Exhibition Exhibition: Totally East

Voll der Osten  Photo: © Harald Hauswald/OSTKREUZ

Fri, 10/11/2019 -
Tue, 11/12/2019

Goethe Pop Up Seattle

Chophouse Row
1424 11th Ave.
Suite 400
Seattle, WA 98122

Life in the GDR

2019 marks the 30th anniversary of the fall of the Berlin Wall. Totally East is an exhibition that powerfully portrays everyday life in the GDR. Harald Hauswald’s photos hint at stories of loneliness, authority, and rebellion along with moments of endearment and serenity.

Harald Hauswald, born in 1954 in Radebeul, completed his training in photography in Dresden and moved to East Berlin in 1977, where he became a founding member of the renowned OSTKREUZ photographer agency. In the eighties, he walked the city’s streets and pointed his camera at what someone with a less discerning eye would probably pass by: lonely and elderly people, couples in love, dissidents of the punk movements, soccer hooligans, and young people in churches, standing up for peace and environmental protection.     

The exhibition at the Goethe Pop Up comprises of 20 exhibition panels with a wide selection of Hauswald’s known and less known photographs accompanied by texts from Stefan Wolle, Head of Research at the GDR Museum in Berlin, who, like the photographer, grew up in the GDR. Each panel is equipped with QR codes that link to short video interviews with the photographer who reports on the historical context of the respective photograph.
 
 

Back

Ausstellung Ausstellung: Voll der Osten

Voll der Osten  Foto: © Harald Hauswald/OSTKREUZ

Fr, 11.10.2019 -
Di, 12.11.2019

Goethe Pop Up Seattle

Chophouse Row
1424 11th Ave.
Suite 101
Seattle, WA 98122

Das Leben in der DDR

2019 jährt sich der Fall der Berliner Mauer zum 30. Mal. Voll der Osten ist eine Ausstellung über das tägliche Leben in Ostdeutschland. Der Fotograf Harald Hauswald nimmt uns mit auf eine Zeitreise, die sowohl von Einsamkeit, Macht und Rebellion als auch von Zärtlichkeit und Heiterkeit erzählen. Seine Fotografien sind weniger aufrührerisch als vielmehr eine Liebeserklärung an die Menschen in der DDR.
 
Harald Hauswald, geboren 1954 in Radebeul, beendete seine Lehre als Fotograf in Dresden und zog 1977 nach Ostberlin, wo er Gründungsmitglied der renommierten OSTKREUZ Agentur der Fotografen wurde. In den 80er Jahren erkundete er die Straßen der Stadt und fotografierte dort, wo andere Fotografen kein Interesse zeigten: einsame, ältere Menschen, verliebte Pärchen, Dissidenten der Punkbewegung, Fußball-Hooligans und junge Menschen in Kirchen, die für Frieden und Umweltschutz einstehen.

Die Ausstellung im Goethe Pop Up Seattle zeigt auf 20 Tafeln eine Auswahl an Hauswalds bekannten und weniger bekannten Fotografien, sowie Texte von Stefan Wolle, wissenschaftlicher Leiter des DDR Museums in Berlin, der, wie der Fotograf, in der DDR aufwuchs. Jede Tafel verfügt über einen QR Code mit einem Link zu kurzen Videos, in denen Hauswald über den historischen Hintergrund der jeweiligen Fotos spricht.  
 

Zurück