Book Reading Pierre Jarawan: The Storyteller

Pierre Jarawan Photo (detail): © Marvin Ruppert

Mon, 04/15/2019

Goethe Pop Up Houston

1824 Spring Street, Suite 1A
Houston, TX 77007

In partnership with Books First, the Goethe Pop Up Houston welcomes Pierre Jarawan for a reading and discussion of his debut novel The Storyteller.

 
The Storyteller, Pierre Jarawan (2019: World Editions), trans. Sinéad Crowe & Rachel McNicholl [Am Ende bleiben die Zedern, 2016]
 
Book cover <i>The Storyteller  </i> The Storyteller is Pierre Jarawan's first novel. Samir's parents fled Lebanon to Germany shortly before his birth. When his beloved father disappears without a trace, Samir is eight. Now, twenty years later, he sets off for the land of the cedars to solve the mystery of this disappearance. A family story, touching, surprising and masterfully interwoven with the fate of the Middle East. 

Pierre Jarawan is an author, slam poet, stage writer, organizer and presenter from Munich. He was born in 1985 as the son of a Lebanese father and a German mother in Amman, Jordan, after his parents had left Lebanon because of the civil war. Since 2009 he has been one of the most successful stage poets in the German-speaking world.  Pierre Jarawan lives in Munich.

BOOKS FIRST is a new program of the Goethe-Institut to promote contemporary German-language literature in the English-speaking world. A special translation grant and numerous events invite you to discover new literary voices

 

Back

Buchlesung Pierre Jarawan: Am Ende bleiben die Zedern

Pierre Jarawan Foto (Ausschnitt): © Marvin Ruppert

Mo, 15.04.2019

Goethe Pop-Up Houston

1824 Spring Street, Suite 1A
Houston, TX 77007

In Partnerschaft mit Books First begrüßt das Goethe Pop Up Houston Pierre Jarawan für eine Lesung und Diskussion seines Debütroman Am Ende bleiben die Zedern.

 
Buchumschlag <i>The Storyteller  </i> Am Ende bleiben die Zedern, Pierre Jarawan (2016: Berlin Verlag) Übersetzt von Sinéad Crowe & Rachel McNicholl (The Storyteller, 2019)

Am Ende bleiben die Zedern ist Pierre Jarawans erster Roman. Samirs Eltern sind kurz vor dessen Geburt aus dem Libanon nach Deutschland geflohen. Als sein geliebter Vater spurlos verschwindet, ist Samir acht. Jetzt, zwanzig Jahre später, macht er sich auf in das Land der Zedern, um das Rätsel dieses Verschwindens zu lösen. Eine große Familiengeschichte, berührend, überraschend und meisterhaft verwoben mit dem dramatischen Schicksal des Nahen Ostens.

Pierre Jarawan ist Autor, Slam Poet, Bühnenliterat, Veranstalter und Moderator aus München. Er wurde 1985 als Sohn eines libanesischen Vaters und einer deutschen Mutter in Amman, Jordanien, geboren, nachdem seine Eltern den Libanon wegen des Bürgerkriegs verlassen hatten. Seit 2009 zählt er zu den erfolgreichsten Bühnenpoeten im deutschsprachigen Raum. Pierre Jarawan lebt in München. 


BOOKS FIRST ist ein neues Programm des Goethe-Instituts zur Bekanntmachung von aktueller deutschsprachiger Literatur im englischen Sprachraum. Eine spezielle Übersetzungsförderung und zahlreiche Veranstaltungen laden zum Entdecken neuer literarischer Stimmen ein.
 

Zurück