Conference / Panel Discussion Worlds of Homelessness: Day 1

Image: have you ever felt invisible © Goethe-Institut/Loredana La Rocca

Tue, 10/22/2019

SKID ROW MUSEUM & ARCHIVE

250 S. Broadway,
Los Angeles CA 90012

Framing the Issue: Homelessness and its many related themes

Homelessness and housing precarity are a global phenomenon on the rise. Rents and prices for homes are increasing worldwide. The impact of gentrification and the rising cost of living in places that were once considered affordable often push vulnerable communities out of their homes.
 
In a city like Los Angeles, the divide between rich and poor is ever-present. The saying „Homelessness is just a paycheck away“ is often used to describe just how close to eviction many people are, should they lose just one month’s income. Universities are trying to find strategies to assist those students who are able to pay their tuition but cannot afford stable housing. Meanwhile, the artists, activists and long-term residents of Skid Row community are striving to sustain, preserve and expand the low-cost housing and resources in the neighborhood that help people living in poverty.
 
In cities like Berlin, anti-gentrification experts are demanding much more drastic rent control, with some calling for the expropriation of apartments and houses that are not used by their owners. Other parts of the world are seeing a change in the perception of informal settlements as large communities call them their homes.
 
How are the issues of homelessness and housing precarity spoken about and addressed in different communities, cities, countries, or parts of the world? How can we understand and examine the interconnectivity and linkages between homelessness and its many related themes such as rich and poor, participation, inequality, gentrification, racism, and migration? Is housing a human right that demands stronger policies by policymakers? How can the knowledge and needs of communities become important drivers for change?
 
Discussion participants include: Ananya Roy is director of the Institute on Inequality and Democracy at UCLA Luskin, home to the Housing Justice in #Unequal Cities Network, a global research endeavor at the intersection of scholarship and the politics of housing; Michele Lancione from the University of Sheffield, who has researched in Eastern Europe and started the Radical Housing Journal; Crushow Herring, aka Showzart, is a virtuoso artist who works from the streets of Skid Row; and Barbara Schönig from the Bauhaus University in Weimar, who has researched affordable housing in Germany.


WORLDS OF HOMELESSNESS: Day 1

5:30 PM
Opening Remarks: Goethe-Institut and LA Poverty Department

6:00 - 9:00 PM Discussion: Framing the issue
                                             
                                             
                                              Ananya Roy, Los Angeles, UCLA

                                              Michele Lancione, Sheffield, UK 

                                              Crushow Herring, Los Angeles, USA

                                              Barbara Schönig, Weimar, Germany 

                                              Moderator: Catherine Wagley,
                                                                  Los Angeles, USA
 
9:00 PM Reception & Music Performance by The LA Playmakers.

           

Ananya Roy is Professor of Urban Planning, Social Welfare and Geography and inaugural Director of the Institute on Inequality and Democracy at UCLA Luskin. She holds The Meyer and Renee Luskin Chair in Inequality and Democracy. Ananya’s research and scholarship has a determined focus on poverty and inequality and seeks to build power for marginalized communities. Her current research is concerned with racial banishment, or the expulsion of working-class communities from cities such as Los Angeles to the far peripheries of urban life. Ananya is the recipient of several awards including the Paul Davidoff Award, which recognizes scholarship that advances social justice, for her 2010 book, "Poverty Capital: Microfinance and the Making of Development." Ananya currently leads a global research network on Housing Justice in Unequal Cities funded by the National Science Foundation.
 
Michele Lancione is an urban ethnographer and activist interested in issues of marginality and diversity, homelessness, and radical politics. His works have been published in top international journals in the field of Urban Geography, Housing Studies and Anthropology. His first edited volume is entitled “Rethinking Life at the Margins”, while his non-academic works include a collaborative documentary around forced evictions in Bucharest, Romania. Michele is also one of the founders and editors of the open-source Radical Housing Journal, an Editor of City, and Corresponding Editor for Europe at IJURR. He is based at the Urban Institute and the Department of Urban Studies and Planning, University of Sheffield, UK.
 
