Audio Performance QuaRANTine Choir

QuaRANTine Choir (c)Wiley Hoard

Tue, 06/02/2020

Sound Cloud

A Series of Audio Performances for Cell Phones

QuaRANTine Choir is a growing compilation of commissioned audio works by an international group of artists from various backgrounds. It is dedicated to the rant as an artistic format, motivated by feminist and queer perspectives. The series is a scattered yet collective choir, that is delayed only by time and distance. Each artist departs from the previous rant hence adding a new voice to the QuaRANTine Choir.

In her performances, artist Nora Turato incessantly calls for an “almost nonsensical desire to be loud, too much, unstable, possibly insane in public and to make something out of it,” largely because the general public seems not quite ready to have a woman shriek, rant, gossip, and whine at them, or stare them down.
For our digital community and audio project QuaRANTine Choir, 10+ artists and musicians play with whatever ranting and queer/feminist noise means to them and to create a short audio work. Cell phones or other mobile devices serve as recording as well as listening devices. Since each rant is sent to the next artist as starting material, the whole series also works as a slowed-down artistic chain reaction.

Starting Tuesday, June 2nd, 2020 one new episode of the series will be published weekly on Soundcloud. The first audio performance is by Nora Turato, an Amsterdam-based artist who in her performances uses a cacophony of voices and fuses a mixture of source materials in an attempt to dismantle the preconceived ideas of femininity.

https://soundcloud.com/quarantinechoir

New tracks will be added each Tuesday 6pm (CET), starting June 2nd 2020

Artists: Nora Turato, Moriah Evans, Felicia Atkinson, Leyla Yenirce aka Rosaceae, Astrit Ismaili, Hanne Lippard, Nguyễn + Transitory, and others

Concept & Production: Line Spellenberg & Sandra Teitge
With additional support by District * School without Center, Berlin

Music: Kolbeinn Hugi
 

Back

Audio Performance QuaRANTine Choir

QuaRANTine Choir (c)Wiley Hoard

Di, 02.06.2020

Sound Cloud

Eine Serie von Audio-Performances für Mobiltelefone

QuaRANTine Choir ist eine wachsende Sammlung an neu produzierten Audioarbeiten von einer Gruppe internationaler Künstler*innen aus verschiedenen Bereichen. Motiviert von feministischen und queeren Perspektiven, widmen sie sich dem “rant” (dt. Schimpftirade, Wortschwall, Wutrede) als künstlerisches Format. Die Serie ist ein verstreuten und dennoch kollektiven Chor, der nur zeitlich und räumlich voneinander verschoben ist. Jede*r Künstler*in nimmt den vorherigen Rant als Ausgangspunkt und fügt so dem QuaRANTine Choir eine neue Stimme hinzu.

Unaufhörlich fordert die Künstlerin Nora Turato in ihren Performances “ein fast unsinniges Begehren danach, in der Öffentlichkeit zu laut, zu viel, instabil und möglicherweise verrückt zu sein und etwas daraus zu machen”; weitgehend deshalb, weil die allgemeine Öffentlichkeit nicht dafür bereit zu sein scheint, dass eine Frau schreit, schimpft, tratscht, heult, oder sie niederstarrt.
Für unser digitales Community und Audioprojekt QuaRANTine Choir laden wir mindestens 10 Künstler*innen und Musiker*innen ein, mit den Begriffen ranting und queer/feministischem Lärm zu experimentieren und daraus eine kurze Audio-Performance zu entwickeln. Als Aufnahmegerät dient ihr Mobiltelefon oder alternatives mobiles Endgerät. Da jeder Rant zum*r jeweils folgenden Künstler*in als Ausgangsmaterial geschickt wird, ist die Serie auch eine Art verlangsamte künstlerische Kettenreaktion.

Beginnend am Dienstag, den 2. Juni 2020, wird wöchentlich eine neue Episode der Serie auf Soundcloud veröffentlicht. Die erste Audio Performance ist von Nora Turato, eine Künstlerin mit Wohnsitz in Amsterdam, die in ihren Performances eine Kakofonie von Stimmen sowie eine Mischung aus Quellenmaterialien miteinander verschmilzt und dabei versucht, vorgefasste Ideen von Femininität zu demontieren.
 
https://soundcloud.com/quarantinechoir

Ein neuer Track wird jeden Dienstag 18:00 (CET), Beginn 02. Juni 2020 veröffentlicht.

Künstler*innen: Nora Turato, Moriah Evans, Felicia Atkinson, Leyla Yenirce aka Rosaceae, Astrit Ismaili, Hanne Lippard, Nguyễn + Transitory, et al.

Konzept & Produktion: Line Spellenberg & Sandra Teitge

Unterstützt wird das Projekt auch von  District * Schule ohne Zentrum, Berlin

Musik: Kolbeinn Hugi



 

Zurück