Talk and Discussion Talk: Democracy in Germany 30 Years after the Fall of the Berlin Wall

Karl-Rudolf Korte, Niko Switek Photo: © Karl-Rudolf Korte, Niko Switek

Mon, 09/23/2019

Goethe Pop Up Seattle

Chophouse Row
1424 11th Ave.
Suite 400
Seattle, WA 98122

PLEASE NOTE: TALK & DISCUSSION WILL BE HELD IN GERMAN.
 
Prof. Dr. Karl-Rudolf Korte, who is visiting the Goethe Pop Up Seattle from Germany, will discuss his recent publication Gesichter der Macht, a study of the role of the federal president and his ability to save democracy from populists. Included in his focus are the elections in the federal states of Brandenburg, Thuringia, and Saxony. He is joined in conversation by Prof. Niko Switek.
 
At the center of the talk stands the following question: How does democracy narrate itself? The federal president disposes of an enormous potential for political creative power – apart from formal arrangements and decrees. Especially today, when in terms of elite, cosmopolitan liberalism on the one hand and new radical, national authoritarianism on the other powerful stories of minimal consensus of our democracy must be told. What story will be told this fall in Germany after the state elections in Brandenburg, Saxony, with the AfD making big gains?  
 
About the speakers:
 
Prof. Dr. Karl-Rudolf Korte received his Ph.D. in Political Science from the University of Mainz in 1988 and his Dr. rer. pol. habil. from the Ludwig Maximillian University Munich. Korte has been teaching at the University Duisburg-Essen since 2003. He has been holding the position of director of the NRW School of Governance since 2006. For almost 20 years, he has also been accompanying the televised election shows of ZDF as election researcher and analyst. His recent monograph, Gesichter der Macht. Über die Gestaltungspotentiale der Bundespräsidenten. Ein Essay was published in 2019.
 
Niko Switek currently holds a DAAD Visiting Assistant Professorship for German Studies at the Henry M. Jackson School for International Studies and the Department of Political Science at the University of Washington, Seattle.

Back

Vortrag und Diskussion Gespräch: Demokratie-Erlebnisse, 30 Jahre nach dem Mauerfall

Karl-Rudolf Korte, Niko Switek Foto: © Karl-Rudolf Korte, Niko Switek

Di, 24.09.2019

Goethe Pop Up Seattle

Chophouse Row
1424 11th Ave.
Suite 101
Seattle, WA 98122

Über gespaltene Meinungsmuster auf dem deutschen Wählermarkt

+++ Durch unvorhersehbare Umstände musste der Talk auf den 24. September verschoben wurden. Uhrzeit (18:30 Uhr) und Veranstaltungsort (Goethe Pop Up Seattle) bleiben gleich. Wir entschuldigen uns für die Unannehmlichkeiten und danken für Ihr Verständnis. +++

Zu Gast in Seattle – Prof. Dr. Karl-Rudolf Korte gibt im gemeinsamen Gespräch mit Prof. Niko Switek im Goethe Pop Up Seattle Einblicke in seine Neuerscheinung Gesichter der Macht zur Rolle des Bundespräsidenten und stellt die Frage, ob dieser die Demokratie vor Populisten schützen kann. Die jüngsten Landtagswahlen in Brandenburg, Thüringen und Sachsen stehen dabei im Fokus.

Im Mittelpunkt des Gesprächs steht die Frage: Wie erzählt sich Demokratie? Der Bundespräsident verfügt über enorme Potentiale für politische Gestaltungsmacht – abseits der formellen Anordnungen und Verfügungen. Gerade jetzt, wenn zum elitär wahrgenommenen kosmopolitischen Liberalismus auf der einen Seite und zum neuen radikalen völkischem Autoritarismus auf der anderen Seite verstärkt Geschichten zum Minimal-Konsens unserer Demokratie überall wirkungsmächtig erzählt werden müssten. Welche Erzählung ergibt sich daraus diesen Herbst nach den Wahlen in Brandenburg, Sachsen und Thüringen und einer weiteren Stärkung der AfD?

 
Über die Sprecher:

Prof. Dr. Karl-Rudolf Korte promovierte 1988 im Fach Politikwissenschaft an der Universität Mainz. 1997 habilitierte er zum Dr. rer. pol. habil. an der Ludwig Maximillian Universität München. Seit 2003 lehrt er an der Universität Duisburg-Essen. Seit 2006 ist er Direktor an der NRW School of Governance. Zudem begleitet er seit 20 Jahren als Parteien- und Wahlforscher alle Wahlsendungen des ZDF. Seine aktuelle Monographie, Gesichter der Macht. Über die Gestaltungspotentiale der Bundespräsidenten. Ein Essay, wurde 2019 veröffentlicht. 

Niko Switek ist DAAD Visiting Assistant Professor für German Studies an der Henry M. Jackson School für International Studies und dem Department of Political Science an der University of Washington, Seattle.
 
 

Zurück