Film Screening German Cinema Now! What Do We See When We Look at the Sky?

Film still: What Do We See When We Look at the Sky? © Grandfilm

Wed, 11/24/2021 -
Sun, 11/28/2021

7:00 PM - 10:00 PM
PT

Northwest Film Forum

The monthly film series GERMAN CINEMA NOW! is curated by Goethe Pop Up Seattle. This year, the series explores themes of disruption and continuity to inspire public dialogue about the ways in which the past shapes our moment and can inform a radically different future.
 
The screenings are presented in partnership with Northwest Film Forum Seattle, and all ticket purchases support Northwest Film Forum.

This screening of What Do We See When We Look at the Sky? will take place in person only. Please register in advance and pay what you can.
The film will be accompanied by a pre-recorded Q&A with Alexandre Koberidze, the film’s director.

COVID safety protocols apply. Please visit NWFF’s event page for more information.

About the Film:

What Do We See When We Look at the Sky?

Dir. Alexandre Koberidze | 2021 | Georgia/Germany | Georgian with English subtitles | 150 minutes

This Thanksgiving weekend, let us give thanks: for children skipping and laughing, for curious dogs and special jam, for weathered gates and dappled sun, for ancient trees and the sparkling, omnipresent river. In Kutaisi, one of the oldest continually occupied cities in the world, a stranger picks up a dropped book, and bang: Lisa and Giorgi, a pharmacist and a soccer player, are in love. Without even exchanging names, they make plans to meet the next day, only to be kept apart by fate—or a curse. A seedling on the street warns Lisa, a surveillance camera and a rain gutter try to explain, and the wind calls out but cannot get through with the most important part: that Lisa’s and Giorgi’s appearances will change completely. The lovers wait and wait for each other. Each is drawn day after day to the café by the bridge where they had set their rendezvous. With new faces, they find new lives. In time, however, when filmmakers scour the town for perfect local couples, it seems that chance is not quite finished with Lisa and Giorgi.

An official selection at the Berlinale and New York Film Festival, this humanistic work turns on a spell cast on two lovers in an ancient city, and the film too casts a spell. Time functions differently inside it. Whether it is roommates washing dishes, children practicing violin, street dogs amiably bickering, or a café proprietor setting up a projector to beam the football match, Alexandre Koberidze generously lets life happen in his unhurried shots. The film invites magic and purity into our everyday without a hint of irony or glibness. With hints of Fellini, Kiarostami, and Chaplin and a gaze that is child-like but in no way childish, Sky is a slow, sweet journey to the heart of cinema.
Registration
“Movies can truly be anything, and the beauty of Alexandre Koberidze’s lyrical and ineffably romantic “What Do We See When We Look at the Sky?” is how it reminds us of that — time and again.” – IndieWire (“Critic’s Pick”), David Ehrlich

“Marvellous, mischievous…Is there an opposite to the Evil Eye? If so, that’s the gaze in What Do We See When We Look at the Sky?” – Variety, Jessica Kiang

“The fable-like feel of “What Do We See When We Look at the Sky?” is never broken, which makes its final moments surprisingly touching and heartfelt.” – RogerEbert.com, Odie Henderson

About the Director:

After studying Economics and Film Production in Tbilisi, Alexandre Koberidze relocated to Berlin, where he studied Directing at the German Film and Television Academy (dffb). His first, successful short films appeared during his studies, beginning with Colophon, which was critically acclaimed at the Oberhausen Short Film Festival. His first feature film, Let the Summer Never Come Again (2017), received a number of awards worldwide, including the Grand Prix at FID Marseille.
 

Back

Filmvorführung German Cinema Now! Was sehen wir, wenn wir zum Himmel schauen?

Filmstill: Was sehen wir, wenn wir zum Himmel schauen? © Grandfilm

Mi, 24.11.2021 -
So, 28.11.2021

19:00 Uhr - 22:00 Uhr
PT

Northwest Film Forum

Die monatliche Filmreihe GERMAN CINEMA NOW! wird vom Goethe Pop Up Seattle kuratiert. Dieses Jahr beschäftigt sich die Reihe mit Themen wie Bruch und Kontinuität, um einen öffentlichen Dialog darüber anzuregen, wie genau die Vergangenheit unsere Gegenwart prägt und eine grundverschiedene Zukunft beeinflussen kann.
 
