Performance +++ Postponed to 2021 +++ Anne Imhof at the Walker Art Center

Eliza Douglas in rehearsal for Anne Imhof, Sex, 2019 (c) Nadine Fraczkowski

Thu, 12/31/2020

Walker Art Center

725 Vineland Place
Minneapolis

The Paradox of Stillness: Art, Object, and Performance

Presenting works from the early 20th century to today, The Paradox of Stillness: Art, Object, and Performance examines the notion of stillness as both a performative and visual gesture.
The Paradox of Stillness showcases more than 100 works by some 65 artists, including up to 15 live performances activated in the Walker’s galleries or public spaces at intervals throughout the presentation.

Anne Imhof will present a new version of Sex which will be re-configured for presentation at the Walker Art Center and will be performed for three full weeks from June 11 to July 5, 2020

Anne Imhof (born 1978, Giessen, Germany) has emerged as one of the most provocative and pioneering voices of her generation. Her work establishes a new paradigm for exhibitions and gives form to a sense of alienation and detachment that increasingly shapes our society.

This exhibition, entitled Sex, shows the wide range of attitudes present in Imhof’s practice. In the performance the binaries expand into male and female, hope and desperation, pain and pleasure, and ultimately, life and death. Sex deals with the fluidity between these seemingly irreconcilable forces, as Imhof and her collaborators continuously shift between them and merge what appears to be incompatible. 

Back

Performance +++ Verschoben auf 2021 +++ Anne Imhof im Walker Art Center

Eliza Douglas in rehearsal for Anne Imhof, Sex, 2019 (c) Nadine Fraczkowski

Do, 31.12.2020

Walker Art Center

725 Vineland Place
Minneapolis

The Paradox of Stillness: Art, Object, and Performance

Vom Beginn des 20. Jahrhundert bis jetzt beleuchtet die Ausstellung The Paradox of Stillness: Art, Object, and Performances das Konzept von „Stille“ sowohl performativ als auch visuell.
The Paradox of Stillness zeigt mehr als 100 Werke von 65 Künstler*innen - darunter auch 15 Live-Performances, die in den Galerien des Walker Art Centers oder im öffentlichen Raum während der Präsentation aktiviert werden.
 
Vom 11. Juni bis zum 5. Juli 2020 wird eine neue Version von Sex präsentiert, welche von der Künstlerin Anne Imhof für das Walker Art Center neu konfiguriert wurde.
 
Anne Imhof (geb. 1978, Gießen, Deutschland) ist einer der provokativsten und bahnbrechendsten Stimmen ihrer Generation und etabliert durch ihre Arbeit ein neues Paradigma für Ausstellungen. Dabei gibt sie besonders dem zunehmenden Gefühl der Entfremdung und Distanzierung in unserer modernen Gesellschaft Raum.
 
In der Ausstellung Sex, welche die Vielfalt der Haltungen in Imhofs Praxis veranschaulicht, werden binäre Prinzipien erweitert: Männlich und Weiblich, Hoffnung und Verzweiflung, Schmerz und Vergnügen - und schließlich - Leben und Tod. Sex thematisiert die Fluidität zwischen diesen scheinbar unversöhnlichen, gegenseitigen Kräften und beleuchtet wie scheinbar Unvereinbares miteinander verschmelzen kann.
 

Zurück