihotzky nach dem Vorbild einer Eisenbahnspeisewagenküche ein "Hausfrauenlabor", das auf kleinstem Raum ein Maximum an Komfort und Ausstattung für die arbeitende Mutter bietet. Die Frankfurter Stadtverwaltung installierte schließlich 10.000 ihrer massenproduzierten Fertigküchen in neu errichteten Arbeiterwohnungen.

An ihrem 100. Geburtstag kommentierte Schütte-Lihotzky: "Du wirst überrascht sein, dass ich, bevor ich 1926 die Frankfurter Küche erfand, nie selbst gekocht habe. Zu Hause in Wien kochte meine Mutter, in Frankfurt ging ich ins Wirtshaus. Ich habe die Küche als Architektin entworfen, nicht als Hausfrau ".
RESERVE YOUR FREE TICKET HERE

Zurück