Exhibition Max Planck Images of Science

Exhibition view © Jasmin Krakenberg

Fri, 01/10/2020 -
Fri, 03/06/2020

Goethe Pop Up Seattle

Chophouse Row
1424 11th Ave.
Suite 101
Seattle, WA 98122

Making the invisible visible

Discover a collection of striking images captured during the course of scientific research from some of the Max Planck Society’s work around the world.

Science often pushes back the boundaries of the known world to explore new topics and make the invisible visible. In the process of this work, a purely scientific documentation of research objects is created. And sometimes these images feature surprising aesthetic forms and structures. They are abstract works of art from a world normally hidden to the human eye.

Each year, scientists from more than 80 research institutes of the Max Planck Society enter images showcasing their work from the most various research fields. The most spectacular images form the basis of a travelling exhibit, which has been shown with great success in a variety of locations around the world, such as the Deutsches Museum in Munich, the ars electronica in Linz/Austria, the Frost Museum of Science in Miami, the National Library of Russia in St. Petersburg, and the German Science Centre in Cairo.
 
This fall, the exhibit stopped in Seattle at the Pacific Science Center. In January, we bring the exhibition to the Goethe Pop Up in Capitol Hill. For the months to come, it provides a fascinating glimpse into the world of science.
 
Admission to Max Planck Images of Science is free and open to the public.

In Seattle Images of Science is a collaboration between the Max Planck Society, the Max Planck Florida Institute for Neuroscience, and the Goethe Pop Up Seattle.

 

Back

Ausstellung Max Planck Images of Science

Exhibition view © Jasmin Krakenberg

Fr, 10.01.2020 -
Fr, 06.03.2020

Goethe Pop Up Seattle

Chophouse Row
1424 11th Ave.
Suite 101
Seattle, WA 98122

Das Unsichtbare wird sichtbar

Entdecke eine Auswahl von faszinierenden Aufnahmen, die während der wis­sen­schaft­li­chen For­schungs­ar­beit von Max-Planck-In­sti­tu­ten auf der ganzen Welt entstanden sind.
 

Wissenschaft verschiebt oft die Grenzen der uns bekannten Welten, um Neues zu erforschen und Unsichtbares sichtbar zu machen. Im Laufe dieser Arbeit entstehen dann rein wissenschaftliche Dokumentationen der Forschungsobjekte. Manchmal zeugen diese Bilder jedoch von auch von überraschenden ästhetischen Qualitäten, die man somit als abstrakte Kunstwerke einer dem menschlichen Auge verschlossener Welt verstehen könnte.

Jedes Jahr reichen Wissenschaftler*innen der mehr als 80 Forschungseinrichtungen der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft Bilder ein, die ihre Arbeiten in den unterschiedlichsten Forschungsgebieten zeigen. Die spektakulärsten Bilder werden Teil einer Wanderausstellung, die in unterschiedlicher Zusammenstellung schon an vielen Orten weltweit mit großem Erfolg gezeigt wurde – unter anderem im Haus der Wissenschaft in Bremen, bei der ars electronica in Linz, im Frost Science Museum in Miami, in der Russischen Nationalbibliothek in Sankt Petersburg und im Deutschen Wissenschaftszentrum in Kairo.
 
In diesem Herbst machte die Ausstellung im Pacific Science Center in Seattle Halt. In den letzten Monaten bot die Ausstellung dort faszinierende Einblicke in die Welt der Wissenschaft. Im Januar wandert die Ausstellung in das Goethe Pop Up nach Capitol Hill. 

Der Eintritt zur Ausstellung Bilder aus der Wissenschaft ist frei und für alle zugänglich.
 
In Seattle ist Images of Science eine Partnerschaft zwischen der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, dem Max Planck Florida Institute for Neuroscience und dem Goethe Pop Up Seattle.  


 

Zurück