Film Screening Trace of Stones (1965/66)

Frank Beyer: Spur der Steine © DEFA-Stiftung/Klaus Schwarz © DEFA-Stiftung/Klaus Schwarz

11/15/18
7:00pm

Goethe-Institut New York

30 Irving Place
New York, NY 10003

With an introduction by Cosmo Bjorkenheim.

Beside frank depictions of social problems in New York in the 1960s, Uwe Johnson's Anniversaries also gives an unsparing and unsentimental portrait of East Germany, where Johnson lived until he departed for West Berlin in 1959.

Filmed in widescreen black-and-white, Frank Beyer’s Trace of Stones is perhaps the best-known East German film in today’s Germany, a daring political statement presented in the form of an interpersonal drama, and a great cinematic document of social conflicts in East Germany at the time. On a construction site plagued by shortages and poor planning, two men from different worlds confront each other—the swaggering pragmatist who leads an elite crew of carpenters, and the obedient bureaucrat who represents the Party’s interests. They fall in love with the same woman, an engineer on her first big assignment. (Museum of Modern Art, Germany 66)

Arguably the most important DEFA film of the 1960s, Trace of Stones was censored and shelved by East German officials for 25 years following its release. Beyer suffered professionally as a result and was forced to leave DEFA studios and work in television until he filmed his comeback Jakob the Liar in 1975, which went on to receive East Germany's first and only Academy Award nomination for Best Foreign Language Film. Beyer was originally set to direct the TV mini-series adaptation of Anniversaries in the late 1990s, but was replaced in pre-production by Margarethe von Trotta due to creative differences with the producers. 

Trace of Stones (Spur der Steine)
East Germany, 1965/66, 134 minutes
Directed by Frank Beyer. With Manfred Krug, Krystyna Stypułkowska, Eberhard Esche

Cosmo Bjorkenheim is a bookseller and a long-time contributor to Screen Slate. He lives in Queens.

Back

Filmvorführung Spur der Steine (1965/66)

Frank Beyer: Spur der Steine © DEFA-Stiftung/Klaus Schwarz © DEFA-Stiftung/Klaus Schwarz

15.11.18
19.00 Uhr

Goethe-Institut New York

30 Irving Place
New York, NY 10003

Mit einer Einführung von Cosmo Bjorkenheim.

Neben der offenen Schilderung sozialer Probleme im New York der 1960er Jahre zeichnet Uwe Johnsons Jahrestage auch ein schonungsloses und unsentimentales Portrait der DDR, wo Johnson bis zu seinem Aufbruch nach West-Berlin 1959 lebte.

In schwarz-weiß und Breitbild gefilmt ist Frank Beyers Spur der Steine der wahrscheinlich bekannteste ostdeutsche Film im heutigen Deutschland – ein gewagtes politisches Statement in Form eines zwischenmenschlichen Dramas und ein großartiges Filmdokument der gesellschaftlichen Probleme im damaligen Osten. Auf einer von Engpässen und Fehlplanungen geplagten Baustelle geraten zwei Männer aus unterschiedlichen Welten aneinander: der stolze Pragmatiker, der eine ausgelesene Zimmermannstruppe leitet, und der unterwürfige Bürokrat, der das Interesse der Partei im Blick hat. Sie verlieben sich in dieselbe Frau, eine Ingenieurin bei ihrem ersten Großprojekt. (Museum of Modern Art, Germany 66)

Spur der Steine ist der vermutlich wichtigste DEFA-Film der 1960er Jahre. Nach seiner Erscheinung wurde der Film von ostdeutschen Funktionären zensiert und bis zur Wiedervereinigung aus dem Verkehr gezogen. Beyer erlitt dadurch einen beruflichen Rückschlag und musste die DEFA und seine Arbeit im Filmgeschäft verlassen. 1975 verschaffte ihm der Film Jakob der Lügner, für den die DDR ihre erste und einzige Oscar-Nominierung für den Besten Fremdsprachigen Film bekam, ein Comeback. Ende der 1990er Jahre sollte Beyer Uwe Johnsons Jahrestage für das deutsche Fernsehen verfilmen, wurde dann jedoch in der Vorproduktion aufgrund künstlerischer Differenzen mit den Produzenten durch Margarethe von Trotta ersetzt.

Spur der Steine
DDR, 1965/66, 134 Minuten
Regie: Frank Beyer. Mit Manfred Krug, Krystyna Stypułkowska, Eberhard Esche

Cosmo Bjorkenheim ist Buchhändler und Filmkritiker für Screen Slate.  Er wohnt in Queens.

Zurück