Talk Berlin before and after the Fall of the Wall

Lori Goldston und Danielle de Picciotto © Lori Goldston, Sylvia Steinhaeuser

Mon, 11/11/2019

19:00

Goethe Pop Up Seattle

Danielle de Picciotto in Conversation with Lori Goldston

In conjunction with the exhibition TOTALLY EAST: LIFE IN EAST GERMANY and on the occasion of the 30th anniversary of the fall of the Berlin Wall, join musician and artist Danielle de Picciotto in conversation with cellist and composer Lori Goldston on life in Berlin between 1989 and 1995.
 
Based on de Picciotto’s experience in the “wild Berlin of the1980s and 90s”, the talk traces the incredible fall of the Berlin Wall at the turn of the decade and the beginning of a new era with political, cultural, and social changes. She also shares photos and videos with the audience.
 
About Danielle de Picciotto
Artist and musician Danielle de Picciotto is co-founder of the Love Parade and Ocean Club, together with Gudrun Gut. Since 1987, she has been initiating countless events, exhibitions, and projects in and around Berlin.
 
About Lori Goldston
Lori Goldston is an American cellist and composer. Accomplished in a wide variety of styles, including classical, world music, rock, and free improvisation. She came to prominence as the touring cellist for Nirvana from 1993–1994 and appears on their live album MTV Unplugged in New York.  She was a member of Earth, the Black Cat Orchestra, and Spectratone International, and also performs solo.
 
The event is free but seating is limited. Please register at: www.eventbrite.com/
 
This event is part of a series of events timed to the 30th anniversary of the fall of the Berlin Wall.

The exhibition TOTALLY EAST: LIFE IN EAST GERMANY is on view at Goethe Pop Up Seattle from October 11 to November 12.
 
On November 8, academic experts, former residents of East Germany, and community members gather in conversation and reflection at a public forum at the Allen Library, University of Washington, to mark the 30th anniversary of the fall of the Wall.
 
And on November 10, de Picciotto also performs from her album “Deliverance” at Fantagraphics Bookstore & Gallery, together with Minneapolis-based bassist and comic artist Zak Sally.
 
Check the full calendar for more information.

Back

Talk Berlin vor und nach dem Mauerfall

Lori Goldston und Danielle de Picciotto © Lori Goldston, Sylvia Steinhaeuser

Mo, 11.11.2019

19:00

Goethe Pop Up Seattle

Danielle de Picciotto im Gespräch mit Lori Goldston

In Zusammenhang mit der Ausstellung VOLL DER OSTEN: LEBEN IN OSTDEUTSCHLAND spricht die Musikerin und Künstlerin Danielle de Picciotto mit der Cellistin und Komponistin Lori Goldston über das Leben in Berlin in den Jahren zwischen 1989 und 1995.
 
De Picciottos Gespräch, das auf ihren Erfahrungen im „wilden Berlin der 80er und 90er Jahre“ beruht, folgt dem Mauerfall zu Beginn des Jahrzehnts und dem Beginn einer neuen Ära mit politischen, kulturellen und sozialen Umbrüchen. Sie teilt dabei auch Fotos und Videos mit dem Publikum.
 
Über Danielle de Picciotto
Die Künstlerin und Musikerin Danielle de Picciotto ist Mitbegründerin der Love Parade und, zusammen mit Gudrun Gut, Mitbegründerin des Ocean Clubs. Seit 1987 ist sie Initiatorin zahlreicher Veranstaltungen, Ausstellungen und Projekte in und um Berlin.

Über Lori Goldston
Lori Goldston ist eine Cellistin und Komponistin, die in verschiedenen Musikstilen arbeitet, einschließlich Klassik, World Music, Rock und freie Improvisation. Einen Namen machte sie sich, als sie 1993-94 mit Nirvana als Celllistin auf Tour ging. Man hört sie zudem auf Nirvanas Live-Album MTV Unplugged in New York. Golston spielt oft solo und war Mitglied der Gruppen Earth, Black Cat Orchestra und Spectratone International.

Die Veranstaltung ist kostenlos, aber es gibt nur eine limitierte Anzahl an Sitzplät. Um Registrierung wird gebeten: www.eventbrite.com/
 
Diese Veranstaltung ist Teil einer Veranstaltungsreihe zum 30. Jahrestag des Mauerfalls.

Die Ausstellung VOLL DER OSTEN ist vom 11. Oktober bis zum 12. November im Goethe Pop Up Seattle zu sehen.  

Am 8.November treffen sich Akademiker•innen, ehemalige Bürger*innen der DDR und Gemeindemitglieder in der Allen Library, University of Washington, zu einem öffentlichen Gespräch zum Mauerfall.
 
Und am 10. November spielt Danielle de Picciotto aus ihrem Album „Deliverance“ bei Fantagraphics Bookstore & Gallery, zusammen mit dem in Minneapolis lebenden Bassisten und Comickünstler Zak Sally.
 
Mehr Details können dem Veranstaltungskalender entnommen werden.

Zurück