Die Filmreihe wird in Kooperation mit dem Northwest Film Forum Seattle präsentiert. Der Erlös der Tickets unterstützt das Northwest Film Forum.
 
Diese Vorführung findet als Präsenzveranstaltung statt. Wir bitten um Registrierung vorab und ermutigen zu einer kleinen Spende.
Der Film wird begleitet durch ein vorweg aufgenommenes Q&A mit dem Regisseur, Alexandre Koberidze.

Es gelten COVID-bedingte Sicherheitsmaßnahmen für die Präsenzveranstaltung. Bitte besuchen Sie die Eventseite von NWFF für mehr Infos.

Über den Film:

Was sehen wir wenn wir zum Himmel schauen?

Alexandre Koberidze | 2021 | Georgien/Deutschland | Georgisch mit engl. UT | 150 Minuten

Lasst uns danken: für spielende, lachende Kinder, für neugierige Hunde und besondere Konfitüre, für verwitterte Pforten und gefleckten Sonnenschein, für antike Bäume und den schäumenden, überall präsenten Fluss. In Kutaisi, eine der ältesten Städte der Welt, hebt ein Unbekannter ein auf die Straße fallengelassenes Buch auf, und schon sind Lisa, eine Apothekerin, und Giorgi, ein Fußballspieler, ineinander verliebt. Ohne ihre Namen auszutauschen machen sie eine Verabredung für den nächsten Tag. Sie werden aber voneinander getrennt durch den Zufall—oder einen Fluch. Ein junger Baum warnt Lisa, eine Überwachungskamera und eine Regenrinne wollen es erklären, und der Wind ruft auch, aber kommt nicht durch mit der wichtigsten Mitteilung: dass Lisa und Giorgis Aussehen sich vollkommen ändern werden. Die Liebhaber warten und warten auf einander. Jeder fühlt sich hingezogen zum Café bei der Brücke, wo sie ihren Termin gesetzt hatten. Mit ihren neuen Gesichtern finden sie neue Leben. Aber als Filmemacher durch die Stadt gehen, auf der Suche nach perfekten lokalen Liebespaaren, scheint es, dass der Zufall mit Lisa und Giorgi nicht fertig ist.

Eine offizielle Auswahl bei der Berlinale und dem New York Film Festival, dreht sich dieses humanistische Werk um einen Zauberspruch und der Film richtet selbst einen aus. Die Zeit funktioniert anders hier. Ob es die Mitbewohner beim Geschirrspülen sind oder Kinder beim Üben der Violine oder ein Caféinhaber, der einen Beamer für das Fußballspiel aufbaut, Koberidze lässt das Leben im Film stattfinden. Er lädt Zauber und Reinheit ein ohne einen Hauch von Ironie. Mit Hinweisen auf Fellini, Kiarostami und Chaplin, und einem Blick, der kindlich aber keineswegs kindisch ist, präsentiert Himmel eine langsame, süße Reise ins Herz des Kinos.
Registrieren
„Filme können förmlich alles sein, und die Schönheit bei Alexandre Koberidze’s lyrischem und unsäglich romantischem [Film] ist, dass es uns daran erinnert, immer wieder.
 – IndieWire (Critic’s Pick), David Ehrlich

„Wundervoll, schelmisch…gibt es einen Gegensatz zum bösen Blick? Falls ja, es ist dieser der Blick in Was sehen wir, wenn wir zum Himmel schauen?.“ – Variety, Jessica Kiang
 
„Der märchenhafte Ton von Was sehen wir, wenn wir zum Himmel schauen? wird nie gebrochen, was seine letzten Momente überraschend rührend und innig macht.“ – RogerEbert.com, Odie Henderson

Über den Filmemacher:

Nach einem Studium der Mikoökonomie und Filmproduktion in Tiflis, zog Alexandre Koberidze nach Berlin und studierte Regie an der Deutschen Film- und Fernsehakademie Berlin (dffb). Während seines Studiums entstanden eine Reihe erfolgreicher Kurzfilme, beginnend mit Colophon (2015), der bei den Kurzfilmtagen Oberhausen von der Kritik gefeiert wurde. Sein erster Spielfilm Lass Den Sommer Niemals Wieder Kommen (2017) gewann mehrere Preise bei Festivals weltweit, u. a. den Grand Prix bei FID Marseille.
 

Zurück