Lecture A Brief History of the African Diaspora in the Ottoman Empire and Modern Turkey

Lecture by Zavier Wingham for Pickle Bar Pickle Bar/Zavier Wingham

03/05/21
12:00pm EST

Online

Lecture by Zavier Wingham for Pickle Bar

Online Lecture by Zavier Wingham

Register In collaboration with Albertinum (Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden) and the Goethe-Institut New York, Slavs and Tatars’ Pickle Bar is happy to invite you to a lecture by Zavier Wingham, the first in a series of events devoted to exploring black identity in Central Asia, the Middle East, and Eastern Europe. Held within the framework of the Goethe-Institut's extended program for the exhibition 1 Million Roses for Angela Davis at the Albertinum, Zavier Wingham aims to briefly sketch the history of the African diaspora in the late Ottoman Empire and the Republic of Turkey, with particular attention on the legacies of Ottoman slavery.
 
Zavier Wingham is a Ph.D. candidate in the joint program for History and Middle East and Islamic Studies. His dissertation research explores how changing Ottoman elite conceptions of race, slavery, and blackness in the Ottoman Empire contributed to new forms of the racialization of enslaved and manumitted Africans, as well as how Africans in the Ottoman empire experienced these processes of racialization and sought to create new kinds of community and ways of living. He is currently a Ph.D. fellow at Koç University’s Research Center for Anatolian Civilizations. He is also an editor at Ajam Media Collective. 
 
Pickle Bar is Slavs and Tatars’ latest initiative to extend their Eurasian platform to the greater public outside the confines of the traditional institution. Situated steps away from the collective’s studio and recently-launched mentorship & residency program, Pickle Bar invites other artists, thinkers, writers, and researchers to explore the limits of ideologies and the edges of belief systems within a Slavic take on the apéritivo bar. Due to CV-19, Pickle Bar will be operating remotely with a series of online events until further notice.

A project of Albertinum (Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden) and the Goethe-Institut New York, in collaboration with Slavs and Tatars‘ Pickle Bar.

Back

Vortrag Eine kurze Geschichte der afrikanischen Diaspora im Osmanischen Reich

Lecture by Zavier Wingham for Pickle Bar Pickle Bar/Zavier Wingham

05.03.21
12.00 Uhr EST

Online

Lecture by Zavier Wingham for Pickle Bar

Online Lecture von Zavier Wingham

Register In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Albertinum (Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden) und dem Goethe-Institut New York, freut sich Slavs and Tatars’ Pickle Bar Sie zu einer Lesung von Zavier Wingham einzuladen. Die erste in einer Reihe von Veranstaltungen, die sich der Erforschung von Schwarzer Identität in Zentralasien, dem Mittleren Osten und Osteuropa widmet. Im Rahmen unserer Veranstaltungsreihe “1 Million Rosen für Angela Davis”, skizziert Zavier Wingham die Geschichte der afrikanischen Diaspora im späten Osmanischen Reich und der Republik der Türkei mit besonderem Fokus auf der Vergangenheit osmanischer Sklav*Innen.

Zavier Wingham ist Doktorand am gemeinschaftlichen Programm für Geschichte des Mittleren Ostens und Islamische Studien. In seiner Dissertation erforscht er, wie sich wandelnde osmanisch, elitäre Ideen von Rasse, Sklaverei und dem Schwarz Sein im Osmanischen Reich einen Beitrag zu neuen Formen der Radikalisierung von versklavten und freigelassenen Afrikaner*Innen geleistet haben. Außerdem erforscht er wie Afrikaner*Innen im Osmanischen Reich diese Prozesse der Radikalisierung wahrgenommen haben und versuchten, neue Gemeinschaften und Lebensweisen für sich zu kreiieren. Wingham ist aktuell Fellow am Koç University Research Center for Anatolian Civilizations und ist zusätzlich als Editor beim Ajam Media Collective tätig.

Pickle Bar ist Slavs and Tatars aktuelle Initiative, um ihre eurasische Plattform einer größeren Öffentlichkeit außerhalb der Grenzen von traditionellen Institutionen zugänglich zu machen. Nur Schritte entfernt vom Studio des Kollektivs und des kürzlich ins Leben gerufenen Mentoren- und Residenz-Programms, lädt Pickle Bar Künstler*Innen, Denker*Innen, Dichter*Innen und Wissenschaftler*Innen ein, die Grenzen von Ideologien und die Ränder von Glaubenssystemen im Rahmen der slavischen Version einer Aperitif-Bar zu hinterfragen. Wegen der Covid-19 Pandemie wird die Pickle Bar bis auf weiteres nur virtuell mit einer Serie von Online-Events aktiv sein.

Ein Projekt des Albertinum (Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden) und des Goethe-Instituts New York in Zusammenarbeit mit der Slavs and Tatars‘ Pickle Bar.
 

Zurück