Worlds of Homelessness

Image: have you ever felt invisible © Goethe-Institut/Loredana La Rocca

In Los Angeles, where the phrase „Homelessness is just a paycheck away“ is all too well known, the divide between the „haves and have-nots“ is ever-present. While the city is best known for its Hollywood image, it is estimated that 60,000 individuals experience homelessness in LA County on any given night.  Among these are also students and working-class individuals, who have to live in their cars because they cannot afford to pay rent.

Worlds of Homelessness is a project of the Goethe-Institut that offers an interdisciplinary engagement with the issue of homelessness and its many related themes such as the gap between rich and poor, participation, inequality, gentrification, racism, and migration. Worlds of Homelessness brings together local and international artists, architects, scholars, and others to create a platform to share ideas, thoughts and to present their work, as well as examining the wide range of strategies being employed to engage with the many questions and challenges surrounding the issue. 

The project is developed in cooperation with the Los Angeles Poverty Department, which has created art with and promoted the activism of Skid Row Artists for decades; the Thomas Mann House, the renowned and independent architecture school SCI-Arc, the Institute on Inequality and Democracy at UCLA Luskin and NAVEL, a collectively driven cultural organization.

The event series including discussions, music performances, and film screenings takes place from October 22 – 27, 2019 in Los Angeles at the Skid Row History Museum and Archive, NAVEL, and SCI-Arc, and culminates with the Los Angeles Poverty Department's 10th Annual Festival for All Skid Row Artists on October 26 – 27, 2019 in Gladys Park, Skid Row. 


WOH PARTNER LOGOS © Goethe-Institut

Worlds of Homelessness

BILD: have you ever felt invisible © Goethe-Institut/Loredana La Rocca

Die Schere zwischen Arm und Reich ist in Los Angeles allgegenwärtig. Während die Stadt meist durch Hollywoodstars bekannt ist, leben in LA County geschätzte 60.000 obdachlose Menschen. „Homelessness is just a paycheck away“ ist eine bekannte Floskel der Stadt, in der teilweise Studenten und arbeitende Menschen in ihren Autos leben, weil sie die Mieten nicht zahlen können. 

Worlds of Homelessness ist ein Projekt des Goethe-Instituts, das eine zweijährige interdisziplinäre Auseinandersetzung mit dem Thema Obdachlosigkeit als Ausdruck weiterer gesellschaftlicher Fragestellungen wie Arm-Reich, Partizipation, Ungleichheit, Gentrifizierung, Rassismus und Migration umfasst. Worlds of Homelessness bringt lokale und internationale Künstler, Architekten, Akademiker und andere Persönlichkeiten zusammen, um Ideen, Gedanken und ihre Arbeit zu dem Thema auszutauschen und neue Auseinandersetzungen mit den Fragestellungen und Herausforderungen zu schaffen.

Das Projekt wird in Zusammenarbeit mit dem LA Poverty Department, die seit Jahrzehnten mit obdachlosen Künstlern in Skid Row arbeiten, dem Thomas Mann Haus, der Architekturschule SCI-Arc, dem Institute on Inequality and Democracy at UCLA Luskin und NAVEL, einer kollektiven Kulturorganisation durchgeführt. 

Die Veranstaltungsreihe beinhaltet Diskussionen, Musik und Filmvorführungen und findet vom 22. – 27. Oktober 2019 in Los Angeles im Skid Row History Museum and Archive, NAVEL und Sci-Arc statt und endet mit dem Los Angeles Poverty Department’s 10. Festival for All Skid Row Artists vom 26. – 27. Oktober 2019 in Gladys Park, Skid Row.


WOH Partnern Logos © Goethe-Institut