Award ceremony Helen & Kurt Wolff and Gutekunst Translation Prizes 2019

Helen & Kurt Wolff and Gutekunst Translation Prizes 2019

05/23/19
7:00pm

Goethe-Institut New York

30 Irving Place
New York, NY 10003

Join the Goethe-Institut New York for an evening celebrating translation of German literature as the Helen and Kurt Wolff Translator's Prize and the Gutekunst Prize of the Friends of Goethe New York are awarded.

The 2019 Helen and Kurt Wolff Prize recipient is Damion Searls for his translation of Uwe Johnson's Anniversaries published by New York Review Books in 2018.

Erin Palombi will be awarded the Gutekunst Prize of the Friends of Goethe New York for her translation of an excerpt from the novel Keinland by Jana Hensel (Wallstein, 2017).

The annual Helen and Kurt Wolff Translator's Prize has been awarded each year since 1996 to honor an outstanding literary translation from German into English published by a North American publisher during the previous year. The translator of the winning translation will receive $10,000. The prize was established in 1996 and is administered by the Goethe-Institut New York. It is funded by the German government. 

In 2010, the Goethe-Institut New York received a generous donation in memory of Frederick and Grace Gutekunst. A prize was created to identify outstanding young translators of German literature into English and assist them in establishing contact with the translation and publishing communities. As of 2017, the prize is supported by the Friends of Goethe New York. The winner receives a prize of $2,500. 

Back

Preisverleihung Helen & Kurt Wolff und Gutekunst Übersetzterpreis 2019

Helen & Kurt Wolff and Gutekunst Translation Prizes 2019

23.05.19
19.00 Uhr

Goethe-Institut New York

30 Irving Place
New York, NY 10003

Aus Anlass der Verleihung des Helen und Kurt Wolff Preises für Übersetzer und des Gutekunst Prize of the Friends of Goethe New York laden wir Sie ein, mit dem Goethe-Institut einen Abend der deutschen Literatur in Übersetzung zu feiern.

Mit dem Helen und Kurt Wolff Preis 2019 wird Damion Searls ausgezeichnet für seine Übersetzung von Uwe Johnsons Roman Anniversaries [Jahrestage], publiziert bei New York Review Books, 2018. 

Den Gutekunst Preis 2019 erhält Erin Palombi für ihre Übersetzung eines Ausschnittes aus dem Roman Keinland von Jana Hensel, publiziert bei Wallstein Verlag, 2017.

Mit dem Helen und Kurt Wolff Übersetzerpreis wird im Juni jeden Jahres eine herausragende Literaturübersetzung vom Deutschen ins Englische gewürdigt, die im vorangegangenen Jahr in den USA veröffentlicht wurde. Der Preisträger erhält eine mit US $10.000 dotierte Auszeichnung. Der von der deutschen Regierung finanzierte Preis wurde 1996 ins Leben gerufen und wird vom Goethe-Institut New York verwaltet.

2010 erhielt das Goethe-Institut New York eine Spende zum Gedenken an Frederick und Grace Gutekunst. Ein Förderpreis wurde ins Leben gerufen, um talentierte Nachwuchsübersetzerinnen und-übersetzer von deutscher Literatur zu entdecken und sie zu unterstützen, Kontakte in der Übersetzungs- und Verlagswelt zu knüpfen. Ab 2017 wird der Preis von den Friends of Goethe New York gefördert. Der Preisträger erhält US $2.500.

Zurück