Exhibition Grada Kilomba: Heroines, Birds, and Monsters

The artist leaning against black stairs wearing a black costume with wings (c) Grada Kilomba

07/10-10/31/21

Amant Foundation

Grada Kilomba: Heroines, Birds and Monsters

We are excited to collaborate with Amant Foundation on its opening exhibition with Berlin-based artist Grada Kilomba: Heroines, Birds and Monsters. The first solo exhibition of the artist in the United States presents her unique form of storytelling and will be on view July 10 - October 31, 2021.

Working with theory, performance, film, and literature, Kilomba reveals the narratives of the colonial past, giving space to the silenced voices whose traumas are ever-present. In her own words: “What if history has not been told properly? What if our history is haunted by cyclical violence precisely because it has not been buried properly?”

Grada Kilomba’s work is showcased across three of Amant’s buildings, transforming them into a theatre stage where characters, gestures, words, sounds, and props unfold into a hybrid body, exchanging roles and staging a new dramaturgy that traverses geographies and temporalities.

A World of Illusions (2017-2019) forms the centerpiece of the exhibition. In this large sculptural video installation, on display at 932 Grand St, Kilomba radically reinterprets three well-known Greek myths to expose the unresolved tragedies of the post-colonial condition. Drawing on her academic background in psychoanalysis, the artist dedicates Narcissus and Echo, to the politics of invisibility; Oedipus the King is dedicated to the politics of violence, and the tragedy of Antigone exposes the politics of erasure and the importance of ceremonial memory. Combining music, mime, and dance, she re-stages the fables, using the African oral tradition of storytelling –the Griot– and building on analogies to the modern patriarchal system through the inclusion of a postcolonial lens.

At 315 Maujer St., images continue to portray the mythical narratives using different formats and methodologies. The trilogy reincarnates as a sequence of photographs with the shared title of Heroines, Birds and Monsters (2020), portraying the female protagonists in a sculptural pose. In The Desire Project (2016) the representational image disappears entirely, with text displayed as the only visual element accompanied by musical rhythms substituting for the narrator’s voice. The concluding work, Table of Goods (2017), a sculpture born out of ritual performance, presents as both an object and landscape of the whole exhibition. The transatlantic trade between Europe, America, and Africa—sugar, coffee, cacao--are interred in a pile of soil. Kilomba displays these extracted materials as a burial, a symbolic ritual of remembrance of the slave trade as historical trauma, of which the consequences on the psyche are yet to be thoroughly explored.

Heroines, Birds and Monsters is an exhibition that applies a new poetic, theoretical, and political framework to the colonial past, and the ways by which these narratives continue to embed themselves. “Retelling history anew and properly is a necessary ceremony, a political act. Otherwise, history becomes haunted. It repeats itself. It returns intrusively, as fragmented knowledge, interrupting and assaulting our present lives.” – Grada Kilomba

The exhibition is curated by Ruth Estevez, Artistic Director at Amant Foundation with the assistance of Isabella Nimmo, Curatorial Coordinator in collaboration with the Goethe-Institut New York and Goodman Gallery.

Grada Kilomba (b. 1968, Lisbon, Portugal) is an interdisciplinary artist, whose work draws on memory, trauma, gender, and post-colonialism, interrogating concepts of knowledge, power, and violence. Kilomba holds a distinguished Doctorate in Philosophy from the Freie Universität Berlin.
Her work has been presented in major international events such as La Biennale de Lubumbashi VI; 10. Berlin Biennale; Documenta 14, Kassel; 32. Bienal de São Paulo. Selected solo and group exhibitions include the Pinacoteca de São Paulo; Bildmuseet, Umeå; Kadist Art Foundation, Paris; The Power Plant, Toronto; Maxim Gorki Theatre, Berlin; MAAT-Museum of Art, Architecture, and Technology, Lisbon; Secession Museum, Vienna among others. Kilomba’s work features in public and private collections worldwide. Her written work has been translated into several languages and published in several international anthologies.

Amant Foundation is a non-profit arts organization fostering experimentation and dialogue through exhibitions, residencies, and public programs at its two locales: the New York City borough of Brooklyn and the Tuscan village of Chiusure in the heart of the Siena province. In New York, Amant provides a public forum that supports both established and under-recognized artists working across diverse creative fields. The Foundation also hosts two residency programs in New York and Siena that are at the center of its activities. 

Back

Ausstellung Grada Kilomba: Heroines, Birds, and Monsters

Die Künstlerin auf einer Treppe lehnend mit schwarzem Kostüm und Flügeln (c) Grada Kilomba

10.07-31.10.21

Amant Foundation

315/306 Maujer St.
Brooklyn, NY 11206

Grada Kilomba: Heroines, Birds and Monsters

Gemeinsam mit der Amant Foundation freuen wir uns sehr, die erste US- weite Einzelausstellung der in Berlin lebenden Künstlerin Grada Kilomba: Heroines, Birds, and Monsters zu präsentieren. Die Ausstellung ist vom 10. Juli bis zum 31. Oktober 2021 in dem neu konzipierten Gebäudekomplex der Amant Foundation zu sehen.

