Film Screening Lest We Forget

Lest We Forget Photo (detail): © Luigi Toscano

Thu, 05/23/2019

AMC Pacific Place

600 Pine St Suite 400
Seattle WA 98101

The Seattle International Film Festival (SIFF) is the largest film festival in the United States, with nearly 140,000 people attending each year. The 25-day event held each May is renowned for presenting over 400 features, short films, and documentaries gathered from more than 85 countries.
 
Since the 1970s, SIFF has been promoting cross-cultural exchange through cinema by bringing people together to discover extraordinary films from around the world. This year, Seattle International Film Festival kicks off for the 45th time.
 
Goethe Pop Up Seattle and the Honorary Consulates of Germany, Austria, and Switzerland are partnering with SIFF to present the festival’s official selection of German-language films. Watch an array of recent releases covering various genres, including documentary, comedy, and drama, and experience how much German cinema has to offer.

The documentary Lest We Forget follows the German-Italian photographer and filmmaker Luigi Toscano as he works on his exhibition project under the same title. The film offers the viewer insights into his work with Holocaust survivors whose portraits and stories Toscano has been collecting and displaying for many years. As the artist reminds its audience, the portrayed survivors are the faces and voices of the culture of remembrance. His project is not simply a look back at the past. Instead, it demands a confrontation with history to ensure that something like the Holocaust never happens again.

Luigi Toscano’s exhibition Lest We Forget was first displayed in his hometown of Mannheim, Germany, in 2015, commemorating the 70th anniversary of the end of World War II. In 2018, Lest We Forget was brought to the United States. The exhibition was shown at the United Nations headquarters in New York City. It was also on display along the Lincoln Memorial Reflecting Pool in Washington, D.C. where over 150,000 visitors could see the world’s largest exhibition of this kind in a public space. It is currently on display at the Civic Center Plaza in San Francisco. Further exhibitions are being planned in cities around the world, including Chicago, Pittsburgh, Vienna, Mainz – and Seattle.
 
The current collection includes over 300 portraits of Holocaust survivors. 16 of them were recently taken in Seattle.
 
Join us for the SIFF premiere on May 23. A second screening of the documentary takes place on May 24 at 12:45pm at SIFF Cinema Uptown. Luigi Toscano will be present at both screenings for a Q&A.

For more information and tickets, check www.siff.net/festival/lest-we-forget
 
 

Back

Filmvorführung Gegen das Vergessen

 Gegen das Vergessen Foto (Ausschnitt): © Luigi Toscano

Do, 23.05.2019

AMC Pacific Place

600 Pine St Suite 400
Seattle WA 98101

Das Seattle International Film Festival (SIFF) ist das größte Filmfestival in den USA und zieht jedes Jahr fast 140,000 Besucher an. Die 25-tägige Veranstaltung, die alljährlich zwischen Mai und Juni stattfindet, ist bekannt für ihre Auswahl an über 400 Spielfilmen, Kurzfilmen und Dokumentationen aus mehr als 85 Ländern.
 
Seit den 1970er Jahren fördert SIFF den Dialog zwischen Kulturen durch Kino, indem es Zuschauer zusammenbringt, um gemeinsam außergewöhnliche Filme aus der ganzen Welt zu entdecken. Dieses Jahr startet das Seattle International Film Festival zum 45. Mal.
 
Das Goethe Pop Up Seattle und die Honorarkonsulate Deutschlands, Österreichs und der Schweiz haben sich mit SIFF zusammengeschlossen, um eine Auswahl deutschsprachiger Filme zu präsentieren. Sehen Sie eine Reihe neuester Filme verschiedenster Genres, von Dokumentationen über Komödien bis hin zu Dramen, und tauchen Sie ein in die Vielfalt des deutschen Kinos.
 
Die Dokumentation Gegen das Vergessen folgt dem deutsch-italienischen Fotografen und Filmemacher Luigi Toscano bei seiner Arbeit an seinem Ausstellungsprojekt unter demselben Titel. Der Film bietet den Zuschauern Einblicke in seine Arbeit mit Überlebenden des Holocausts, deren Portraits und Geschichten Toscano seit Jahren sammelt und ausstellt. Der Künstler erinnert daran, dass die Überlebenden die Gesichter und Stimmen einer Erinnerungskultur sind. Sein Projekt ist mehr als nur ein Rückblick in die Vergangenheit. Es ermahnt, sich mit der Vergangenheit auseinander zu setzen, damit es nie wieder zu so etwas wie dem Holocaust kommt.

Luigi Toscanos Ausstellung Gegen das Vergessen wurde 2015 in seiner Heimatstadt Mannheim erstmals zum Gedenken des 70. Jahrestags des Endes des 2. Weltkrieges ausgestellt. 2018 kam Gegen das Vergessen in die USA und wurde in New York City im UNO-Hauptquartier gezeigt. Die Ausstellung wurde ebenfalls in Washington, D.C. entlang des Lincoln Memorial Reflecting Pools präsentiert. Über 150.000 Besucher konnten die weltgrößte Ausstellung, die es dieser Art im öffentlichen Bereich gibt, live sehen. Aktuell befindet sich die Ausstellung auf dem Civic Center Plaza in San Francisco. Weitere Stationen sind weltweit geplant, u.a. Chicago, Pittsburgh, Wien, Mainz – und Seattle.
 
Die aktuelle Sammlung umfasst über 300 Portraits von Holocaust-Überlebenden. 16 davon sind kürzlich in Seattle entstanden.

Die Dokumentation Gegen das Vergessen feiert am 23. Mai seine Premiere im Rahmen des Seattle International Film Festivals. Die zweite Filmvorführung findet am 24. Mai um 12:45 Uhr im SIFF Cinema Uptown statt. Bei beiden Vorführungen ist Luigi Toscano beim anschließenden Gespräch anwesend. 
 
Mehr Informationen und Karten unter www.siff.net/festival/lest-we-forget

Zurück