Worlds of Homelessness: Day 4

Image: have you ever felt invisible © Goethe-Institut/Loredana La Rocca

Fri, 10/25/2019

SKID ROW MUSEUM & ARCHIVE

250 S. Broadway,
Los Angeles CA 90012

Knowledge Production and Ways Forward

Homelessness is approached differently in various disciplines and among different countries. How is knowledge about homelessness generated? Can we compare homelessness and housing precarity in Germany and the US? How do issues around homelessness connect to informal settlements in the global South? How do we collect data, and how is this data used? How can the knowledge and needs of communities themselves become important drivers for knowledge production and ways forward?

Jutta Allmendinger from Berlin, Germany, is president of the WZB Berlin Social Science Center and one of the first Thomas Mann House residents who researched homelessness, in particularly working homeless in Los Angeles, continuing her research in Germany.  Hilary Silver, currently professor and chair of the Department of Sociology at the Columbian College of Arts and Sciences, has researched homelessness in the United States amongst many other related issues. Cristina Cielo has worked with informal settlements in Ecuador as well as questions regarding homelessness in the Philippines. Charles Porter is a member of the United Coalition East Prevention Project (UCEPP) and a community activist in Skid Row.
 

WORLDS OF HOMELESSNESS: Day 4

3:00 – 6:00 PM Discussion: Knowledge Production and ways forward

Opening Remarks: Goethe-Institut and LA Poverty Department 
                                           
                                 Jutta Allmendinger, Berlin, Germany

                                 Hilary Silver, Washington D.C., USA

                                 Cristina Cielo, Quito, Ecuador

                                 Charles Porter, Los Angeles, USA

                                Moderator: Catherine Wagley,
                                                    Los Angeles, USA 

6:00 – 7:00 PM Reception

7:00 PM Film Screening “The Advocates” by Remi Kessler.
                                          Q&A with filmmaker and guests.




Jutta Allmendinger is President of the Berlin Social Science Center (WZB) and Professor of Sociology in Education and Labor Market Research at Humboldt Universität Berlin since 2007. In addition, she has served as Honorary Professor of Sociology at Freie Universität Berlin since 2012. Jutta Allmendinger studied sociology and social psychology in Mannheim and Madison, Wisconsin, earned her Ph.D. at Harvard University and her habilitation degree at Ludwig Maximilian University (LMU) in Munich. From 1992 to 2007, she was a professor there. Her multiple honors and awards include the German Federal Cross of Merit First Class. Jutta Allmendinger serves on numerous advisory boards in Germany and abroad. She has been a member of the Goethe Institute since 2014. In 2018, she spent four months at Thomas-Mann-Haus in Los Angeles as one of the first Thomas-Mann-Fellows, appointed by the German Federal Foreign Office.
 
Hilary Silver is Chair and Professor of Sociology, International Affairs, and Public Policy at the George Washington University, and Professor Emerita of Urban Studies and Sociology at Brown University where she rose through the ranks since receiving her Ph.D. from Columbia University.  She was Editor of the urban sociological journal, City & Community, and a consultant to the World Bank, ILO, United Nations, and other international organizations on issues of social exclusion, poverty, and inequality around the world.  She was twice a Fulbright Scholar in Germany and among the first fellows of the Hanse Institute for Advanced Study in Bremen.  She has visited at the Humboldt Universität and Freie Universität, and WZB in Germany among many other think tanks and universities and has received support from DAAD.  Her film "Direction Home" (2015) follows seven Rhode Islanders experiencing homelessness over seven years until they all have secured housing.

Cristina Cielo teaches in the Sociology and Gender Studies Department of the Latin American Faculty for Social Sciences in Quito, Ecuador. In her classes and research, she seeks to understand the ways that global economic structures, from histories of development to contemporary commodity flows, are experienced in our daily lives, especially as seen in the ways we organize ourselves with those around us, as well as how we learn to care, or not care, for each other. She has worked on what property and legality mean for marginalized populations in Latin America and the Philippines and is particularly interested in the subjective and political dimensions of economic inequalities. Hopeful that we might work together to shift the structures that shape our lives, she seeks to integrate translocal comparisons and participatory research as a means to bring diverse forms of knowledge and people together. She is currently working on the book "Diverse Commons: Property, Water and Politics in the Urban Andes."