Crushow Herring, aka Showzart, is a virtuoso artist born in Kansas City, MO, where he first attributes his passion for community and making a difference to his mother, Sherita J. Herring of the Kreative Images Foundation; in which she instilled early in his life that it’s important to inspire and support others. Secondly, he credits his father (Gerrie E. Herring, also an artist), with his illustrative abilities; where as early as he can remember, Crushow sat next to him, absorbing everything he could from his unique artistic talents. Actively working from the streets of Skid Row in Downtown LA, to sitting in the board rooms of City Hall, Crushow has consistently been instrumental in fighting for equal rights for everyone, and creating programs and services that aid not only the disenfranchised, but creates opportunities for all races, religions, and nationalities. As he continuously forms collaborations with fellow artists to make a difference, his constant objective for community empowerment is to not focus on the negative, but through provocative artists, he is fixated on bringing awareness, and celebrating insurmountable accomplishments; while proactively conveying consciousness to stimulate positive action for collaborative change.

Barbara Schönig studied Urban Planning, German Literature and History of Arts in Berlin and Columbus, Ohio. In her Ph.D., she focused on Metropolitan Planning and Civil Society in the United States. Before becoming a professor for Urban Planning at Bauhaus-Universität Weimar in 2012, she taught at Technical University Berlin and Technical University Darmstadt. She is Director of the Institute for European Urban Studies and the Vice Dean of the Department for Architecture and Urbanism at Bauhaus-Universität Weimar.  Her research focuses on critical studies of planning and its role within processes and practices of space production. Fields of research include interdisciplinary housing research, social housing, and participation in urban development as well as processes of spatial restructuring of urban, suburban, and rural areas.

Catherine Wagley is an art critic and journalist based in Los Angeles. She is a contributing editor for the art journal Momus and Contemporary Art Review Los Angeles (CARLA). She served as an art critic for the LA Weekly from 2011-2017, and contributes to artnet News, ARTNews, Hyperallergic, the LA Times and The LAnd, among other publications. She is a recent recipient of the Rabkin Prize for art journalism. Her current work often focuses on issues of obscurity: how do we pull stories from the margins of different art worlds without forcing them to fit the mainstream narratives we already know how to tell? Additionally, her reporting in Los Angeles frequently explores the relationships between the art world, gentrification, and urban geography.

The LA Playmakers were founded 5 years ago by Joseph Warren and Stan Watson. They all were members of the Praise and Worship Team at Skid Row’s Central City Church of the Nazarene. The accomplished professional musicians have played with a number of well-known jazz and pop music figures. They embody the creative spirit that persists in the Skid Row Community. The LA Playmakers will open Worlds of Homelessness and close the Festival for All Skid Row Artists.




 

Back

Konferenz / Panel Diskussion Worlds of Homelessness: 1. Tag

BILD: have you ever felt invisible © Goethe-Institut/Loredana La Rocca

Di, 22.10.2019

17:30 - 23:00

Skid Row History Museum & Archive

Formulierung des Themas: Obdachlosigkeit und seine verwandten Themen

Obdachlosigkeit und Wohnungsnot sind globale Phänomene, die immer weiter um sich greifen. Mieten und Kaufpreise für Wohnraum steigen weltweit. Die Auswirkung der Gentrifizierung und die zunehmenden Lebenshaltungskosten an Orten, die früher als erschwinglich galten, vertreiben oft gefährdete Bevölkerungsgruppen aus ihrem Zuhause.
 
In einer Stadt wie Los Angeles ist die Kluft zwischen Arm und Reich allgegenwärtig. Das Image von Hollywood-Glamour und Millionärsdichte steht in starkem Gegensatz zu den geschätzten 60.000 obdachlosen Menschen, die in Los Angeles County leben. Laut Experten könnte die tatsächliche Zahl noch viel höher sein. Der Ausdruck „nur einen Gehaltsscheck von der Obdachlosigkeit entfernt“ wird häufig verwendet, um zu beschreiben, wie nahe viele Menschen der Zwangsräumung sind, wenn sie nur einen Monat kein Gehalt bekommen. Universitäten sind auf der Suche nach Strategien, um Studenten, die zwar die Studiengebühren entrichten, aber keine feste Bleibe haben, zu helfen. Gleichzeitig versuchen Künstler, Aktivisten und Residenten von Skid Row, einem der größten Obdachlosenviertel in Los Angeles und den gesamten USA mit einer geschätzten Bevölkerungsanzahl von 8.000 – 12.000 Bewohnern, billige Unterkünfte und Ressourcen für das Viertel zu erhalten und verbessern. 
 
