Film Screening Oray

Oray Photo (detail): © Betacinema

Fri, 05/17/2019

Lincoln Square

700 Bellevue Way NE (3rd Level)
Bellevue, WA 98004

The Seattle International Film Festival (SIFF) is the largest film festival in the United States, with nearly 140,000 people attending each year. The 25-day event held each May is renowned for presenting over 400 features, short films, and documentaries gathered from more than 85 countries.
 
Since the 1970s, SIFF has been promoting cross-cultural exchange through cinema by bringing people together to discover extraordinary films from around the world. This year, Seattle International Film Festival kicks off for the 45th time.
 
Goethe Pop Up Seattle and the Honorary Consulates of Germany, Austria, and Switzerland are partnering with SIFF to present the festival’s official selection of German-language films. Watch an array of recent releases covering various genres, including documentary, comedy, and drama, and experience how much German cinema has to offer.
 
Please join us for the U.S. Premiere of the drama Oray on May 17. During an argument, a young Muslim man in Germany accidentally divorces his wife by uttering the word "talaq" three times; as a result, his love for her, though unchanged, now conflicts with his faith.
 
Director Mehmet Akif Büyükatalay was born and grew up in Germany, and studied at the Academy of Media Arts Cologne with a focus on film and literature. He currently lives and works in Cologne.
 
Other screenings of Oray take place on May 20 at 8:30pm at Majestic Bay and on May 22 at 9:30pm at AMC Pacific Place.
 
For more information and tickets, check www.siff.net/festival/oray
 

Back

Filmvorführung Oray

Oray Foto (Ausschnitt): © Betacinema

Fr, 17.05.2019

Lincoln Square

700 Bellevue Way NE (3rd Level)
Bellevue, WA 98004

Das Seattle International Film Festival (SIFF) ist das größte Filmfestival in den USA und zieht jedes Jahr fast 140,000 Besucher an. Die 25-tägige Veranstaltung, die alljährlich zwischen Mai und Juni stattfindet, ist bekannt für ihre Auswahl an über 400 Spielfilmen, Kurzfilmen und Dokumentationen aus mehr als 85 Ländern.
 
Seit den 1970er Jahren fördert SIFF den Dialog zwischen Kulturen durch Kino, indem es Zuschauer zusammenbringt, um gemeinsam außergewöhnliche Filme aus der ganzen Welt zu entdecken. Dieses Jahr startet das Seattle International Film Festival zum 45. Mal.
 
Das Goethe Pop Up Seattle und die Honorarkonsulate Deutschlands, Österreichs und der Schweiz haben sich mit SIFF zusammengeschlossen, um eine Auswahl deutschsprachiger Filme zu präsentieren. Sehen Sie eine Reihe neuester Filme verschiedenster Genres, von Dokumentationen über Komödien bis hin zu Dramen, und tauchen Sie ein in die Vielfalt des deutschen Kinos.
 
Wir laden Sie herzlich zur USA-Premiere des Filmdramas Oray am 17. Mai ein. Während eines Streits mit seiner Ehefrau, spricht ein junger Muslim unbeabsichtigt die Scheidung aus, indem er dreimal hintereinander das Wort „talaq“ murmelt. Das Ergebnis ist seine Zerrissenheit zwischen der Liebe zu seiner Frau, an der sich nichts geändert hat, und seinem strengen Glauben, der es ihm nun untersagt diese Ehe weiterzuführen. 
 
Der Regisseur Mehmet Akif Büyükatalay ist in Deutschland geboren und aufgewachsen und hat an der Medienakademie in Köln studiert mit einem Schwerpunkt auf Literatur und Film. Er lebt und arbeitet in Köln.
 
Weitere Filmvorführungen von Oray finden am 20. Mai um 20:30 Uhr im Majestic Bay und am 22. Mai um 21:30 Uhr im AMC Pacific Place statt.
 
Mehr Informationen und Karten unter www.siff.net/festival/oray
 

Zurück