Reading & Discussion Canceled: Martin Walser

04/30/15
6:30pm

Goethe-Institut New York

30 Irving Place
New York, NY 10003

Unfortunately the reading and discussion with Martin Walser on April 30 has been canceled.
We apologize for any inconvenience.


To mark the publication of Martin Walser's novel A Gushing Fountain in English (Arcade, April 2015), the esteemed author and his American translator David Dollenmayer will read from the book. A Gushing Fountain, first published in German by Suhrkamp in 1998, is an indelible portrait of Nazism slowly overtaking and poisoning a small town. Semi-autobiographical, it is also a remarkably vivid account of a childhood fraught with troubles, yet full of remembered love and touched by miracle. The author and translator will be in conversation with Christoph Bartmann, Executive Director of the Goethe-Institut New York.

Martin Walser is one of Germany’s most prominent and prolific postwar writers, a contemporary of Heinrich Böll, Günther Grass, and Christa Wolf. Born in Wasserburg on Lake Constance in 1927, he is the author of numerous novels, stories, and plays, including A Runaway Horse (1978). For his novel A Gushing Fountain he was awarded the Peace Prize of the German Book Trade in 1998. 

David Dollenmayer is a literary translator and Professor of German at the Worcester Polytechnic Institute. He has translated numerous novels, memoirs, and correspondence. In 2008 he was awarded the Helen and Kurt Wolff Translator’s Prize and in 2010 the Translation Prize of the Austrian Cultural Forum New York. 

Reviews:
“Perpetually underrated… Imagine Upton Sinclair who writes like Marilynne Robinson.” —Bruce Allen, Washington Times

“None of the major writers of Walser’s generation, from Grass to Johnson, captures as much of the German Republic in their prose as [he] does. … This author is like a sponge—he soaks up time and gives it back to his readers.” —Stuttgarter Zeitung

“Martin Walser is in a class with Günther Grass and Max Frisch." —The New York Times


Co-presented with the German Consulate General Boston and Arcade Publishing / Skyhorse Publishing.
 

Back

Lesung & Gespräch Abgesagt: Martin Walser

Martin Walser_Canceled Martin Walser_Canceled

30.04.15
18.30 Uhr

Goethe-Institut New York

Leider wurde die Lesung und das Gespräch mit Martin Walser am 30. April abgesagt.
Wir entschuldigen uns für jegliche Unannehmlichkeiten. 

Anlässlich der englischen Übersetzung von Martin Walsers Roman Ein springender Brunnen (Arcade, April 2015), lesen der renommierte Autor und sein US-amerikanischer Übersetzer, David Dollenmayer, aus dem Buch. Ein springender Brunnen, 1998 im Suhrkamp Verlag erschienen, beschreibt, wie langsam aber stetig der Nationalsozialismus eine deutsche Kleinstadt einnimmt und vergiftet. Es ist ein lebendiger, zum Teil autobiographischer, Bericht von einer schwierigen Kindheit, geprägt von liebevollen Erinnerungen und Wundern. Der Autor und sein Übersetzer sind im Gespräch mit Christoph Bartmann, Leiter des Goethe-Institut New York.

Martin Walser ist einer der bekanntesten deutschen Nachkriegsautoren, ein Zeitgenosse Heinrich Bölls, Günther Grass‘ und Christa Wolfs. Geboren 1927 in Wasserburg am Bodensee, hat er zahlreiche Romane, Erzählungen und Stücke verfasst, unter anderem Ein fliehendes Pferd (1978). Für den Roman Ein springender Brunnen wurde er 1998 mit dem Friedenspreis des Deutschen Buchhandels ausgezeichnet. 

David Dollenmayer ist Literaturübersetzer und Professor für Germanistik am Worcester Polytechnic Institute. Er hat zahlreiche Romane, Memoiren und Korrespondenzen übersetzt. 2008 erhielt er den Helen and Kurt Wolff Translator’s Prize und 2010 den Translation Prize des Austrian Cultural Forum New York. 

Pressestimmen:
„Fortwährend unterschätzt… Stellen Sie sich einen Upton Sinclair vor, der wie Marilynn Robinson schreibt.“ – Bruce Allen, Washington Times

„Kein anderer Schriftsteller aus Walsers Generation, von Grass bis Johnson, fängt so viel von der Bundesrepublik in seiner Prosa ein wie er… Dieser Autor gleicht einem Schwamm – er saugt seine Zeit auf und offenbart sie seinem Leser.“ – Stuttgarter Zeitung

„Martin Walser spielt in derselben Liga wie Günther Grass und Max Frisch.“ – The New York Times

Präsentiert in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Generalkonsulat der Bundesrepublik Deutschland, Boston und unterstützt von Arcade Publishing / Skyhorse Publishing.
 

Zurück