Artist Talk Making of "Geometry of Light": Meet the Artists

Geometry of Light Barcelona © Kate Joyce

Mon, 09/09/2019

Goethe-Institut Chicago

150 North Michigan Avenue
Suite 200
Chicago, lL 60601

100 Years of Bauhaus

Petra Bachmaier and Sean Gallero of Luftwerk, together with Iker Gil of MAS Studio, will share the story of their latest intervention with Mies van der Rohe’s architecture.

Geometry of Light, a light and sound art installation, uncovers the forgotten history while revealing the underlying geometries that relate to the world-renowned architecture of both the German Pavilion in Barcelona and the Farnsworth House in Plano, Illinois. The project premiered this past February in Barcelona as part of the Fundació Mies van der Rohe’s ongoing program of artistic interventions also corresponding with the LLUM BCN Festival and the Santa Eulàlia Festival. This fall, Geometry of Light will be installed at the iconic Farnsworth House between Friday, October 11 and Sunday, October 13, to coincide with the third Chicago Architecture Biennial. 
Luftwerk and Iker Gil will present their process and research in developing the two site specify interventions.
 

Luftwerk © Luftwerk Luftwerk explores light, color, and perception in immersive, installations. Focused on the context of a site for each project, Luftwerk applies their interpretive layer, integrating physical structure, historical context, and embedded information into each piece. Since founding 2007, Luftwerk has amassed a significant body of work ranging from site-specific installations to experimental projects that interpret data. Luftwerk is the artistic collaboration of Petra Bachmaier and Sean Gallero.

Iker Gil © Andreas E.G. Larsson Iker Gil is an architect and director of MAS Studio, a collaborative architecture and urban design firm based in Chicago. He is also the founder and editor-in-chief of the design journal MAS Context and the Associate Curator of Dimensions of Citizenship, the U.S. Pavilion at the 16th Venice Architecture Biennale that took place in 2018. He has curated several exhibitions, including BOLD: Alternative Scenarios for Chicago as part of the inaugural Chicago Architecture Biennial, and Synchronizing Geometry held at S.R. Crown Hall (IIT). In addition, he teaches at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago and was the co-director of the Chicago Expander program.
RSVP NOW


This exhibition is part of the Year of German-American Friendship initiated by the German Federal Foreign Office and the Goethe-Institut, and supported by the Federation of German Industries (BDI).



 

Back

Künstlergespräch Making of "Geometry of Light": Meet the Artists

Geometry of Light Barcelona © Kate Joyce

Mo, 09.09.2019

Goethe-Institut Chicago

150 North Michigan Avenue
Suite 200
Chicago, lL 60601

100 Jahre Bauhaus

Luftwerk (Petra Bachmaier und Sean Gallero ) und Iker Gil von MAS Studio berichten über ihrer neuesten Intervention mit der Architektur von Mies van der Rohe.

Geometry of Light ist eine Licht- und Klangkunstinstallation, die sich mit den Geometrien, auf die sich der weltberühmte Architekt Ludwig Mies van der Rohe des Deutschen Pavillons in Barcelona und des Farnsworth House in Plano, Illinois, befasst. Das Projekt wurde im Februar dieses Jahres in Barcelona im Rahmen des laufenden künstlerischen Interventionsprogramms der Fundació Mies van der Rohe uraufgeführt. Im Herbst wird Geometry of Light zwischen Freitag, 11. Oktober und Sonntag, 13. Oktober im legendären Farnsworth House installiert.
Luftwerk und Iker Gil stellen ihren Prozess und ihre Recherchen bei der Entwicklung der beiden standortspezifischen Interventionen vor.
 

Luftwerk © Luftwerk Luftwerk erforscht Licht, Farbe und Wahrnehmung in immersiven, erlebnisorientierten Installationen. Luftwerk konzentriert sich bei jedem Projekt auf den Kontext eines Standortes und wendet eigene Interpretationsschichten an, die die physische Struktur, den historischen Kontext und eingebettete Informationen integrieren. Seit der Gründung im Jahr 2007 hat Luftwerk ein bedeutendes Repertoir geschaffen, das von ortsspezifischen Installationen bis zu experimentellen Projekten zur Interpretation von Daten reicht.
Luftwerk ist die künstlerische Zusammenarbeit von Petra Bachmaier und Sean Gallero.

Iker Gil © Andreas E.G. Larsson Iker Gil ist Architekt und Leiter von MAS Studio, einem kollaborativen Architektur- und Städtebauunternehmen mit Sitz in Chicago. Er ist Gründer und Chefredakteur der Designzeitschrift MAS Context und war Co-Kurator von Dimensions of Citizenship, dem U.S. Pavillion auf der 16. Architekturbiennale in Venedig, die 2018 stattfand. Er kuratierte mehrere Ausstellungen, darunter BOLD: Alternative Scenarios for Chicago im Rahmen der ersten Chicago Architecture Biennial, und Synchronizing Geometry in der S.R. Crown Hall (IIT). Er unterrichtet an der School of the Art Institute of Chicago und war Co-Direktor des Chicago Expander Programms.

RSVP NOW

Die Ausstellung ist Teil des vom Auswärtigen Amt und dem Goethe-Institut initiierten und vom Bundesverband der Deutschen Industrie (BDI) unterstützten Year of German-American Friendship.


 

Zurück