Reading Group Online Book Klub: “Berlin”

Book Klub: “Berlin” © Goethe Pop Up Seattle

Thu, 10/21/2021

7:00 PM - 8:00 PM
PDT

Online

Read. Talk. Share.

Read our book of the month and join us for a discussion online! Simply register via Eventbrite to receive the Zoom access info. Let's keep reading and sharing experiences with the material! ​
 
The book club is free and open to everyone interested, but participants must purchase the individual texts themselves and are expected to have read the title to be discussed prior to the meeting.
  
Feel free to read the October selection in English or German; the discussion will be in English.
 
Registration About the novel:
 
Buchumschlag: Berlin © Drawn and Quarterly During the past two decades, Jason Lutes has quietly created one of the masterworks of the graphic novel golden age. Berlin is one of the high-water marks of the medium: rich in its well-researched historical detail, compassionate in its character studies, and as timely as ever in its depiction of a society slowly awakening to the stranglehold of fascism.

Berlin is an intricate look at the fall of the Weimar Republic through the eyes of its citizens―Marthe Müller, a young woman escaping the memory of a brother killed in World War I, Kurt Severing, an idealistic journalist losing faith in the printed word as fascism and extremism take hold; the Brauns, a family torn apart by poverty and politics. Lutes weaves these characters’ lives into the larger fabric of a city slowly ripping apart.

The city itself is the central protagonist in this historical fiction. Lavish salons, crumbling sidewalks, dusty attics, and train stations: all these places come alive in Lutes’ masterful hand. Weimar Berlin was the world’s metropolis, where intellectualism, creativity, and sensuous liberal values thrived, and Lutes maps its tragic, inevitable decline. Devastatingly relevant and beautifully told, Berlin is one of the great epics of the comics medium.
 
 
About the author:

Jason Lutes was born in New Jersey in 1967 and graduated from the Rhode Island School of Design with a BFA in Illustration in 1991. After graduating he moved to Seattle, where he spent several years working as a dishwasher and assistant art director at Fantagraphics Books. His big break came in 1993, when he began drawing a weekly comics page called "Jar of Fools" for The Stranger, Seattle's alternative paper. By 1995 he had become the paper's art director, and in 1996 he left The Stranger and made the leap to becoming a full-time cartoonist.

Lutes currently lives in Vermont with his partner and two children, where he teaches comics at the Center for Cartoon Studies.

Berlin was critically acclaimed and selected as one of the best books of 2018 by numerous organizations and publications, including The Washington Post, The Guardian, The New York Times, and the New York Public Library.

 

Back

Lesegruppe Online Buchklub: „Berlin“

Buchklub: „Berlin“ © Goethe Pop Up Seattle

Do, 21.10.2021

Online

Lesen. Sprechen. Teilen.

Lesen Sie unser Buch des Monats und nehmen Sie an unserer Diskussion im digitalen Raum teil. Registrieren Sie sich einfach über Eventbrite, um die Zoom-Zugangsdaten zu erhalten. Lesen und Erfahrungsaustausch gehen weiter!
 
Der Buchklub ist kostenlos und offen für alle Interessierten. Die jeweiligen Bücher müssen von den Teilnehmenden vorab eigenständig angeschafft werden. Es wird erwartet, dass die ausgewählten Titel vor dem Treffen gelesen werden, damit alle an der Diskussionsrunde teilnehmen können.
 
Lesen Sie die Auswahl für den Monat Oktober entweder auf Deutsch oder Englisch. Die Diskussion verläuft auf Englisch.
Registrieren
Über den Roman:
 
Buchumschlag: Berlin © Drawn and Quarterly In den letzten zwei Jahrzehnten hat Jason Lutes im Stillen eines der Meisterwerke des goldenen Zeitalters der Graphic Novels geschaffen. Berlin ist einer der Höhepunkte des Mediums: reich an gut recherchierten historischen Details, mitfühlend in seinen Charakterstudien und so aktuell wie eh und je in seiner Darstellung einer Gesellschaft, die langsam aus dem Würgegriff des Faschismus erwacht.
 
Berlin ist ein komplizierter Blick auf den Untergang der Weimarer Republik durch die Augen ihrer Bürger: Marthe Müller, eine junge Frau, die der Erinnerung an ihren im Ersten Weltkrieg gefallenen Bruder entflieht, Kurt Severing, ein idealistischer Journalist, der den Glauben an das gedruckte Wort verliert, als Faschismus und Extremismus um sich greifen; die Brauns, eine Familie, die von Armut und Politik zerrissen wird. Lutes verwebt das Leben dieser Figuren mit dem größeren Gefüge einer Stadt, die langsam auseinanderbricht.
 
Die Stadt selbst ist der zentrale Protagonist in dieser historischen Fiktion. Prunkvolle Salons, bröckelnde Bürgersteige, staubige Dachböden und Bahnhöfe: All diese Orte werden durch Lutes' meisterhafte Hand lebendig. Das Weimarer Berlin war die Weltmetropole, in der Intellektualität, Kreativität und sinnlich-liberale Werte blühten, und Lutes zeichnet ihren tragischen, unausweichlichen Niedergang nach.
 
Über den Autor:
 
Jason Lutes wurde 1967 in New Jersey geboren und schloss 1991 sein Studium an der Rhode Island School of Design mit einem BFA in Illustration ab. Nach seinem Abschluss zog er nach Seattle, wo er mehrere Jahre als Tellerwäscher und Assistent des Art Directors bei Fantagraphics Books arbeitete. Sein großer Durchbruch kam 1993, als er begann, eine wöchentliche Comicseite namens „Jar of Fools“ für The Stranger, Seattles alternative Zeitung, zu zeichnen. Bis 1995 wurde er Art Director der Zeitung, und 1996 verließ er The Stranger und machte den Sprung zum Vollzeit-Comiczeichner.
 
Derzeit lebt Lutes mit seiner Partnerin und zwei Kindern in Vermont, wo er am Center for Cartoon Studies Comics unterrichtet.
 
Berlin wurde von zahlreichen Organisationen und Publikationen, darunter The Washington Post, The Guardian, The New York Times und die New York Public Library, als eines der besten Bücher des Jahres 2018 gefeiert und ausgewählt.
 
 

Zurück