Talk The Bauhaus Journal and the Art of Architectural and Design Photography

Bauhaus-Archiv Berlin © Bauhaus-Archiv Berlin

Tue, 06/04/2019

Center for Architecture and Design

1010 Western Ave.
Seattle, WA 98104

Goethe Pop Up Seattle and the Seattle International Architecture Forum (SIAF) welcome Dr. Astrid Bähr, research associate at Berlin’s Bauhaus-Archive, for a talk on architectural and design photography and the renewed significance of the bauhaus journal. On the occasion of the Bauhaus’s centenary, Bähr revisits the journal as significant written testimony of this iconic movement of modern art.
 
Published periodically from 1926 to 1931 by Walter Gropius and László Moholy-Nagy, the bauhaus journal was an important outlet to give voice to the time’s most important artists, architects, and designers, and to exchange design concepts, ideas and styles worldwide. It enabled them to address the developments in and around the Bauhaus, the methods and focal points of their own teaching and current projects of their students, as well as the increasing importance and relevance of photography. Long before photography was taught or even organized as an extracurricular activity, Moholy-Nagy advocated unlimited experimentation with the photographic process, which eventually led to the inclusion in the school’s curriculum.
 
In her talk, Astrid Bähr explores how Bauhaus first developed the field of architecture and product photography while providing background information on the photography techniques that have been used. She also gives insight into the Bauhaus Photography exhibition that is on display at Peter Miller Architecture and Design Books from June 6 to July 14, 2019 as part of Wunderbar Together – The Year of German-American Friendship.
 
This event is free and open to the public.
 
Please RSVP at www.aiaseattle.org/events
 

Back

Vortrag Das Bauhaus Journal und die Kunst der Architekturfotografie

Bauhaus-Archiv Berlin © Bauhaus-Archiv Berlin

Di, 04.06.2019

Center for Architecture and Design

1010 Western Ave.
Seattle, WA 98104

Goethe Pop Up Seattle und das Seattle International Architecture Forum (SIAF) heißen Dr. Astrid Bähr, wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am Bauhaus-Archiv Berlin, zu einem Vortrag über Architektur- und Designfotografie und der wiedererlangten Bedeutung der Bauhaus Zeitschrift willkommen. Zum Bauhaus-Jubiläum überdenkt Bähr die Zeitschrift als wichtiges schriftliches Zeugnis der ikonischen Kunstbewegung der Moderne.

Die Bauhaus Zeitschrift, die periodisch zwischen 1926 und 1931 von Walter Gropius und László Moholy-Nagy herausgegeben wurde, gab den wichtigsten Künstlern, Architekten, und Designern eine Stimme und bot ihnen ein Forum, um Ideen, Designkonzepte und Stilrichtungen auf internationaler Ebene auszutauschen. Die Publikation ermöglichte es ihnen Entwicklungen in und um das Bauhaus, die Methoden und Schwerpunkte ihres Unterrichtens und die Projekte ihrer Schüler*innen, sowie die zunehmende Wichtigkeit und Relevanz der Fotografie zu adressieren. Lange bevor Fotografie unterrichtet oder als außerlehrplanmäßige Aktivität organisiert wurde, plädierte Moholy-Nagy für das uneingeschränkte Experimentieren mit dem fotografischen Prozess, was letztendlich zur Aufnahme der Fotografie in den schulischen Lehrplan führte. 

In ihrem Vortrag untersucht Astrid Bähr die Anfänge der Architektur- und Produktfotografie am Bauhaus und erklärt die unterschiedlichen Techniken, die hierfür verwendet wurden. Sie gibt zudem einen Einblick in die Bauhaus Fotografieausstellung, die vom 6. Juni bis zum 14. Juli im Rahmen des Deutschlandjahres bei Peter Miller Architecture and Design Books zu sehen sein wird. 

Die Veranstaltung ist kostenlos und öffentlich.
 
Um Anmeldung wird gebeten: www.aiaseattle.org/events
 

Zurück