Virtual Dialogue Counter-Memories: ​Glenn North & Staci Pratt | Kansas City

Counter Memories Key visual (gold) © Goethe-Institut

Mon, 11/23/2020 -
Mon, 05/31/2021

Online

The conversation series Counter-Memories investigates a number of international monuments and places of remembrance whose symbolic significance often reveals a great deal about our relationship to history. The Goethe-Institutes in North America, the Goethe Pop Up Kansas City, the Thomas Mann House, and Onassis LA convene artists, activists, and intellectuals for illustrated virtual conversations around historical memory.
 
Watch the Kansas City episode about the Levi Harrington Memorial Marker here. 
 


About the Place of Remembrance
 
Levi Harrington was a 23-year old Black man, who became a victim of a racial terror lynching when he was brutally lynched by a white mob of at least 300 people in Kansas City, Missouri in 1882. Harrington's story is only one out of numerous racial terror lynchings that took place after Reconstruction across the US. In 2018, 136 years after Harrington’s brutal death, a memorial marker was installed by the Community Remembrance Project of Missouri to commemorate Harrington and to rectify a lack of recognition of lynching and racial conflict in Missouri. It was the first marker, which publicly remembers a victim of a lynching in Kansas City.
 
The memorial marker has already been vandalized twice since its installation 18 months ago.  In June of this year, amidst Black Lives Matter protests spurred by George Floyd’s death, it was cut from its pole and thrown off a nearby cliff. The pole that once held the marker is now the only physical remainder of the monument —​ making this place of remembrance and the vandalism it suffered a special place of (non-)remembrance, or even a place where remembrance is confronted with denial. The Community Remembrance Project of Missouri refers to the vandalism in the following way: ”The attack on the marker represents a violent denial of truth and the very right of Black communities and other communities of color to proclaim it. It is a hate crime”.
 
This Counter-Memories episode centers around the story of the Levi Harrington Memorial Marker as an example of how a local initiative in Kansas City is attempting to remember the countless victims of lynchings and create historical memory. Its comprised of a conversation between Glenn North and Staci Pratt, the two founders of the Community Remembrance Project of Missouri and journalist Amira El Ahl. Their conversation will be enriched through spoken word performances and illustrated with videos, images, and archival material. 


About the speakers
 
Glenn North Photo: @ Glenn North Glenn North is the Executive Director of the Bruce R. Watkins Cultural Heritage Center and a Co-Liaison for the Equal Justice Initiative (EJI) and the Community Remembrance Project of Missouri (CPR-MO). As a Co-Liaison, North is helping to lead a statewide effort to explore the history of lynching and racial terror in Missouri in an effort to help communities better understand and confront present day issues such as police brutality and disparities in the justice system. North holds an MFA in Creative Writing and is a spoken word artist and the author of City of Song, a collection of poems inspired by Kansas City’s rich jazz tradition and the Black experience. He is a Cave Canem fellow, a Callaloo creative writing fellow and a recipient of the Charlotte Street Generative Performing Artist Award and he is currently filling his appointment as the Poet Laureate of the 18th & Vine Historic Jazz District.

Staci Pratt Photo: @ Staci Pratt Staci Pratt spent five years as the Executive Director of Missourians for Alternatives to the Death Penalty (MADP), and previously acted as the Legal Director for the ACLU of Nevada. She is currently the Director of Public Services, at UMKC School of Law. Pratt led the effort to establish a Community Remembrance Project in Jackson County, and now functions as a Co-Liaison for the Equal Justice Initiative (EJI) and Community Remembrance Project of Missouri (CRP-MO). Pratt holds a B.A. from Dartmouth College, a J.D. from Boston College Law School, an LLM from King’s College, University of London, and a M.S.W. from the University of Kansas. 
 
Amira El Ahl Photo: © Heiko Meyer Amira El Ahl is a journalist and interviewer. She studied Arabic at the American University in Cairo and majored in Arabic and History at the School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS), University of London. Between 2006 and 2008 she was the Middle East correspondent for Der Spiegel magazine in Cairo, Egypt. For the next eight years she was a freelance journalist, author and moderator in Cairo, for Die Welt, Deutsche Welle, Qantara.de, GEO and the Goethe-Institut, amongst others, about the events in the Middle East. In 2016, she took over as the editorial coordinator at documenta 14 in Kassel and since 2017 she has been an editor at the local daily Hessische Niedersächsische Allgemeine Zeitung. El Ahl moderates panel discussions, events and symposiums in both German and English for the European Capital of Culture N2025 in Nürnberg, the Goethe-Institut, the Initiative “Offen für Vielfalt” and many others. 

 
Counter-Memories is a cooperation between the Goethe-Institutes North-America, the Onassis Foundation Los Angeles and the Thomas Mann House in collaboration with the project Shaping the Past.  

Back

Virtueller Dialog Counter-Memories: ​Glenn North & Staci Pratt | Kansas City

Counter Memories Key visual (gold) © Goethe-Institut

Mo, 23.11.2020 -
So, 31.10.2021

Online

Die Dialogserie Counter-Memories setzt sich mit einer Reihe von internationalen Denkmälern und Erinnerungsorten auseinander, deren symbolische Bedeutung viel über unser Verhältnis zur Geschichte verrät. Die Goethe-Institute in Nordamerika, das Goethe Pop Up Kansas City, das Thomas Mann House und die Onassis Foundation LA bringen Künstler*Innen, Aktivist*Innen und Intellektuelle in virtuellen Gesprächen zum Thema Erinnerungskultur zusammen, die in Videoclips um historische Zeugnisse, Bilder und Videos ergänzt. 
 
Sehen Sie die Kansas City-Episode über das Levi Harrington Mahnmal hier.  
 


