Virtual Filmfestival German Films at the Chicago European Union Film Festival

Deutsche Filme des CEUFF © Goethe-Institut Chicago

Fri, 03/05/2021 -
Sun, 04/25/2021

Gene Siskel Film Center of the School of the Art Institute of Chicago

164 N. State Street
60601 Chicago

Born in Evin (c) Siri Klug Born in Evin
Director: Maryam Zaree, 2019, 100 min., color, in Farsi, English, French, and German with English subtitles
March 26 through April 25, 2021

Born in Evin In her directing debut, German-Iranian actress Maryam Zaree confronts the circumstances of her birth inside one of the world’s most notorious prisons. Her parents, political opponents to Iran’s leader Ayatollah Khomeini, spent years in prison, and then managed to find asylum in Germany. But they never talked about their persecution and imprisonment, so Zaree turns to other survivors of Evin, talks to experts, and searches for children born in the same prison. What are the personal consequences of persecution and violence when the same perpetrators remain in power while the victims internalize their stories? And what does it mean, politically, to face the silence within the family? – Alissa Simon

Gypsy Queen (c) Gypsy Queen Gypsy Queen
Director: Hüseyin Tabak, 2019, 112 min., color, German with English subtitles
March 19 through April 15, 2021

Gypsy Queen Charismatic single mother Ali works herself to the bone as a cleaner at the Ritze nightclub in Hamburg so that her two children can have the opportunities inherent in a German life and education. Long ago, as a promising young boxer, Ali was the pride and joy of her father and the Romanian Roma community, but she was disowned after bearing children out of wedlock. One night, Ali discovers the boxing ring in the basement of the Ritze, and it brings back memories. Ritze owner and former boxer Tanner recognizes her talent, and as she starts to box again, she sees the chance of a better life… but at what price? – Alissa Simon

Top Down Memory (c) Daniel Theiler The short-film compilation "Power Games" includes four award-winning shorts that explore radical and extremist tendencies worldwide, the idea that history seems destined to repeat itself, and the role that power can play even in unexpected situations.
Total running time: 85 min.
March 5 through April 1, 2021

Short Film Program: Power Games Top Down Memory
Director: Daniel Theiler, 2020, 12 min., German with English subtitles

Top Down Memory deals with the manipulation of history in the context of the reconstruction of the Berlin Palace ("Humboldtforum"). Starting from the confusions surrounding an alleged proclamation of a socialist republic from one of its balconies in 1918, the film examines other political events that occurred on balconies. Reenactments of iconic political and cultural events on the original balcony raise questions about authenticity and manipulation. Who is writing our history? How do we deal with our past? How does collective memory work? The balcony is the central motive of the film, representing hierarchies and power politics.

Masel Tov Cocktail
Directors: Arkadij Khaet, Mickey Paatzsch, 2020, 30 min., German/Russian with English subtitles

19-year-old Dimitrij Liebermann punched Tobi in the face. Now he’s supposed to apologize to him. But Dimitrij doesn’t exactly feel sorry. While on his way to meet up with Tobi, he encounters a diverse representation of German society. Again and again, Dimitrij faces one struggle he needs to overcome: his German-Jewish identity. An analysis of the status quo.

Land of Glory
Director: Borbála Nagy, 2020, 27 min., Hungarian with English subtitles

A school somewhere in Hungary. An ordinary literature class with unextraordinary, indifferent students. It feels like a normal day, except that the Hungarian Prime Minister is about to visit. The school secretary, the mastermind of the ceremony, tries to keep everything under control, especially the celebratory cake, which doesn’t fit in the fridge. While the cooks struggle to fix the problem, 17-year-old Márti, who is supposed to greet the Prime Minister on stage, hesitantly prepares her little rebellion.

Just a Guy
Director: Shoko Hara, 2020, 15 min., English

Just a Guy is an animated documentary short film about love. Three women share glimpses of their affection, attraction, and relationship with Richard Ramirez: a serial killer and rapist they contacted after he was convicted in the 1980s. Through their perspective, we revisit exchanged letters and emotions that are as obsessive as they are hauntingly familiar.

Back

Virtuelles Filmfestival Deutsche Filme im Chicago European Union Film Festival

German Films at CEUFF © Goethe-Institut Chicago

Fr, 05.03.2021 -
So, 25.04.2021

Gene Siskel Film Center of the School of the Art Institute of Chicago

164 N. State Street
60601 Chicago

Born in Evin (c) Siri Klug Born in Evin
Regie: Maryam Zaree, 2019, 100 Min., Farbe, in Farsi, Englisch, Französisch und Deutsch mit englischen Untertiteln
26. März bis 25. April 2021

