Interactive Online Event Science+Fiction: Game over, and over, and over

Collage Video Controls © Unsplash

Tue, 06/29/2021

online

Narrative is a sequence of events or experiences. How does the form and meaning of narrative change across different media? And what makes narrative in video games, in particular, so unique?

How do nonlinear and multilinear narrative games complicate the linearity we encounter in most novels or films? How do side quests in open world games, from Grand Theft Auto V to The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild, transform an overarching story into a storyworld? How do game mechanics and interactive opportunities change how we experience and interpret game narratives? How do emergent narratives, not intended by designers but created by players, in games such as The Sims or Minecraft, complicate traditional narrative hierarchies?

These questions will be the focus of an interactive online conversation with Philomena Schwab and Patrick Jagoda, moderated by Jordan Erica Webber.

Please register here

Patrick Jagoda (c) Jason Smith Patrick Jagoda is Professor of Cinema & Media Studies and English at the University of Chicago. He is Executive Editor of Critical Inquiry and director of the Weston Game Lab. He is also co-founder of the Game Changer Chicago Design Lab and Transmedia Story Lab, and a member of the Fourcast Lab collective.
Patrick's books include Network Aesthetics (2016), The Game Worlds of Jason Rohrer (2016), and Experimental Games: Critique, Play, and Design in the Age of Gamification (2020), as well as several edited volumes and journal special issues. He is currently working on his next book, Story Lab: Narrative Methods for a Transmedia Era. He has also designed numerous alternate reality games, video games, and board games about issues that include climate change, public health, and the COVID-19 pandemic.
Patrick is a recipient of a 2020 Guggenheim Fellowship.

Philomena Schwab (c) Stray Fawn Studios
Philomena Schwab is a game designer and community manager from Zurich, Switzerland. She wrote her master thesis about "Community Building for Indie Developers" and went on to co-found the indie game studio Stray Fawn in 2016. The studio’s main focus is the development of procedurally generated simulation games. Currently, they are working on ‘The Wandering Village’, a city-building/simulation game in which players establish a settlement on the back of a giant, wandering creature.
In 2017, Philomena was named a 30 under 30 in Technology in Europe by Forbes. As a vice president of the Swiss Game Hub, she helps the local game industry grow.



Jordan Erica Webber (c) Jordan Erica Webber Jordan Erica Webber is the resident gaming expert on The Gadget Show (Channel 5), an arts and culture presenter for BBC Radio 4, and host of podcasts like Chips with Everything, Wild Wild Tech, and Talking Simulator.
She has written for the Guardian for nearly a decade, and co-authored a book called Ten Things Video Games Can Teach Us (about life, philosophy and everything).
Jordan is particularly known for her insightful skill as an interviewer, and her ability to make conversations around video games and digital culture accessible and engaging to a wider audience.

Back

Interaktives Online Gespräch Science+Fiction: Game over, and over, and over

Collage Video Controls © Unsplash

Di, 29.06.2021

Online

Narrative ist eine Abfolge von Ereignissen oder Erfahrungen. Wie verändert sich die Form und Bedeutung des Erzählens in unterschiedlichen Medien? Und was macht das Erzählen speziell in Videospielen so einzigartig?

Wie verkomplizieren nichtlineare und multilineare narrative Spiele die Linearität, die wir in den meisten Romanen oder Filmen antreffen? Wie verwandeln Nebenhandlungen in Open-World-Spielen, von Grand Theft Auto V bis The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild, eine übergreifende Geschichte innerhalb einer Storyworld? Wie verändern Spielmechaniken und interaktive Möglichkeiten die Art und Weise, wie wir Spieleerzählungen erleben und interpretieren? Wie verkomplizieren aufkommende Narrative, die nicht von den Designern beabsichtigt, sondern von den Spielern geschaffen werden, in Spielen wie The Sims oder Minecraft die traditionellen narrativen Hierarchien?

Diese Fragen stehen im Mittelpunkt eines interaktiven Online-Gesprächs mit Philomena Schwab und Patrick Jagoda, das von Jorden Erica Webber moderiert wird."

Bitte melden Sie sich an

Patrick Jagoda (c) Jason Smith Patrick Jagoda ist Professor für Cinema & Media Studies und Englisch an der University of Chicago. Er ist Executive Editor von Critical Inquiry und Direktor des Weston Game Lab. Er ist außerdem Mitbegründer des Game Changer Chicago Design Lab und des Transmedia Story Lab sowie Mitglied des Fourcast Lab Kollektivs.
Zu Patricks Büchern gehören Network Aesthetics (2016), The Game Worlds of Jason Rohrer (2016) und Experimental Games: Critique, Play, and Design in the Age of Gamification (2020), sowie mehrere Sammelbände und Zeitschriften-Sonderhefte. Derzeit arbeitet er an seinem nächsten Buch, Story Lab: Narrative Methods for a Transmedia Era. Außerdem hat er zahlreiche Alternate Reality Games, Videospiele und Brettspiele zu Themen wie Klimawandel, öffentliche Gesundheit und die COVID-19-Pandemie entwickelt.
Patrick ist Empfänger eines Guggenheim-Stipendiums für 2020.

Philomena Schwab (c) Stray Fawn Studios Philomena Schwab ist Game Designerin und Community Managerin aus Zürich. Sie schrieb ihre Masterarbeit zum Thema "Community Building für Indie-Entwickler" und gründete 2016 das Indie-Game-Studio Stray Fawn mit. Der Schwerpunkt des Studios liegt auf der Entwicklung von prozedural generierten Simulationsspielen. Derzeit arbeiten sie an "The Wandering Village", einem Stadtbau-/Simulationsspiel, in dem die Spieler*innen eine Siedlung auf dem Rücken einer riesigen, wandernden Kreatur gründen.
2017 wurde Philomena von Forbes zu den "30 under 30 in Technology in Europe" ernannt. Als Vizepräsidentin des Swiss Game Hub unterstützt sie das Wachstum der lokalen Spieleindustrie.



Jordan Erica Webber (c) Jordan Erica Webber Jordan Erica Webber ist die Gaming-Expertin bei The Gadget Show (Channel 5), eine Kunst- und Kulturmoderatorin für BBC Radio 4 und Gastgeberin von Podcasts wie Chips with Everything, Wild Wild Tech und Talking Simulator.
Sie schreibt seit fast einem Jahrzehnt für den Guardian und ist Co-Autorin des Buches Ten Things Video Games Can Teach Us (about life, philosophy and everything).
Jordan ist besonders bekannt für ihre Fähigkeit, Gespräche über Videospiele und digitale Kultur für ein breiteres Publikum zugänglich zu machen und ansprechend zu gestalten.

Zurück