Film Screening Pop Up Film Haus: Grill Point

Grill Point Photo (detail): © Rommel Film e.K.

Wed, 05/22/2019

Stray Cat Film Center

1662 Broadway
Kansas City, MO 64108

What´s left? Films from former East Germany

As part of the 2018-2019 initiative Year of German-American Friendship, encompassed by the motto “Wunderbar Together”, Goethe Pop Up Kansas City invites everyone to its Pop Up Film Haus to discover German cinema through a curated selection of films. Each film will be shown in German with English subtitles.
 
Together with our partner Stray Cat Film Center, we invite you to What’s left? Films from former East Germany, a series of film screenings curated by Dr. Larson Powell, Professor of Film Studies at UMKC. Dr. Powell will lead a discussion after each screening about the film’s content and contexts, its relation to film history, and its artistic form and style.
 
This week’s screening at Stray Cat Film Center:
 
Grill Point/Halbe Treppe (2002)
Director: Andreas Dresen
Cast: Axel Prahl, Steffi Kühnert, Gabriela Maria Schmeide, Thorsten Merten
 
Frankfurt/Oder: Everyday life of two married couples between pub, job at a radio station and shop assistant. Apparently without any external reason, the husband of one couple and the wife of the other fall in love. The betrayed are horrified, perplexed, and injured. The new couple is already looking for an apartment, but finally the man returns to his wife. Only the other will remain alone, because his wife wants to be free.

Grill Point is a cinematic adventure created with a small cast, without a script and only on the basis of improvisation. Directed by one of Germany's most prolific directors, Andreas Dresen (Cloud 9, Summer in Berlin).
 
The Pop Up Film Haus is part of the project Wunderbar: A Celebration of German Film. From Beloved Sisters to A Coffee in Berlin and Young Goethe in Love, from The Blue Angel to The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari - we are celebrating German-American friendship with our partner Kanopy by bringing 48 German films to your screens.
 

Back

Filmvorführung Pop Up Film Haus: Halbe Treppe

Halbe Treppe Foto (Ausschnitt): © Rommel Film e.K.

Mi, 22.05.2019

Stray Cat Film Center

1662 Broadway
Kansas City, MO 64108

Was bleibt? Filme aus dem ehemaligen Ostdeutschland

Im Rahmen des Deutschlandjahres in den USA 2018/2019 mit dem Motto „Wunderbar Together“ lädt das Goethe Pop Up Kansas City zu deutschem Kino im Pop Up Film Haus ein. Alle Filme werden auf Deutsch mit englischen Untertiteln gezeigt.
 
Zusammen mit unserem Partner Stray Cat Film Center präsentieren wir die Filmreihe: Was bleibt? Filme aus dem ehemaligen Ostdeutschland. Dr. Larson Powell, Professor für Filmwissenschaft an UMKC, ist Organisator der Filmreihe und wird nach jedem Film eine Diskussion zum Inhalt und Kontext, zur künstlerischen Umsetzung sowie filmhistorischen Einordnung leiten.  
 
Diese Woche zeigen wir im Stray Cat Film Center:
 
Halbe Treppe/Grill Point (2001)
Regie: Andreas Dresen
Besetzung: Axel Prahl, Steffi Kühnert, Gabriela Maria Schmeide, Thorsten Merten

Frankfurt/Oder: Alltag von zwei befreundeten Ehepaaren zwischen Kneipe, Arbeit bei der Radiostation und Verkaufsjob. Scheinbar ohne einen äußeren Anlass verlieben sich der Ehemann des einen und die Ehefrau des anderen Paares ineinander. Die Betrogenen sind entsetzt, ratlos, verletzt. Das neue Paar sucht schon eine Wohnung, dann kehrt der Mann jedoch wieder zu seiner Frau zurück. Der andere Mann wird alleine bleiben, denn seine Ehefrau will frei sein.

Halbe Treppe ist ein cineastisches Abenteuer, das mit einer kleinen Besetzung, ohne Drehbuch und nur auf der Grundlage von Improvisation entstanden ist. Regie führte Andreas Dresen, einer der profiliertesten Regisseure Deutschlands (Wolke 9, Sommer in Berlin).
 
Das Pop Up Film Haus ist Teil des Projekts Wunderbar: Deutsche Filme feiern. Von Die geliebten Schwestern zu Oh Boy und Goethe!, von Der blaue Engel zum Kabinett des Dr. Caligari – wir feiern die deutsch-amerikanische Freundschaft und bringen gemeinsam mit unserem Partner Kanopy 48 deutsche Filme auf Ihre Bildschirme.
 

Zurück