Reading Group Online Book Klub: Sasha Marianna Salzmann’s “Beside Myself”

Book Klub: Sasha Marianna Salzmann’s “Beside Myself” © Jasmin Krakenberg

Thu, 06/18/2020

Online

Read. Talk. Share.

Just because we are stuck at home does not mean we can't discuss books. Join our June book club meeting online! Simply send an email to info-seattle@goethe.de and receive the Zoom access code. Let's keep reading and sharing experiences with the material! ​
 
The book club is free and open to everyone interested, but participants must purchase the individual texts themselves and are expected to have read the title to be discussed prior to the meeting. 
 
Still need to get a hold of the book? Support local businesses like our community partner Elliott Bay Book Company. Call Elliott Bay at 206-624-6600 or visit their website to place an order.

Feel free to read this month’s title in its English translation or original German; the discussion will be in English. 
 
Sasha Marianna Salzmann: Beside Myself  (trans. Imogen Taylor. Other Press, 2020, 336 pages.)

Beside Myself is the disturbing and exhilarating story of a family across four generations. At its heart is one woman’s search for her twin brother. When Anton goes missing and the only clue is a postcard sent from Istanbul, Alissa leaves her life in Berlin to find him. Without her twin, the sharer of her memories and the mirror of her own self, Ali is lost.

In a city steeped in political and social changes, where you can buy gender-changing drugs on the street, Ali’s search—for her missing brother, for her identity—will take her on a journey for connection and belonging.
(Source: Text Publishing Company, February 2019)

Sasha Marianna Salzmann, born 1985 in Volgograd, Russia, grew up in Moscow until 1995. In order to escape post-Soviet Union antisemitism in Russia, their family emigrated to Germany. Salzmann studied Literature, Theatre and Media at the University of Hildesheim, and Creative Writing for the Stage at the Berlin University of the Arts. They are a playwright, essayist, curator, and writer in residence at the Maxim Gorki Theatre in Berlin. Salzmann’s work has been translated, shown, and awarded in over 20 countries. Beside Myself is Salzmann’s debut novel and has been translated into 16 languages; it has won the Mara-Cassens Prize and the Jürgen-Ponto Award for best debut novel. It was also shortlisted for the German Book Prize 2017, the Premio Strega Europeo 2019, and the Angelus Central European Literature Award 2019.

......

This month, the book club is fortunate to get the chance to hear from author Sasha Marianna Salzmann! Salzmann will join stage director Guy Ben-Aharon on June 18th at 9:00am PDT at the digital "Authors in Conversation" event, presented by Brandeis University (CGES) and Goethe-Institut Boston. The online event is free and open to the public; registration is required to receive digital access information. 

Back

Lesegruppe Online Buchklub: Sasha Marianna Salzmanns „Außer sich“

Buchklub: Sasha Marianna Salzmanns „Außer sich“ © Jasmin Krakenberg

Do, 18.06.2020

Online

Lesen. Sprechen. Teilen.

Wir bleiben zwar alle weiterhin zu Hause, aber gemeinsam Bücher besprechen können wir dennoch.  Unser Buchclubtreffen im Juni findet online statt. Sendet einfach eine E-Mail an info-seattle@goethe.de und wir schicken euch den Zoom-Zugangscode. Lesen und Erfahrungsaustausch gehen weiter!
 
Der Buchklub ist kostenlos und offen für alle Interessierten. Die jeweiligen Bücher müssen von den Teilnehmenden vorab eigenständig angeschafft werden. Es wird erwartet, dass die ausgewählten Titel vor dem Treffen gelesen werden, damit alle an der Diskussionsrunde teilnehmen können.
 
Fehlt euch noch der Roman? Unterstützt lokale Geschäfte wie Elliott Bay Book Company! Ruft 206-624-6600 an oder gebt eine Bestellung über die Website auf.

Die Auswahl für den Monat Juni kann auf Deutsch oder in der englischen Übersetzung gelesen werden. Die Diskussion verläuft auf Englisch. 

Sasha Marianna Salzmann: Außer sich (Berlin, Suhrkamp Verlag, 2017, 365 Seiten.)
 
Außer sich ist die verstörende und aufregende Geschichte einer Familie über vier Generationen hinweg. Im Mittelpunkt steht die Suche einer Frau nach ihrem Zwillingsbruder. Nachdem Anton verschwunden ist und die einzige Spur eine Postkarte aus Istanbul ist, verlässt Alissa ihr Leben in Berlin, um ihn zu finden. Ohne ihren Zwilling, der ihre Erinnerungen teilt und ihr eigenes Selbst spiegelt, ist Ali verloren.
 
In einer Stadt, die von politischen und sozialen Veränderungen durchdrungen ist, wird Alissa auf der Suche nach ihrem vermissten Bruder und ihrer Identität, auf eine Reise gehen, auf der sie nach Verbindung und Zugehörigkeit sucht.
 
Sasha Marianna Salzmann, geboren 1985 in Wolgograd, Russland, wuchs bis 1995 in Moskau auf. Um dem Antisemitismus eines postsowjetischen Russlands zu entgehen, wanderte die Familie Salzmann nach Deutschland aus. Salzmann studierte Literatur, Theater und Medien an der Universität Hildesheim und Creative Writing für Theater an der Universität der Künste Berlin. Salzmann ist Playwright, Essayist, Curator, und Writer in Residence am Maxim-Gorki-Theater in Berlin. Salzmanns Werke wurden übersetzt, gezeigt und in mehr als 20 Ländern ausgezeichnet. Außer sich ist Salzmanns Debütroman, der in 16 Sprachen übersetzt wurde. Der Roman wurde mit dem Mara-Cassens-Preis und dem Jürgen-Ponto-Preis als bester Debütroman ausgezeichnet. Außerdem kam er in die engere Wahl für den Deutschen Buchpreis 2017, den Premio Strega Europeo 2019 und den Angelus Central European Literature Award 2019.

-----
Diesen Monat könnten die Buchklub-Teilnehmer*innen sich darauf freuen, von Sasha Marianna Salzmann selber zu hören! Brandeis University (CGES) und Goethe-Institut Boston laden zu einem online "Autorengespräch" zwischen Salzmann und Bühnenregisseur​ Guy Ben-Aharon ein, das am 18. Juni um 9:00 Uhr (PDT) stattfindet. Diese Veranstaltung ist kostenlos; eine Anmeldung ist aber nötig, um die digitale Zugangsinformation zu erhalten. 
 

Zurück