Film Screening Oray & MyBorder’s JoyFence

Zejhun Demirov, Deniz Orta, Photo (detail): © filmfaust filmproduktion / Christian Kochmann

Mon, 10/21/2019

Northwest Film Forum

1515 12th Ave
Seattle WA 98122

Germany/Austria. 2018, feature film, German / Turkish with English subtitles, 100 min. | Director: Mehmet Akif Büyükatalay | Cast: Zejhun Demirov, Deniz Orta, Cem Göktas ̧, Mikael Bajrami, Faris Yüzbaşıoğlu,Ferhat Keskin, Kais Setti, Şahin Eryılmaz | Screenplay: Mehmet Akif Büyükatalay | Camera: Christian
Kochmann | Editing: Denys Darahan | Production: filmfaust filmproduktion (Cologne)


In an argument with his wife Burcu, Oray pronounces the Islamic word for separation, “talaq.” The Imam informs him of the consequences: Oray must now separate from Burcu for three months. Oray uses the enforced break in their relationship to make a fresh start and moves to Cologne.
 
Mehmet Akif Büyükatalay employs a quasi-documentary style to tell the story of an individual exhausting himself as he works his way through a religion’s complex belief system and his search for fulfillment caught between his belief in love and his love of his faith.
 

Oray was the winner of the Best First Feature Award at the 69th Berlinale and received the Götz George Young Talent Award for Acting at the First Steps Award 2018.
 
MyBorder’s JoyFence, the Best Advertising Film MyBorder’s JoyFence at the First Steps Award 2018, will precede the feature film.
 
In MyBorder’s JoyFence, Michael Kranz creates a disturbing scenario of the future; a cheerful world of isolation. The fictional advertisement features a new product, the joyFENCE. With this tool, anyone can shield themselves from the vexations of the real world while staying in a comfortable zone created by a “bubble filter system.” Fortunately, this is (still) purely fictional—but for how much longer?
 
This event is part of the Film Festival “…and the winners are…” - a joint project by the Goethe-Institut and the German Film Academy. In Seattle, the series takes place in the frame of the Year of German-American Friendship and is co-organized by the Goethe Pop Up Seattle with local partners NWFF and SIFF. 

Back

Filmvorführung Oray & MyBorder’s JoyFence

Zejhun Demirov, Deniz Orta, Foto (Ausschnitt): © filmfaust filmproduktion / Christian Kochmann

Mo, 21.10.2019

Northwest Film Forum

1515 12th Ave
Seattle WA 98122

Deutschland/ Österreich. 2018, Spielfilm, Deutsch/ Türkisch mit englischen Untertiteln, 100 Min. | Regie: Mehmet Akif Büyükatalay | Schauspieler*innen: Zejhun Demirov, Deniz Orta, Cem Göktas ̧, Mikael Bajrami, Faris Yüzbaşıoğlu,Ferhat Keskin, Kais Setti, Şahin Eryılmaz | Drehbuch: Mehmet Akif Büyükatalay | Kamera: Christian Kochmann | Schnitt: Denys Darahan | Produktion: filmfaust filmproduktion (Cologne)

Bei einem Streit mit seiner Ehefrau Burcu spricht Oray die islamische Scheidungsformel „talaq“ aus. Der Imam klärt ihn über die Konsequenzen auf: Oray muss sich für drei Monate von Burcu trennen. Oray nutzt die ihnen auferlegte Beziehungspause für einen Neuanfang und zieht nach Köln.
 
In nahezu dokumentarischem Duktus erzählt Mehmet Akif Büyükatalay, wie sich ein Einzelner am komplexen System einer Religion abarbeitet und einen Ausweg aus dem Konflikt zwischen seinem Glauben an die Liebe und seiner Liebe zum Glauben sucht.
 

Oray war der Gewinner des Besten Erstlingsfilms bei der 69. Berlinale und erhielt den Götz George Young Talent Award für Schauspielkunst bei dem First Steps Award 2018.
 
MyBorder’s JoyFence, der Beste Werbefilm des First Steps Award 2018, geht dem Spielfilm voran.
 
In MyBorder’s JoyFence schafft Michael Kranz ein verstörendes Zukunftsszenario; eine fröhliche Welt der Isolation. Die fiktive Werbung zeigt ein neues Produkt: joyFENCE. Mit diesem Tool kann jeder die Unannehmlichkeiten der realen Welt blockieren, und sich gleichzeitig in einer von einem „Blasenfiltersystem“ geschaffenen Wohlfühlzone aufhalten. Zum Glück ist das (noch) reine Fiktion – aber wie lange noch?
 
Diese Veranstaltung ist Teil des Filmfestivals „…and the winners are…” - ein gemeinsames Projekt des Goethe-Instituts und der Deutschen Filmakademie. In Seattle läuft die Reihe innerhalb des Deutschlandjahrs USA und wird vom Goethe Pop Up Seattle in Zusammenarbeit mit den lokalen Organisationen NWFF und SIFF mitveranstaltet. 

Zurück