Über den Erinnerungsort
 
Levi Harrington war 23 Jahre alt, als er das Opfer eines brutalen Lynchmords in Kansas City wurde. Das Lynching fand im Jahre 1882 statt, ein Mob von mindestens 300 Menschen war daran beteiligt. Der Lynchmord an Harrington nur einer von unzähligen, die nach dem Bürgerkrieg in den USA stattgefunden haben. Im Jahre 2018, nach 136 Jahren, wurde eine Gedenktafel aufgestellt, die an den brutalen Mord erinnert. Es ist das erste Denkmal überhaupt, das in Kansas City im öffentlichen Raum dem Opfer eines Lynchmords gedenkt. Der Levi Harrington Memorial Marker wurde von der Initiative Community Remembrance Project of Missouri (CPR-MO) errichtet, um der mangelnden Aufarbeitung von Lynchmorden in Missouri entgegenzutreten.
 
Seit seiner Errichtung wurde die Gedenktafel in nur eineinhalb Jahren schon zwei Mal beschädigt. Im Juni dieses Jahres, inmitten der Black Lives Matter-Proteste ausgelöst durch den Mord an George Floyd, wurde die Gedenktafel, die auf einem Metallpfosten installiert war, abgesägt und über einen Abhang geworfen. Gegenwärtig ist dieser Metallpfosten der einzige physische Überrest des Denkmals, was diesen Erinnerungsort und den Vandalismus, dem dieser ausgesetzt war, zu einem besonderen Ort der (Nicht-)Erinnerung macht. Oder auch zu einem Ort, an dem versucht wird, das Erinnern zu negieren. Das Community Remembrance Project in Missouri bewertet den Vandalismus folgendermaßen: „The attack on the marker represents a violent denial of truth and the very right of Black communities and other communities of color to proclaim it. It is a hate crime.“
 
Diese Episode von Counter-Memories untersucht die Geschichte um den Levi Harrington Memorial Marker als Beispiel, wie eine Initiative in Kansas City versucht, an die unzähligen Lynchmorde zu erinnern und eine Erinnerungskultur zu schaffen. Die Episode besteht aus einem Gespräch zwischen Glenn North und Staci Pratt, den beiden Gründer*innen des Community Remembrance Project Missouri, und der Journalistin Amira El Ahl. Das Gespräch wird durch Spoken Word Performances, Videoclips, Bilder und historische Zeugnisse ergänzt.


Über die Sprecher*innen
 
Glenn North Foto: @ Glenn North Glenn North ist Direktor des Bruce R. Watkins Cultural Heritage Centers. Er arbeitet für die Equal Justice Initiative (EJI) und ist Mitbegründer des Community Remembrance Project of Missouri (CRP-MO). Als Mitbegründer des CRP-MO hilft North dabei, die Geschichte der Lynchmorde und des Racial Terror in Missouri aufzuarbeiten, um das Wissen über gegenwärtige Probleme wie Polizeigewalt und Ungleichheiten im Rechtssystem in der Gesellschaft zu erhöhen. North hat einen MFA in Kreativem Schreiben und ist Spoken-Word-Künstler und Autor von City of Song, eine Sammlung von Gedichten, die durch die reiche Geschichte des Jazz in Kansas City inspiriert wurde. North ist Cave Canem Fellow, Callaloo Creative Writing Fellow und Preisträger des Charlotte Street Generative Performing Artist Award. Zurzeit ist er auch Poet Laureate des historischen 18th & Vine Viertels in Kansas City.
 
Staci Pratt Foto: @ Staci Pratt Staci Pratt war für fünf Jahre Geschäftsführerin der Organisation Missourians for Alternatives to the Death Penalty (MADP) und diente als Legal Director der American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) in Nevada. Zurzeit ist Pratt Direktorin der Öffentlichen Dienste der UMKC School of Law. Pratt war maßgeblich an der Gründung des Community Remembrance Project in Jackson County, MO beteiligt und arbeitet als Mitbegründerin des Community Remembrance Project von Missouri (CRP-MO) für die Equal Justice Initiative (EJI). Pratt erhielt einen Bachelor of Arts vom Dartmouth College, einen J.D. der Boston College Law School, einen LLM des King’s College in London und einen M.S.W. der University of Kansas.

Amira El Ahl Foto: © Heiko Meyer Amira El Ahl ist Journalistin und Moderatorin. Sie studierte Arabisch an der American University in Kairo und machte ihren Abschluss in Arabisch und Geschichte (mit Spezialisierung in der Geschichte des Nahen Ostens) an der School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS) der University of London. Von 2006 bis 2008 war sie als Auslandskorrespondentin Naher und Mittlerer Osten für den Spiegel in Kairo tätig. Danach arbeitete sie für acht Jahre als freie Journalistin, Autorin und Moderatorin in Kairo und berichtete anderem für Die Welt, die Deutsche WelleQantara.de, GEO und das Goethe-Institut von den Ereignissen im Nahen Osten. 2016 übernahm sie die redaktionelle Koordination der documenta 14 in Kassel und 2017 die Redaktion der Hessischen Niedersächsischen Allgemeinen Zeitung. El Ahl moderiert Podiumsdiskussionen, Veranstaltungen und Symposien in Englisch und Deutsch, unter anderem für die Kulturhauptstadt Europas N2025 in Nürnberg, für die Initiative „Offen für Vielfalt“, sowie das Goethe-Institut. 

 
Counter-Memories ist eine Kooperation zwischen den Goethe-Instituten Nordamerika, der Onassis Foundation Los Angeles und dem Thomas Mann House in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Projekt Gestaltung der Vergangenheit

Zurück