Theater Performance Amerika

America Photo (detail): © Fabian Hammerl

Sat, 11/16/2019

7:00 PM - 8:30 PM

12th Avenue Arts

A play based on the novel by Franz Kafka and produced by Thalia Theater Hamburg, Germany.

This performance is already sold out. If you haven't registered yet, you can request to get added to the waitlist via Eventbrite. If you already have a free ticket but won't be able to attend, please cancel your registration via Eventbrite so we can release your spot to someone on the waitlist. Please note that at curtain time (7pm), any sold but unclaimed tickets will be released to other patrons on a first-come, first-serve basis. Please arrive early. 

You might not like Kafka, but even so, you may want to give his novel, Amerika, a second read.  Today, it might be more relevant than ever before. In his novel, Kafka writes about displacement, social decline in the foreign country, and the longing for Heimat (home).
 
As the sixteen-year-old Karl Rossmann, sent to America by his poor parents because a maid had seduced him and had had a child by him, was sailing into New York Harbour on board the gradually slowing ship, he caught sight again of the Statue of the Goddess of Liberty, which appeared to be lit up by a burst of sunshine.
 
Kafka’s Amerika is not a specific country, rather it is a multi-layered portrait, created from myths, projections, facts and fantasies. The journey of emigrant Karl Rossmann takes place in his head; from the arrival into New York harbor to his final train journey to the great Nature Theatre of Oklahoma, it is the odyssey of a man seeking a connection, who does not despair of his own isolation to the last, and at the end perhaps even finds the very home he is constantly searching for at the Oklahoma theatre.
 
Kafka’s epochal work vividly depicts the figure of the ‘outcast’ at the turn of the 20th century – cast out by parents, cast out of Europe. The story of a homeless man, who unlike hundreds of thousands of enthusiastic immigrants, does not see America as a land of opportunity, rather a country of social decline – the antithesis of the likes of the Irish Kennedys or German merchant families, who built a new life for themselves there. Through his depiction of the world of modernity, its gigantic flow of traffic and its hectic world of work, Kafka enables us to be astonished that everything we deem ‘normal’ has, up until very recently, not been so. This production is Kafka’s novel, presented as the phantasm and experience of one solitary actor.
 
With Bekim Latifi. Directed by Bastian Kraft. Staging by Peter Baur.
90 minutes without intermission.
 
 
The production is free to attend. Please register here: www.eventbrite.com/
 

Back

Theaterstück Amerika

Amerika Foto (Ausschnitt): © Fabian Hammerl

Sa, 16.11.2019

12th Avenue Arts

12th Avenue Arts
1620 12th Avenue
Seattle WA 98122

Ein Theaterstück des Thalia Theaters Hamburg nach dem Roman von Franz Kafka.

Diese Aufführung ist bereits ausverkauft. Es besteht die Möglichkeit sich über Eventbrite für die Warteliste zu registrieren. Wir bitten alle Teilnehmer, die bereits ein Ticket haben, aber nicht länger teilnehmen können, ihre Registrierung über Eventbrite zu stornieren sodass die Plätze an Personen auf der Warteliste vergeben werden können. Alle Ticketinhaber, die sich zu Beginn des Stücks (19 Uhr) nicht im Theater eingefunden haben, verlieren ihren Sitzplatzanspruch. Bitte erscheinen Sie rechtzeitig.

Kafka muss man nicht mögen, aber man sollte seinen Roman, Amerika, noch einmal genauer betrachten. Dieser ist momentan vielleicht aktueller als je zuvor. Im Roman schreibt er über das Vertrieben-Sein aus dem eigenen Land, dem sozialen Abstieg in der Fremde und über die Sehnsucht nach Heimat.
 
Als der sechzehnjährige Karl Roßmann, der von seinen armen Eltern nach Amerika geschickt worden war, weil ihn ein Dienstmädchen verführt und ein Kind von ihm bekommen hatte, in dem schon langsam gewordenen Schiff in den Hafen von New York einfuhr, erblickte er die schon längst beobachtete Statue der Freiheitsgöttin wie in einem plötzlich stärker gewordenen Sonnenlicht.
 
Kafkas Amerika (Der Verschollene) ist kein konkretes Land, sondern ein vielfach überlagertes Bild aus Mythen, Projektionen, Fakten und Fantasien. Die Reise des Auswanderers Karl Roßmann findet im Kopf statt, von der Einfahrt in den Hafen New Yorks bis zur finalen Zugfahrt zum großen Naturtheater von Oklahoma ist es die Odyssee eines Anschlusssuchenden, der bis zuletzt nicht an der eigenen Isolation verzweifelt und vielleicht sogar am Ende im Theater Oklahomas jenes Zuhause findet, das er fortwährend suchte.
 
Kafkas epochales Werk schildert zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts hellsichtig die Figur des „Vertriebenen“ – vertrieben durch die Eltern, vertrieben aus Europa. Die Geschichte eines Heimatlosen, dem Amerika nicht, wie Hunderttausenden von freiwilligen Auswanderern zum Ort der Verheißung wird, sondern zum Land des sozialen Abstiegs – ein Antibild zu Familien wie den irischen Kennedys oder deutschen Kaufmannsfamilien, die sich dort eine neue Existenz aufbauten. Kafka ermöglicht durch die Schilderung der Welt der Moderne, ihrer gigantischen Verkehrsströme, ihrer hektischen Arbeitswelt unser erinnerndes Erstaunen darüber, dass all das, was wir als normal empfinden, erst seit kurzem so ist. Kafkas Roman als Phantasma und Erlebnis eines einzigen Schauspielers.
 
Mit Bekim Latifi und unter der Leitung von Bastian Kraft. Bühne von Peter Baur.
90 Minuten ohne Pause.
 
Der Eintritt ist frei. Voranmeldung unter: www.eventbrite.com/

Zurück