Charles Porter is the Prevention Coordinator for United Coalition East Prevention Project, a program of Social Model Recovery Systems. Porter has worked in the prevention field for more than 20 years with an emphasis on community engagement to address a range of alcohol, tobacco, and other drug-related concerns.  He incorporates culturally appropriate interventions and has worked with youth, adults, and older adults.  He has contributed to numerous prevention and neighborhood improvement initiatives in the Skid Row area of Los Angeles, where his current work is focused.  His efforts are also focused on expanding neighborhood wellness and safety by connecting grassroots vision/approaches to needed resources.

Catherine Wagley is an art critic and journalist based in Los Angeles. She is a contributing editor for the art journal Momus and Contemporary Art Review Los Angeles (CARLA). She served as an art critic for the LA Weekly from 2011-2017, and contributes to artnet News, ARTNews, Hyperallergic, the LA Times and The LAnd, among other publications. She is a recent recipient of the Rabkin Prize for art journalism. Her current work often focuses on issues of obscurity: how do we pull stories from the margins of different art worlds without forcing them to fit the mainstream narratives we already know how to tell? Additionally, her reporting in Los Angeles frequently explores the relationships between the art world, gentrification, and urban geography.


 

Back

Worlds of Homelessness: 4. Tag

BILD: have you ever felt invisible © Goethe-Institut/Loredana La Rocca

Fr, 25.10.2019

15:00 - 21:30

Skid Row History Museum & Archive

Wissensproduktion und neue Wege

Dem Thema Obdachlosigkeit wird sich in verschiedenen Fachrichtungen und auch  verschiedenen Ländern unterschiedlich angenähert. Wie wird Wissen über Obdachlosigkeit generiert? Sind Obdachlosigkeit und Wohnungsnot in Deutschland und den USA vergleichbar? In welchem Zusammenhang stehen Aspekte der Obdachlosigkeit mit informellen Siedlungen im globalen Süden? Wie werden Daten erhoben und wie verwertet? Wie können das Wissen und die Bedürfnisse der betroffenen Bevölkerungsgruppen zu wichtigen Katalysatoren für die Wissensproduktion und Lösungswege werden?

Jutta Allmendinger aus Berlin ist Präsidentin des Wissenschaftszentrums Berlin für Sozialforschung und eine der ersten Stipendiatinnen des Thomas Mann House in den USA, die sich während ihres Aufenthaltes mit dem Thema Obdachlosigkeit auseinandersetzte, mit einem Schwerpunkt auf berufstätigen Obdachlosen in Los Angeles. Sie führt ihre Forschungsarbeit in Deutschland fort. Hilary Silver ist derzeit Professorin und Lehrstuhlinhaberin der Fakultät für Soziologie des Columbian College of Arts and Sciences. Neben zahlreichen verwandten Themen erforscht sie Obdachlosigkeit in den Vereinigten Staaten. Cristina Cielo befasst sich mit informellen Siedlungen in Ecuador sowie Aspekten der Obdachlosigkeit auf den Philippinen. Charles Porter ist Mitarbeiter des United Coalition East Prevention Project (UCEPP) und Aktivist in Skid Row.
 

WORLDS OF HOMELESSNESS: 4. Tag

15.00 - 18.00 Uhr Diskussion: Wissensproduktion und neue Wege

Einführung: Goethe-Institut und LA Poverty Department 
                                           
                      Jutta Allmendinger, Berlin, Deutschland

                      Hilary Silver, Washington D.C., USA

                      Cristina Cielo, Quito, Ecuador

                      Charles Porter, Los Angeles, USA

                      Moderatorin: Catherine Wagley, 
                                             Los Angeles, USA 

18.00 - 19.00 Uhr Empfang

19.00 Uhr Film “The Advocates” von Remi Kessler mit Q&A.



Jutta Allmendinger ist seit 2007 Präsidentin des Wissenschaftszentrums Berlin für Sozialforschung (WZB) und Professorin für Bildungssoziologie und Arbeitsmarktforschung an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. Zudem ist sie seit 2012 Honorarprofessorin für Soziologie an der Freien Universität Berlin. Allmendinger studierte Soziologie und Sozialpsychologie an der Universität Mannheim und der University of Wisconsin-Madison und promovierte an der Harvard University. Sie habilitierte sich an der Freien Universität Berlin und hatte von 1992 bis 2007 eine Professur an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität (LMU) in München inne. Zu ihren zahlreichen Ehrungen und Auszeichnungen gehört das Bundesverdienstkreuz erster Klasse. Allmendinger ist in vielen Beiräten im In- und Ausland tätig. Seit 2014 ist sie Mitglied des Goethe-Instituts. 2018 verbrachte sie vier Monate am Thomas Mann House in Los Angeles und wurde als eine der ersten Stipendiatinnen vom Kuratorium des Villa Aurora & Thomas Mann House e.V. nominiert.
 