Kilomba arbeitet in den Bereichen Theorie, Performance, Film und Literatur, um Erzählstränge der kolonialen Vergangenheit aufzudecken und den stumm gemachten Stimmen Raum zu geben, deren Traumata immer noch allgegenwärtig sind. In ihren eigenen Worten: „Was, wenn Geschichte nicht richtig erzählt wurde? Was, wenn unsere Geschichte heimgesucht wird von zyklischen Episoden von Gewalt, gerade weil sie nicht richtig begraben wurde?“ 

Grada Kilombas Arbeit wird in drei unterschiedlichen Gebäuden der Amant Foundation zu sehen sein und verwandelt sie so in eine Theaterbühne, auf der Figuren, Gestiken, Geräusche und Requisiten sich zu einem hybriden Körper entfalten, die Rollen tauschen und einer neuen Dramaturgie folgen, die über Geografie und Zeitlichkeit hinausgeht.

A World of Illusions (2017-2019) bildet das Kernstück der Ausstellung. In dieser übergroßen, skulpturalen Videoinstallation, die in der 932 Grand Str. zu sehen ist, interpretiert Kilomba drei wohlbekannte griechische Mythen radikal neu, um die noch ungelösten Tragödien der post-kolonialen Gegenwart deutlich zu machen. Die Künstlerin nutzt hierfür ihre akademische Ausbildung in der Psychoanalyse und widmet Narcissus und Echo der Politik der Unsichtbarkeit, König Ödipus der Politik der Gewalt und die Tragödie von Antigone verdeutlicht die Politik des Auslöschens und die Relevanz von zeremoniellem Erinnern. Sie kombiniert Musik, Pantomime und Tanz, um diese Fabeln neu aufzuführen und nutzt die afrikanische, orale Tradition des Geschichtenerzählens – die Griots – und baut auf die Analogien des modernen patriarchalen Systems auf unter Einbezug einer post-kolonialen Sichtweise.   

In der 315 Maujer Street portraitiert eine Bildreihe die mythischen Erzählstränge durch unterschiedliche Formate und Methoden. Die Trilogie wird in einer Abfolge von Fotografien wiedergeboren mit dem gemeinsamen Titel Heroines, Birds, and Monsters (2020), die die weiblichen Protagonistinnen in einer skulpturalen Pose zeigen. In The Desire Project (2016) verschwindet das repräsentative Bild komplett und Text ist das einzige visuelle Element begleitet von musikalischen Rhythmen, die die Erzählerstimme ersetzen. Die abschließende Arbeit, Table of Goods (2017), ist eine Skulptur, die aus einer rituellen Performance entstanden ist und sowohl als Objekt sowie Landschaft der gesamten Ausstellung verstanden werden kann. Der transatlantische Handel zwischen Europa, Amerika und Afrika – Zucker, Kaffee, Kakao – ist begraben in einem Haufen Erde. Kilomba visualisiert diese abgebauten Rohstoffe als Beerdigung, ein symbolisches Ritual zur Erinnerung an den Sklavenhandel als historisches Trauma, dessen Einfluss auf die Psyche erst noch gründlich erforscht werden muss.  
Heroines, Birds and Monsters ist eine Ausstellung, die einen neuen poetischen, theoretischen und politischen Rahmen auf die koloniale Vergangenheit anwendet sowie die Art und Weise, wie diese Narrative sich immer wieder selbst einbetten. „Geschichte neu und korrekt zu erzählen, ist eine notwendige Zeremonie, ein politischer Akt. Andernfalls wird sie immer wieder heimgesucht. Sie wiederholt sich. Sie kommt zurück als fragmentiertes Wissen und drängt sich in, ja vergreift sich an unserem aktuellen Leben.“ – Grada Kilomba   

Die Ausstellung wurde kuratiert von Ruth Estevez, Künstlerische Leitung der Amant Foundation mit Hilfe von Isabella Nimmo, Kuratorische Koordination, in Kooperation mit dem Goethe-Institut New York und der Goodman Gallery.

Grada Kilomba (*1968 in Lissabon, Portugal) ist eine interdisziplinäre Künstlerin, deren Arbeiten sich mit Erinnerung, Trauma, Geschlecht und dem Post-Kolonialismus beschäftigen und Konzepte von Wissen, Macht und Gewalt erforschen. Kilomba hat ihren Doktor der Philosophie mit Auszeichnung an der Freien Universität Berlin gemacht. Ihre Arbeiten wurden in diversen übergreifenden Ausstellungen präsentiert wie z.B. in La Biennale de Lubumbashi VI, der 10. Berlin Biennale, der Documenta 14 in Kassel und der 32. Bienal de São Paulo. Ausgewählte Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen beinhalten unter anderem Pinacoteca de São Paulo; Bildmuseet, Umeå; Kadist Art Foundation, Paris; The Power Plant, Toronto; Maxim Gorki Theatre, Berlin; MAAT-Museum of Art, Architecture, and Technology, Lisbon; Secession Museum, Vienna. Kilombas Arbeiten befinden sich in öffentlichen wie privaten Sammlungen weltweit. Ihre Texte wurden in unterschiedlichste Sprachen übersetzt und in mehreren Anthologien veröffentlicht.

Amant Foundation ist eine gemeinnützige Kunstorganisation, die das Experimentieren und den Dialog durch Ausstellungen, Residenzen und öffentliche Programme an zwei unterschiedlichen Orten fördert: in Brooklyn und dem toskanischen Dorf Chiusure im Herzen der Siena Provinz in Italien. In New York bietet Amant ein öffentliches Forum, das sowohl etablierte wie noch unbekannte Künstler*Innen, die in unterschiedlichen kreativen Feldern arbeiten, unterstützt. Die Stiftung organisiert außerdem zwei Residenzprogramm in New York und Siena, die im Zentrum ihrer Aktivitäten stehen.  

Zurück