Film Screening Pop Up Film Haus: Location Hunting

Motivsuche Photo (detail): © DEFA Stiftung, W. Ebert, D. Kleist, N. Kuhroeber

Wed, 04/03/2019

Stray Cat Film Center

1662 Broadway
Kansas City, MO 64108

What´s left? Films from former East Germany

As part of the 2018-2019 initiative Year of German-American Friendship, encompassed by the motto “Wunderbar Together”, Goethe Pop Up Kansas City invites everyone to its Pop Up Film Haus to discover German cinema through a curated selection of films. Each film will be shown in German with English subtitles.
 
Together with our partner Stray Cat Film Center, we invite you to What’s left? Films from former East Germany, a series of film screenings curated by Dr. Larson Powell, Professor of Film Studies at UMKC. Dr. Powell will lead a discussion after each screening about the film’s content and contexts, its relation to film history, and its artistic form and style.
 
This week’s screening at Stray Cat Film Center:
 
Location Hunting/Motivsuche (1990)
Director: Dietmar Hochmuth
Cast: Lothar Bisky, Bärbel Bolle, Arianne Borbach
 
Filmmaker Rüdiger Stein begins a new project: filming Klaus and Manuela, young expectant parents, for a documentary on "Starting a Family." As the project threatens to fall apart, Rüdiger becomes personally involved in this family-to-be when – after the death of Klaus's father – Rüdiger steps in as his guardian. Thanks to his experiences with Klaus and Manuela, Rüdiger is able to face his work and his life with open eyes.
 
Released in 1990, this is one of the last DEFA films.
 
The Pop Up Film Haus is part of the project Wunderbar: A Celebration of German Film. From Beloved Sisters to A Coffee in Berlin and Young Goethe in Love, from The Blue Angel to The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari - we are celebrating German-American friendship with our partner Kanopy by bringing 48 German films to your screens.
 

Back

Filmvorführung Pop Up Film Haus: Motivsuche

Motivsuche Foto (Ausschnitt): © DEFA Stiftung, W. Ebert, D. Kleist, N. Kuhroeber

Mi, 03.04.2019

Stray Cat Film Center

1662 Broadway
Kansas City, MO 64108

Was bleibt? Filme aus dem ehemaligen Ostdeutschland

Im Rahmen des Deutschlandjahres in den USA 2018/2019 mit dem Motto „Wunderbar Together“ lädt das Goethe Pop Up Kansas City zu deutschem Kino im Pop Up Film Haus ein. Alle Filme werden auf Deutsch mit englischen Untertiteln gezeigt.
 
Zusammen mit unserem Partner Stray Cat Film Center präsentieren wir die Filmreihe: Was bleibt? Filme aus dem ehemaligen Ostdeutschland. Dr. Larson Powell, Professor für Filmwissenschaft an UMKC, ist Organisator der Filmreihe und wird nach jedem Film eine Diskussion zum Inhalt und Kontext, zur künstlerischen Umsetzung sowie filmhistorischen Einordnung leiten.  
 
Diese Woche zeigen wir im Stray Cat Film Center:
 
Motivsuche/Location Hunting (1990)
Regie: Dietmar Hochmuth
Besetzung: Lothar Bisky, Bärbel Bolle, Arianne Borbach
 
Der Filmemacher Rüdiger Stein beginnt ein neues Projekt: Er filmt Klaus und Manuela, die ein Kind erwarten, für eine Dokumentation zum Thema  „Eine Familie gründen“. Als das Projekt zu scheitern droht, wird Rüdiger persönlich involviert. Er übernimmt die Vormundschaft für Klaus, als dessen Vater stirbt. Durch seine Erfahrungen mit Klaus und Manuela kann Rüdiger seiner Arbeit und seinem Leben mit offeneren Augen begegnen.
 
Dieser Film aus dem Jahre 1990 ist einer der letzten DEFA-Filme.
 
Das Pop Up Film Haus ist Teil des Projekts Wunderbar: Deutsche Filme feiern. Von Die geliebten Schwestern zu Oh Boy und Goethe!, von Der blaue Engel zum Kabinett des Dr. Caligari – wir feiern die deutsch-amerikanische Freundschaft und bringen gemeinsam mit unserem Partner Kanopy 48 deutsche Filme auf Ihre Bildschirme.
 

Zurück