Discussion Lest We Forget: Public Conversation

LEST WE FORGET in Kansas City Photo (detail): © National WWI Museum and Memorial

Fri, 10/04/2019

University of Missouri-Kansas City

5005 Rockhill Rd
Kansas City, MO 64110

Memorializing Mass Atrocities through Art

Please join us for an open-ended conversation about how we memorialize mass atrocities using public art. This discussion ties in with LEST WE FORGET, a major exhibition focusing on the Holocaust that will be presented in Kansas City at the Memorial Courtyard at the National WWI Museum and Memorial from Sep 20th until Oct 6th, 2019.
 
What role does public art play in the creation of critical memory cultures? Kansas City is the latest in a series of international cities to host the photo installation and international Holocaust remembrance project LEST WE FORGET by Luigi Toscano, a series of large-scale portraits of Holocaust survivors from around the world.
 
UMKC Professor of History Dr. Andrew Bergerson will address this difficult subject with project creator Luigi Toscano together with Dr. Cristina Albu, UMKC Associate Professor of Art and Art History, and Dr. Sandra Enriquez, UMKC Assistant Professor of Public History.
 
This public discussion will be held on Fri, Oct 4th from 12:00pm-1:30pm at University of Missouri-Kansas City (UMKC), Katz Hall, room 101.
 
The event is free and open to the public, but RSVPs are requested by emailing: hohensteinflackh@umkc.edu

Back

Diskussion Gegen das Vergessen: Öffentliche Diskussion

GEGEN DAS VERGESSEN in Kansas City Foto (Ausschnitt): © National WWI Museum and Memorial

Fr, 04.10.2019

University of Missouri-Kansas City

5005 Rockhill Rd
Kansas City, MO 64110

Erinnern an Massengräueltaten durch Kunst

Das Goethe Pop Up Kansas City lädt Sie zusammen mit dem UMKC Department of History zu einem öffentlichen Gespräch zum Thema Erinnern an Massengräueltaten durch Kunst ein. Die Diskussion findet im Rahmen der Holocaust-Ausstellung GEGEN DAS VERGESSEN  statt, die vom 20. September bis 6. Oktober 2019 am Memorial Courtyard des National WWI Museum and Memorial präsentiert wird.
 
Welche Rolle spielt Kunst im öffentlichen Raum bei der Schaffung einer kritischer Erinnerungskultur? Kansas City reiht sich in eine ganze Reihe von internationalen Städten ein, in denen das internationale Holocaust-Gedenkprojekt GEGEN DAS VERGESSEN des Fotografen und Filmemachers Luigi Toscano zu sehen ist. Die Fotoinstallation besteht aus großformatigen Porträts von Holocaust-Überlebenden aus aller Welt, die im öffentlichen Raum präsentiert werden.
 
Es diskutieren mit Luigi Toscano, dem Künstler und Gestalter von GEGEN DAS VERGESSEN, die UMKC Professoren Dr. Andrew Bergerson, Professor für Geschichte, Dr. Cristina Albu, Associate Professor of Art and Art History sowie Dr. Sandra Enriquez, UMKC Assistant Professor of Public History.
 
Diese öffentliche Diskussion findet am Freitag, den 4. Oktober von 12:00-13:30 Uhr an der University of Missouri-Kansas City (UMKC) in Katz Hall, Raum 101 statt.
 
Die Veranstaltung ist kostenlos und öffentlich zugänglich, jedoch wird um Anmeldung gebeten unter: hohensteinflackh@umkc.edu

Zurück