Hilary Silver hat den Lehrstuhl und die Professur für Soziologie, Internationale Angelegenheiten und Staatstätigkeit an der George Washington University in Washington, D.C. inne. Zudem ist sie emeritierte Professorin für Stadtforschung und Soziologie an der Brown University in Providence, Rhode Island, wo sie nach ihrer Promotion an der Columbia University ihre wissenschaftliche Karriere antrat. Sie war Herausgeberin der Stadtsoziologie-Zeitschrift „City & Community“, Beraterin der Weltbank, der Internationalen Arbeitsorganisation IAO, der Vereinten Nationen sowie weiterer internationaler Organisationen bei weltweiten Fragen der sozialen Exklusion, Armut und Ungleichheit. Sie war zweimal Fulbright-Stipendiatin in Deutschland und unter den ersten Stipendiatinnen des Hanse-Wissenschaftskollegs in Delmenhorst. Neben vielen anderen Think-Tanks und Universitäten war sie an der Humboldt-Universität und Freien Universität Berlin sowie am Wissenschaftszentrum Berlin für Sozialforschung (WZB) zu Gast und wurde vom DAAD unterstützt. Ihr Film „Direction Home“ (2015) folgt sieben Menschen in Rhode Island, die sieben Jahre lang obdachlos waren, bevor sie alle eine feste Unterkunft fanden.

Cristina Cielo lehrt am Institut für Soziologie und Geschlechterforschung der Lateinamerikanischen Fakultät für Sozialwissenschaften (FLACSO) in Quito, Ecuador. In ihrer Lehre und Forschung setzt sie sich damit auseinander, wie wir globale ökonomische Strukturen, von geschichtlichen Entwicklungen bis zu heutigen Warenströmen, in unserem Alltagsleben erfahren, vor allem in Hinblick darauf, wie wir den Menschen in unserem Umfeld begegnen und wie wir lernen, füreinander zu sorgen oder nicht zu sorgen. Sie hat darüber geforscht, was Eigentum und Legalität für soziale Randgruppen in Lateinamerika und auf den Philippinen bedeuten und interessiert sich insbesondere für die subjektiven und politischen Dimensionen wirtschaftlicher Ungleichheit. In der Hoffnung, dass sich durch gemeinsame Anstrengungen ein Wandel der Strukturen erreichen lässt, die unser Leben formen, will sie translokale Vergleiche und partizipative Forschung als Mittel einsetzen, um verschiedene Wissensformen und Menschen zusammenzubringen. Derzeit arbeitet sie an dem Buch "Diverse Commons: Property, Water and Politics in the Urban Andes".

Charles Porter ist der Präventions Koordinator des United Coalition East Prevention Projects, einem Programm der Social Model Recovery Systems. In seiner mehr als 20-jährigen Laufbahn in der Präventionsarbeit  war er besonders im Bereich zur Förderung des gemeinschaftlichen Engagements tätig und nutzt dieses um drogenbezogene Problemstellungen zu adressieren. Er organisiert kulturell sensibilisierte Interventionen und hat bereits mit Menschen aller Generationen zusammengearbeitet. Porter hat in zahlreichen Präventionsprogrammen als auch Nachbarschaftsinitiativen zur Verbesserung der Lebenssituation in seinem neuen Arbeitsumfeld Skid Row, Los Angeles, mitgewirkt. Sein Einsatz zielt weiterhin darauf ab, durch die Verknüpfung von basisnahen Herangehensweisen mit erforderlichen Ressourcen, nachbarschaftliches Wohlbefinden und Sicherheit auszubauen.                  

Catherine Wagley ist Kunstkritikerin und Journalistin in Los Angeles. Sie ist freie Redakteurin für die Kunstmagazine Momus und Contemporary Art Review Los Angeles (CARLA). Von 2011 bis 2017 war sie als Kunstkritikerin für LA Weekly tätig, und sie schreibt u.a. für artnet News, ARTNews, Hyperallergic, die LA Times und The LAnd. Kürzlich erhielt sie den Rabkin Prize für Kunstjournalismus. Ihre aktuellen Arbeiten kreisen oft um das Thema des Unbekannten: Wie entlocken wir den Randbereichen verschiedener Kunstwelten Geschichten, ohne sie in gängige Narrative zu zwingen, von denen wir bereits wissen, wie wir sie erzählen müssen. Zudem erkundet sie in ihren Berichten über Los Angeles häufig die Beziehung zwischen Kunst, Gentrifizierung und Stadtgeografie.

 

Zurück