In Städten wie Berlin fordern Gentrifizierungsgegner eine drastischere Mietpreisbremse, einige sogar die Zwangsenteignung von Besitzern, die ihr Wohneigentum nicht selbst nutzen. In anderen Teilen der Welt verändert sich die Sicht auf informelle Siedlungen, in denen große Bevölkerungsgruppen beheimatet sind.
 
Wie werden die Themen der Obdachlosigkeit und Wohnungsnot in verschiedenen Gemeinden, Städten, Ländern oder Teilen der Erde diskutiert und adressiert? Wie können wir die Verbindungen und Zusammenhänge zwischen Obdachlosigkeit und den zahlreichen, damit verwandten Themen wie Arm und Reich, Partizipation, Ungleichheit, Gentrifizierung, Rassismus und Migration verstehen und ergründen? Ist das Recht auf Wohnen ein Menschenrecht, das von der Politik stärker unterstützt werden muss? Wie können das Wissen und die Bedürfnisse der betroffenen Gemeinschaften zu wichtigen Triebkräften für einen Wandel werden?
 
Ananya Roy ist Leiterin des Institute on Inequality and Democracy at UCLA Luskin, wo das Housing Justice in #Unequal Cities Network, ein weltweites Forschungsprojekt an der Schnittstelle von Wissenschaft und Wohnungspolitik, verankert ist. Michele Lancione von der University of Sheffield forscht in Osteuropa und gründete das Radical Housing Journal. Crushow Herring, auch als Showzart bekannt, ist ein virtuoser Künstler, der auf den Straßen von Skid Row arbietet. Barbara Schönig von der Bauhaus-Universität Weimar beschäftigt sich mit dem Thema des bezahlbaren Wohnraums in Deutschland.

WORLDS OF HOMELESSNESS: 1. Tag

17.30 Uhr  Einführung: Goethe-Institut and LA Poverty Department

18.00 - 21.00 Uhr Eröffnung: Formulierung des Themas

                                                                                    
                                                Ananya Roy, Los Angeles, USA

                                                Michele Lancione, Sheffield, UK 

                                                Crushow Herring, Los Angeles, USA 

                                                Barbara Schönig, Weimar, Deutschland

                                                Moderatorin: Catherine Wagley,
                                                                       Los Angeles, USA
 
21.00 Uhr Empfang & Music Performance von The LA Playmakers.


Ananya Roy
ist Professorin für Stadtplanung, Sozialfürsorge und Geografie sowie Direktorin des Institute on Inequality and Democracy an der UCLA Luskin School of Public Affairs. Sie ist Inhaberin des Meyer and Renee Luskin Lehrstuhls für Ungleichheit und Demokratie. In ihrer Forschung konzentriert sie sich zielstrebig auf die Themen der Armut und Ungleichheit und versucht, soziale Randgruppen zu stärken. Ihre derzeitige Arbeit beschäftigt sich mit ethnisch motivierter Vertreibung oder der Verdrängung der Arbeiterklasse aus Städten wie Los Angeles in die entlegenen Randgebiete des städtischen Lebens. Sie wurde mehrfach ausgezeichnet, u.a. für ihr 2010 erschienenes Buch „Poverty Capital: Microfinance and the Making of Development“ mit dem Paul Davidoff Award, der Forschungsarbeit zur Förderung sozialer Gerechtigkeit würdigt. Derzeit leitet sie das von der National Science Foundation geförderte globale Forschungsnetzwerk Housing Justice in Unequal Cities.

Michele Lancione beschäftigt sich mit Stadtethnografie, ist Aktivist und interessiert sich für Themen der Marginalität und Diversität, Obdachlosigkeit und radikalen Politik. Seine Arbeiten sind in führenden internationalen Zeitschriften über Stadtgeografie, Wohnungswesen und Anthropologie veröffentlicht worden. Sein erster Sammelband trägt den Titel „Rethinking Life at the Margins“. Zu nicht-akademischen Werken gehört eine Gemeinschaftsdokumentation über Zwangsräumungen im rumänischen Bukarest (www.ainceputploaia.com). Zudem ist Lancione einer der Gründer und Herausgeber des Radical Housing Journal sowie Editor of City und Corresponding Editor for Europe des International Journal of Urban and Regional Research (IJURR). Er ist am Urban Institute und dem Department of Urban Studies and Planning der University of Sheffield (GB) tätig.