Born in Evin In ihrem Regiedebüt setzt sich die deutsch-iranische Schauspielerin Maryam Zaree mit den Umständen ihrer Geburt in einem der berüchtigtsten Gefängnisse der Welt auseinander. Ihre Eltern, politische Gegner des iranischen Staatschefs Ayatollah Khomeini, verbrachten Jahre im Gefängnis bevor sie endlich in Deutschland Asyl finden konnten. Aber sie sprachen nie über ihre Verfolgung und Inhaftierung, deswegen Zaree wendet sich an andere Überlebende von Evin, spricht mit Experten und sucht nach Kindern, die im selben Gefängnis geboren wurden. Was sind die persönlichen Folgen von Verfolgung und Gewalt, wenn dieselben Täter an der Macht bleiben, während die Opfer ihre Geschicht verinnerlichen? Und was bedeutet es politisch, sich dem Schweigen innerhalb der Familie zu stellen? - Alissa Simon

Gypsy Queen (c) Gypsy Queen Gypsy Queen
Regie: Hüseyin Tabak, 2019, 112 Min., Farbe, Deutsch mit englischen Untertiteln
19. März bis 15. April 2021
Gypsy Queen Die charismatische, alleinerziehende Mutter Ali schuftet als Putzfrau im Hamburger Nachtclub Ritze, damit ihre beiden Kinder die Chancen auf ein gutes Leben und eine Ausbildung in Deutschland haben. Vor langer Zeit war Ali als vielversprechende junge Boxerin der ganze Stolz ihres Vaters und der rumänischen Roma-Gemeinde, aber sie wurde verstoßen, nachdem sie uneheliche Kinder hatte. Als Ali eines Nachts den Boxring im Keller der Ritze entdeckt, werden Erinnerungen wach. Ritze-Besitzer und ehemaliger Boxer Tanner erkennt ihr Talent, und als sie wieder zu boxen beginnt, sieht sie die Chance auf ein besseres Leben... aber zu welchem Preis? - Alissa Simon

Top Down Memory (c) Daniel Theiler Die Kurzfilmkompilation "Power Games" umfasst vier preisgekrönte Kurzfilme, die sich mit radikalen und extremistischen Tendenzen weltweit, der Idee, dass sich Geschichte scheinbar immer wiederholt, und der Rolle, die Macht auch in unerwarteten Situationen spielen kann, auseinandersetzen.
Gesamtlaufzeit: 85 min.
5. März bis 1. April 2021

Kurzfilm Program: Power Games Top Down Memory
Regie: Daniel Theiler, 2020, 12 Min., Deutsch mit englischen Untertiteln

Top Down Memory beschäftigt sich mit der Manipulation von Geschichte im Kontext der Restaurierung des „Berliner Schlosses" (Humboldtforum). Ausgehend von den Verwirrungen um eine angebliche Ausrufung der sozialistischen Republik von einem der Balkone im Jahr 1918 untersucht der Film weitere politische Ereignisse, die sich auf Balkonen abgespielt haben. Reenactments von ikonischen politischen und kulturellen Ereignissen auf dem Originalbalkon werfen Fragen nach Authentizität und Manipulation auf. Wer schreibt unsere Geschichte? Wie gehen wir mit unserer Vergangenheit um? Wie funktioniert das kollektive Gedächtnis? Der Balkon ist das zentrale Motiv des Films und steht für Hierarchien und Machtpolitik.

Masel Tov Cocktail
Regisseure: Arkadij Khaet, Mickey Paatzsch, 2020, 30 Min., deutsch/russisch mit englischen Untertiteln

Der 19-jährige Dimitrij Liebermann hat Tobi ins Gesicht geschlagen. Jetzt soll er sich bei ihm entschuldigen. Doch Dimitrij tut es nicht wirklich leid. Auf seinem Weg zu Tobi trifft er auf ein buntes Abbild der deutschen Gesellschaft. Immer wieder steht Dimitrij vor einem Kampf, den es zu bewältigen gilt: seine deutsch-jüdische Identität. Eine Analyse des Status quo.

Land of Glory
Regie: Borbála Nagy, 2020, 27 Min., Ungarisch mit englischen Untertiteln

Eine Schule irgendwo in Ungarn. Eine normale Literaturklasse mit unauffälligen, gleichgültigen Schülern. Es scheint ein ganz normaler Tag zu sein, außer dass der ungarische Premierminister zu Besuch kommt. Die Schulsekretärin, das Mastermind der Zeremonie, versucht, alles unter Kontrolle zu halten, vor allem den Festtagskuchen, der nicht in den Kühlschrank passt. Während sich die Köche abmühen, das Problem zu beheben, bereitet die 17-jährige Márti, die den Ministerpräsidenten auf der Bühne begrüßen soll, zögerlich ihre kleine Rebellion vor.

Just a Guy
Regie: Shoko Hara, 2020, 15 Min., Englisch

Just a Guy ist ein animierter Dokumentar-Kurzfilm über die Liebe. Drei Frauen teilen Einblicke in ihre Zuneigung, Anziehung und Beziehung zu Richard Ramirez: ein Serienmörder und Vergewaltiger, mit dem sie Kontakt aufnahmen, nachdem er in den 1980er Jahren verurteilt wurde. Durch ihre Perspektive erleben wir den Briefwechsel und die Gefühle, die ebenso obsessiv wie eindringlich vertraut sind.

Zurück