Film/Discussion Worlds of Homelessness:
The Advocates

Claudia-LA on Cloud 9 © Cinema Libre Studios

Fri, 10/25/2019

SKID ROW MUSEUM & ARCHIVE

250 S. Broadway,
Los Angeles CA 90012

Presented as part of WORLDS OF HOMELESSNESS Day 4

USA, 2018, 108 minutes.  In English.
Director/Producer: Remi Kessler,  Editor/Producer: Robert McFalls, Executive Producer: Caroline Schweich, Cinematographer/Co-Producer: Beth Cloutier, Co-Producer: Linda Ethenin-Girard, Music Composer: Omar Fadel


Over half a million people are homeless in the United States - 25% of whom are in California. Amid public outcry over the ballooning homeless population in Los Angeles--nearly 54,000 people on any given night--three advocates with three different organizations show what the lost ideal of “care in the community” looks like amid a changing policy landscape. Intensely human and humanizing, "The Advocates" provides a sweeping look at the historic and current causes of LA’s unprecedented crises, largely due to defunded affordable housing. It goes behind the headlines with pragmatic stories of the transformative work that is possible when the right resources, funding, and compassion are applied.
 
Featuring advocates Claudia Perez, Rudy Salinas, and Mel Tillekeratne, and the organizational work of LA on Cloud9, Housing Works, and Monday Night Mission with experts including: Celina Alvarez (Executive Director, Housing Works), Gary Blasi (UCLA, Professor of Law Emeritus), Jerry Jones (Inner City Law Center), Mary Kirchen (Founder, Housing Works), Steve Lopez (Columnist, LA Times), Alisa Orduna (Homeless Policy Director, Mayor Garcetti’s Office), Mark Ridley-Thomas (LA County Supervisor 2nd District), David Ryu (LA City Councilmember CD4), and Paul Tepper (Western Center on Law & Poverty).

Rémi Kessler has produced numerous commercials, feature films, music videos, television series, corporate films and documentaries throughout the world, with artists including DJ David Guetta, and iconic fashion designer Ozwald Boateng. Over the last decade, Rémi has produced several documentaries, including THE WONDERFUL HISTORY OF THE HOLLYWOOD STUDIOS, and for the 100th anniversary of Orson Welles’ birth, SHADOWS AND LIGHTS that opened the classic section of Cannes Film Festival in 2015.

(source: Cinema Libre Studio)


 

Back

Film/Diskussion Worlds of Homelessness:
The Advocates

Claudia-LA on Cloud 9 © Cinema Libre Studios

Fr, 25.10.2019

19:00 - 21:30

Skid Row History Museum & Archive

Präsentiert im Kontext WORLDS OF HOMELESSNESS 4. Tag

USA, 2018, 108 Minuten.  auf Englisch.
Regie/Produzent: Remi Kessler,  Schnitt/Produzent: Robert McFalls, Executive Producer: Caroline Schweich, Kamera/Co-Produzent: Beth Cloutier, Co-Produzent: Linda Ethenin-Girard, Music: Omar Fadel


Über eine halbe Million Menschen sind obdachlos in den USA – davon allein 25 Prozent in Kalifornien. Inmitten der öffentlich geführten Debatte über die explodierende Anzahl von Obdachlosen in  Los Angeles – nahezu 54000 Menschen betrifft es dort jede Nacht –, zeigen drei Anwälte von drei verschiedenen Organisationen auf, wie sich das verlorene Ideal der „Community Care“, der Einbindung in das Gemeinwesen, auf eine im Wandel befindliche politische Landschaft auswirkt. THE ADVOCATES (Die Anwälte) ist ein zutiefst humaner und humanisierender Film und zeichnet ein eindrucksvolles Bild von den historischen und modernen Ursachen der beispiellosen Krise in Los Angeles, die vor allem auf den Rückgang an bezahlbarem Wohnraum zurückzuführen ist. Mit pragmatischen Geschichten, die über die Schlagzeilen hinausgehen, berichtet der Film über Veränderungen, die sich durch die richtigen Ressourcen, Geldmittel und durch Mitgefühl bewirken lassen.

 
Mit den "advocates" Claudia Perez, Rudy Salinas, und Mel Tillekeratne, sowie die Organisationen LA on Cloud9, Housing Works, and Monday Night Mission und Experten: Celina Alvarez (Executive Director, Housing Works), Gary Blasi (UCLA, Professor of Law Emeritus), Jerry Jones (Inner City Law Center), Mary Kirchen (Founder, Housing Works), Steve Lopez (Columnist, LA Times), Alisa Orduna (Homeless Policy Director, Mayor Garcetti’s Office), Mark Ridley-Thomas (LA County Supervisor 2nd District), David Ryu (LA City Councilmember CD4) und Paul Tepper (Western Center on Law & Poverty).

Rémi Kessler hat weltweit zahlreiche Werbefilme, Spielfilme, Musikvideos, Fernsehserien, Wirtschaftsfilme und Dokumentarfilme produziert, u.a. mit Künstlern wie dem DJ David Guetta und dem namhaften Modedesigner Ozwald Boateng. In den letzten zehn Jahren hat Kessler mehrere Dokumentarfilme produziert, wie LA FABULEUSE HISTOIRE DES STUDIOS HOLLYWOODIENS: MGM (Die erstaunliche Geschichte der Hollywoodstudios: MGM) und, anlässlich des 100. Geburtstags von Orson Welles, ORSON WELLES – TRAGISCHES GENIE, der 2015 die Sektion Cannes Classics bei den Filmfestspielen von Cannes eröffnete. 



(Quelle: Cinema Libre Studio)

 

Zurück