Film Screening The Mover

Rainer Bock Photo (detail): © 235 Filmproduktion / Gerald von Fuchs

Sat, 10/19/2019

SIFF Film Center

305 Harrison St
Seattle, WA 98109

Germany. 2018, feature film, German with English subtitles, 100 min. | Director: David Nawrath | Cast: Rainer Bock, Albrecht Schuch, Thorsten Merten, Uwe Preuss, Roman Kanonik, Nina Gummich | Screenplay: David Nawrath, Paul Salisbury | Camera: Tobias von dem Borne | Editing: Stefan Oliveira-Pita | Music: Enis Rotthoff | Production: 23/5 Filmproduktion

Together with his moving squad, the furniture packer Walter, an aged former weightlifter, is supposed to evict tenants from an apartment. When the door of the old building opens, he believes he recognizes the young father as his son, whom he abandoned years ago. It’s the beginning of a cautious approach and a momentous attempt to rescue the young family from danger.
 

David Nawrath studied Directing at the German Film and Television Academy Berlin (DFFB). In 2011, he was selected for the Résidence du Festival du Cannes in Paris. His films include short films, such as Dunkle Zeit (2006), Was bleibt (2007), Eine Minute Freiheit (2008), and Der neue Tag (2009). The Mover (2018) is his feature debut and was nominated for the German Film Awards in the categories Best Screenplay and Best Actor.
 
This event is part of the Film Festival “…and the winners are…” - a joint project by the Goethe-Institut and the German Film Academy. In Seattle, the series takes place in the frame of the Year of German-American Friendship and is co-organized by the Goethe Pop Up Seattle with local partners NWFF and SIFF.

Back

Filmvorführung Atlas

Rainer Bock Foto (Ausschnitt): © 235 Filmproduktion / Gerald von Fuchs

Sa, 19.10.2019

SIFF Film Center

305 Harrison St
Seattle, WA 98109

Deutschland. 2018, Spielfilm, Deutsch mit englischen Untertiteln, 100 Min.
| Regie: David Nawrath | Schauspieler*innen: Rainer Bock, Albrecht Schuch, Thorsten Merten, Uwe Preuss, Roman Kanonik, Nina Gummich | Drehbuch: David Nawrath, Paul Salisbury | Kamera: Tobias von dem Borne | Schnitt: Stefan Oliveira-Pita | Musik: Enis Rotthoff | Produktion: 23/5 Filmproduktion


Zusammen mit seinem Speditionstrupp soll der Möbelpacker Walter, ein in die Jahre gekommener ehemaliger Gewichtheber, eine Wohnung zwangsräumen. Als sich die Tür des Altbaus öffnet, glaubt er in dem jungen Familienvater seinen Sohn zu erkennen, den er vor Jahren im Stich gelassen hat. Es beginnt eine vorsichtige Annäherung und ein folgenreicher Versuch, die junge Familie aus der Gefahr zu retten.
 

David Nawrath studierte Regie an der Deutschen Film- und Fernsehakademie in Berlin (DFFB). 2011 wurde er für die Résidence du Festival du Cannes in Paris nominiert. Zu seinen Filmen zählen Kurzfilme wie Dunkle Zeit (2006), Was bleibt (2007), Eine Minute Freiheit (2008) und Der neue Tag (2009). Atlas (2018) ist sein erster Spielfilm, welcher bei dem Deutschen Filmpreis in den Kategorien Bestes Drehbuch und Bester Schauspieler nominiert wurde.
 
Diese Veranstaltung ist Teil des Filmfestivals „…and the winners are…” - ein gemeinsames Projekt des Goethe-Instituts und der Deutschen Filmakademie. In Seattle läuft die Reihe innerhalb des Deutschlandjahrs USA und wird vom Goethe Pop Up Seattle in Zusammenarbeit mit den lokalen Organisationen NWFF und SIFF mitveranstaltet.

Zurück