Workshop Protest Banner Lending Library

Aram Han Sifuentes © Virginia Harold

Fri, 10/11/2019

Leather Archives and Museum

6418 N Greenview Ave
Chicago

Queer as German Folk

The Protest Banner Lending Library is a space for people to gain skills to learn to make their own banners, a communal sewing space where we support each other’s voices, and a place where people can check out handmade banners to use in protests. 

The words and these banners have a growing history. They are made by someone, used in a protest, returned to the library, and then taken by someone else to a different protest. The banners carry the histories of the hands that made and hold them, and the places they have and will travel.

Aram Han Sifuentes © Virginia Harold Aram Han Sifuentes (b. 1986) is a Chicago-based artist who uses sewing as a medium to investigate identity politics, immigration and immigrant labor, possession and dispossession, citizenship and belonging, dissent and protest, and race politics in the United States. She is the founder of The Protest Banner Lending Library, a project where community members may create their own protest banners and borrow from the library of handmade banners. This fall the Leather Archives & Museum hosts a Protest Banner Lending Library and Workshop led by Sifuentes.





The workshop is part of the Queer as German Folk project of the Goethe-Institut in North America in cooperation with Schwules Museum, Berlin, and the Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung.


#queerasgermanfolk #qagf #stonewall50 #smu #bpb

 

Back

Workshop Protest Banner Lending Library

Aram Han Sifuentes © Virginia Harold

Fr, 11.10.2019

Leather Archives and Museum

6418 N Greenview Ave
Chicago

Queer as German Folk

Die Protest Banner Leihbibliothek ist ein Raum, in dem Menschen lernen, ihre eigenen Banner herzustellen, ein gemeinschaftlicher Nähraum, in dem die Stimmen „der Anderen“ unterstützt werden, und ein Ort, an dem handgefertigte Banner geliehen werden können, um sie bei Protesten einzusetzen.

Die Worte und diese Banner haben eine gewachsene Geschichte. Sie werden von jemandem hergestellt, in einem Protest verwendet, in die Bibliothek zurückgegeben und dann von jemand anderem zu einem anderen Protest gebracht. Die Banner sind die Geschichte der Hände, die sie gemacht haben und halten, und der Orte, an denen sie eingesetzt wurden und werden.

Aram Han Sifuentes © Virginia Harold Aram Han Sifuentes (*1986) ist eine in Chicago lebende Künstlerin, die Nähen als Medium einsetzt, um Identitätspolitik, Einwanderung und Einwanderungsarbeit, Besitz und Enteignung, Staatsbürgerschaft und Zugehörigkeit, Dissens und Protest und Rassenpolitik in den Vereinigten Staaten zu untersuchen. Sie ist die Gründerin der The Protest Banner Lending Library, einem Projekt, bei dem Community-Mitglieder ihre eigenen Protestbanner erstellen und aus der Bibliothek der handgefertigten Banner ausleihen können. In diesem Herbst beherbergt das Leather Archives & Museum eine Protest Banner Leihbibliothek und bietet einen Workshop unter der Leitung von Sifuentes an.




Der Workshop ist Teil des Queer as German Folk Projekt der Goethe-Institute in Nordamerika in Zusammenarbeit mit Schwules Museum, Berlin, und der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung.

#queerasgermanfolk #qagf #stonewall50 #smu #bpb
 

Zurück