Filmfestival “…and the winners are...”

Filmfestival “…and the winners are...” © Goethe Institut/Design: Iris Buchholz

Award-winning New German Cinema

Around the world with LOLA and FIRST STEPS: In order to draw attention to outstanding German films internationally, the Goethe-Institut and the German Film Academy are presenting films selected from the winners and nominees of the German Film Award and the First Steps Awards for the second time in 2019. From October 18 to 22, 2019, the film package entitled “... and the winners are ...” will screen eight films in Seattle. It will make other stops in Cairo and Rio de Janeiro. We’ve invited filmmakers to talk about their work and pass on their knowledge in workshops for anyone interested in film.
 
The German Film Award is the most highly endowed cultural award in Germany. In addition, the German Film Academy and its partners bestow the First Steps Award, the most important young German talent award, to outstanding graduation films by students of film academies in German-speaking countries.
 
In panel discussions, filmmakers from Germany will talk with local audiences about the art of filmmaking. This way, the event also creates points of reference for the film scene in the host country. In the fall of 2019, the tour will start in Seattle with the nominees and winners of the 2019 German Film Award and the First Steps Awards. The local partners of the festival that will show outstanding European films made in Germany in “...and the winners are...” are the SIFF Film Center, where the opening party will be held, and the Northwest Film Forum.
 
The line-up of films will get revealed at the Launch Party at the Goethe Pop Up on October 3rd and ticket sales will go online the same day.
 

The film festival “…and the winners are…” is a joint project by the Goethe-Institut and the German Film Academy. In Seattle, the series is part of the Year of German-American Friendship and co-organized by the Goethe Pop Up Seattle.

Filmfestival “…and the winners are...”

Filmfestival “…and the winners are...” © Goethe Institut/Design: Iris Buchholz

Award-winning New German Cinema

Mit „LOLA“ und „FIRST STEPS“ um die Welt: Um international auf ausgezeichnete deutsche Filme aufmerksam zu machen, präsentieren das Goethe-Institut und die Deutsche Filmakademie 2019 zum zweiten Mal gemeinsam eine Auswahl von Filmen aus den Siegern und Nominierten zum Deutschen Filmpreis und den First Steps Awards. Vom 18. bis 22. Oktober 2019 wird das Filmpaket mit acht Filmen unter dem Titel „…and the winners are…“ in Seattle gezeigt. Weitere Stationen sind Kairo und Rio de Janeiro. Wir laden Filmschaffende ein, über ihre Arbeit zu sprechen und in Workshops Filminteressierten ihr Wissen weiterzugeben.
 
Der Deutsche Filmpreis ist die höchstdotierte Kulturauszeichnung Deutschlands. Darüber hinaus vergibt die Deutsche Filmakademie mit ihren Partnern den „First Steps Award“, den wichtigsten deutschen Nachwuchspreis, an herausragende Abschlussfilme von Studentinnen und Studenten der Filmhochschulen in deutschsprachigen Ländern.
 
In Diskussionsrunden werden sich Filmschaffenden aus Deutschland mit dem Publikum vor Ort über die Kunst des Filmemachens austauschen. So schafft die Veranstaltung auch Bezugspunkte zur Filmszene des Gastlandes. Im Herbst 2019 wird die Tour mit den Nominierten und Gewinnern des Deutschen Filmpreises und der „First Steps Awards“ 2019 in Seattle starten. Partner des Festivals vor Ort sind sowohl das SIFF Film Center, wo auch die Eröffnungsparty stattfindet als auch das Northwest Film Forum, die beide mit „…and the winners are…“ herausragende europäische Filme made in Germany zeigen.
 
Die Filme des diesjährigen Festivals werden am 3. Oktober bei der Launch Party im Goethe Pop Up bekanntgegeben. Zeitgleich startet der Vorverkauf der Tickets.
 

Das Filmfestival „…and the winners are…” ist ein gemeinsames Projekt des Goethe-Instituts und der Deutschen Filmakademie. In Seattle ist die Reihe Teil des Deutschlandjahrs USA und wird vom Goethe Pop Up Seattle mitveranstaltet.