Crushow Herring, auch als Showzart bekannt, wurde in Kansas City, Missouri, geboren. Der virtuose Künstler schreibt seine Passion für gemeinschaftliches Engagement und sein Bestreben danach etwas zu bewegen seiner Mutter, Sherita J. Herring, zu. Sie war Teil der Kreative Images Foundation und vermittelte ihm bereits in jungen Jahren die Wichtigkeit von Inspiration und Unterstützung anderer. Weiterhin führt er Teil seiner illustrativen Fähigkeiten auf seinen Vater, Gerrie E. Herring, zurück, der ebenfalls Künstler war. So lange er sich zurückerinnern kann, saß Crushow neben ihm und prägte sich so viel wie möglich von dem einzigartigen Talent seines Vaters ein.  Ob durch seine aktive Arbeit auf den Straßen von Skid Row, oder in den Räumlichkeiten des Rathauses, Crushow ist stets essentieller Bestandteil des Kampfes um Gleichberechtigung und in der Entwicklung von Programmen und Dienstleistungen, die nicht nur den Entrechteten dienen, sondern darüber hinaus Möglichkeiten für Menschen jeglicher Herkunft eröffnen.

Barbara Schönig, Prof. Dr.-Ing., studierte Stadt- und Regionalplanung, Neuere deutsche Literatur und Kunstgeschichte in Berlin und Columbus, Ohio. In ihrer Dissertation konzentrierte sie sich auf Zivilgesellschaft und stadtregionale Planung in den USA. Bevor sie 2012 Professorin für Stadtplanung an der Bauhaus-Universität Weimar wurde, lehrte sie an der Technischen Universität Berlin und an der Technischen Universität Darmstadt. Sie ist Direktorin des Institutes für Europäische Urbanistik und Prodekanin der Fakultät Architektur und Urbanistik an der Bauhaus-Universität Weimar. Ihre Forschung kreist um die kritische Betrachtung der Planung und deren Rolle innerhalb von Prozessen und Praktiken der Raumgewinnung. Zu Forschungsfeldern gehören interdisziplinäre Wohnraumforschung, sozialer Wohnungsbau, Teilhabe an der Stadtentwicklung sowie Prozesse der räumlichen Umgestaltung städtischer, vorstädtischer und ländlicher Regionen.

Catherine Wagley ist Kunstkritikerin und Journalistin in Los Angeles. Sie ist freie Redakteurin für die Kunstmagazine Momus und Contemporary Art Review Los Angeles (CARLA). Von 2011 bis 2017 war sie als Kunstkritikerin für LA Weekly tätig, und sie schreibt u.a. für artnet News, ARTNews, Hyperallergic, die LA Times und The LAnd. Vor kurzem erhielt sie den Rabkin Prize für Kunstjournalismus. Ihre aktuellen Arbeiten kreisen oft um das Thema des Unbekannten: Wie entlocken wir den Randbereichen verschiedener Kunstwelten Geschichten, ohne sie in gängige Narrative zu zwingen, von denen wir bereits wissen, wie wir sie erzählen müssen? Zudem erkundet sie in ihren Berichten über Los Angeles häufig die Beziehung zwischen Kunst, Gentrifizierung und Stadtgeografie.

Die LA Playmakers wurden 2014 von Joseph Warren und Stan Watson gegründet. Sie alle waren Mitglieder der Central City Church of the Nazarene in Skid Row. Die versierten Profimusiker haben mit einer Reihe bekannter Jazz- und Popmusiker gespielt. Sie verkörpern den kreativen Geist, der in der Skid Row Community fortbesteht. Die LA Playmakers werden die Veranstaltungsreihe Worlds Of Homelessness eröffnen und das Festival für alle Skid Row-Künstler schließen.

           

 

Zurück