Reading Group Online Book Klub: “Irmina”

Online Book Klub: “Irmina” © Jasmin Krakenberg

Thu, 10/15/2020

Online

Read. Talk. Share.

Join our October book club meeting online! Simply send an email to info-seattle@goethe.de  and receive the Zoom access code. Let's keep reading and sharing experiences with the material! ​  

The book club is free and open to everyone interested, but participants must purchase the individual texts themselves and are expected to have read the title to be discussed prior to the meeting.   

Feel free to read this month’s selection in English or its original German; the discussion will be held in English.

About the graphic novel:

Book cover: "Irmina" © SelfMadeHero “In the mid-1930s, Irmina, an ambitious young German, moves to London. At a cocktail party, she meets Howard Green, one of the first black students at Oxford, who, like Irmina, is working towards an independent existence. However, their relationship comes to an abrupt end when Irmina, constrained by the political situation in Hitler's Germany, is forced to return home. As war approaches and her contact with Howard is broken, it becomes clear to Irmina that prosperity will only be possible through the betrayal of her ideals. In the award-winning Irmina, Barbara Yelin presents a troubling drama about the tension between integrity and social advancement, reflecting with compassion and intelligence on the complicity that results from the choice, conscious or otherwise, to look away.”

Barbara Yelin presents a masterpiece with Irmina, a gripping drama about the decision between personal freedom and ambition. Based on a true story, Irmina uses dense and evocative images to show a fractured career that exemplifies the complicity of many who participated in National Socialism—in how they looked away.

About the author:

Barbara Yelin was born in 1977 in Munich and studied illustration at the Hamburg University of Applied Sciences. Her first publication in Germany was Gift, based on a script by Peer Meter. She subsequently published a collection of her Riekes Notizen comic strips, which were originally printed in Germany in the daily newspaper Frankfurter Rundschau. Yelin was a co-publisher of the anthology Spring for many years and gives workshops around the world. In 2015, Irmina won the prize for the Best German Graphic Novel at the PENG! awards. Yelin lives and works in Munich.

Back

Lesegruppe Online Buchklub: „Irmina“

Online Buchklub: „Irmina“ © Jasmin Krakenberg

Do, 15.10.2020

Online

Lesen. Sprechen. Teilen.

Unser Buchclubtreffen im Oktober findet online statt. Sendet einfach eine E-Mail an info-seattle@goethe.de  und wir schicken euch den Zoom-Zugangscode. Lesen und Erfahrungsaustausch gehen weiter!

Der Buchklub ist kostenlos und offen für alle Interessierten. Die jeweiligen Bücher müssen von den Teilnehmenden vorab eigenständig angeschafft werden. Es wird erwartet, dass die ausgewählten Titel vor dem Treffen gelesen werden, damit alle an der Diskussionsrunde teilnehmen können. 

 

Lest das Buch entweder auf Deutsch oder Englisch;  die Diskussion verläuft auf Englisch.

Über die Graphic Novel:

Buchumschlag: „Irmina“ © SelfMadeHero „Die ehrgeizige Irmina reist Mitte der 1930er Jahre nach London, um eine Ausbildung zur Fremdsprachensekretärin zu beginnen. Dort lernt sie Howard aus der Karibik kennen, dem sie sich im Streben nach einem selbstbestimmten Leben verbunden fühlt. Durch den klugen und zielstrebigen Oxfordstudenten beginnt Irmina ihren Blick auf die Welt zu öffnen. Doch findet ihre Beziehung ein jähes Ende, als Irmina, bedrängt durch die politische Situation, nach Berlin zurückkehrt. Im nationalsozialistischen Deutschland steht sie vor der Möglichkeit, den erstrebten Wohlstand endlich zu erlangen, wenn sie dafür die verbrecherische Ideologie des Regimes nicht infrage stellt. Und die politischen Ereignisse eskalieren weiter und weiter…

Mit Irmina legt Barbara Yelin ihr Glanzstück vor: ein packendes Drama um die Entscheidung zwischen persönlicher Freiheit und dem Drang nach gesellschaftlichem Aufstieg. Basierend auf einer wahren Geschichte, erzählt sie in atmosphärisch dichten Bildern einen Werdegang voller Brüche, der aber auch exemplarisch für die Mitschuld durch Wegsehen und Vorteilsnahme vieler im Nationalsozialismus stehen kann.” 

Über die Autorin:

Barbara Yelin wurde 1977 in München geboren und studierte Illustration an der Hochschule für Angewandte Wissenschaften in Hamburg. Ihre erste Veröffentlichung in Deutschland war Gift, basierend auf einem Skript von Peer Meter. Anschließend veröffentlichte sie eine Sammlung ihrer Comics Riekes Notizen, die ursprünglich in der Tageszeitung Frankfurter Rundschau erschienen. Yelin war mehrere Jahre Mitherausgeberin des Sammelbandes Spring und gibt Workshops auf der ganzen Welt. 2015 erhielt Irmina den Besten Deutschen Comic Presi von PENG! Yelin lebt und arbeitet in München.

Zurück