Panel Discussion OPHELIA: Rebel Meme to Systems of Power & Oppression

OPHELIA, video-sculpture, by Nadja Verena Marcin, CONTEXT Art Miami VIP Lounge, Miami, 2017<br>Photo by Thomas Jaeckel  OPHELIA (video-sculpture) by Nadja Verena Marcin, CONTEXT Art Miami VIP Lounge, Miami, 2017
Photo by Thomas Jaeckel

Thu, 03/22/2018

Minnesota Street Project

1275 Minnesota Street
San Francisco, CA 94107

In conjunction with the presentation of Nadja Verena Marcin’s OPHELIA a panel discussion will be held focusing on the processes and concepts behind the project, such as the Anthropocene age and climate change, the fragility of human life compared to the forces of nature, dichotomies of representation and gender inequality in the media, systems of power and distribution, appropriation and democratization of iconography through internet-memes, and the increasing role of performance and public art.

Panelists:

Nadja Verena Marcin © Moritz Brilo Nadja Verena Marcin, Artist + CEO Kunstraum LLC
Nadja Verena Marcin lives and works in New York and NRW Germany. In her performance-based work, Marcin examines the constructed persona, looking at the way the artist is an implicit figure. By creating a “theater of cinema” in which the audience can be immersed, Marcin brings awareness through a hyperbolic interpretation of relatable scenarios, enacting symbolic actions, catalyzing the visibility of hidden codes. Her work appropriates familiar imagery, and mirrors the ambiguities of human behavior and psychological mechanism.




Dorka Keehns Portrait © Dorka Keehn Dorka Keehn, San Francisco Arts Commissioner + Principal, KEEHN ON ART
Dorka brings to KEEHN ON ART’s consultancy her experience as an award winning public artist and as a San Francisco Arts Commissioner. On the Arts Commission, she serves as chair of the Visual Arts Committee that commissions artwork pertaining to the Public Art Program, and reviews and approves all art in the Civic Art Collection and the Art Commission Gallery.






Dena Beard © Lauren Bayles Dena Beard, Executive Director, The Lab
Dena Beard is the Executive Director of the LAB in San Francisco. She received her M.A. in Art History, Theory, and Criticism from the School of the Art Institute of Chicago and was previously Assistant Curator at the Berkeley Art Museum and Pacific Film Archive. Her work at The Lab considers the exhibition and performance space as a site to investigate and dismantle systems of perception.

Back

Podiumsdiskussion OPHELIA: Rebel Meme to Systems of Power & Oppression

OPHELIA, video-sculpture, by Nadja Verena Marcin, CONTEXT Art Miami VIP Lounge, Miami, 2017<br>Photo by Thomas Jaeckel  OPHELIA, video-sculpture, by Nadja Verena Marcin, CONTEXT Art Miami VIP Lounge, Miami, 2017
Photo by Thomas Jaeckel

Do, 22.03.2018

Minnesota Street Project

1275 Minnesota Street
San Francisco, CA 94107

In Verbindung mit der Präsentation von Nadja Verena Marcins Ophelia, wird es eine Podiumsdiskussion geben, die sich mit dem Prozess und dem Konzept hinter dem Projekt befassen, sowie zahlreiche aktuelle Themen ansprechen wird: die Klimaerwärmung, die Zerbrechlichkeit des Menschen im Gegensatz zu den Naturgewalten, Dichotomien in der Darstellung und Geschlechterungleichheiten in den Medien, Machtsysteme und ihre Verteilung, Verwendung und Demokratisierung von Ikonografien durch die Internet-Meme, und die anwachsende Rolle von Performance und öffentlicher Kunst.

Referentinnen:

Nadja Verena Marcin © Moritz Brilo Nadja Verena Marcin, Künstlerin + CEO Kunstraum LLC
Nadja Verena Marcin lebt und arbeitet in New York und NRW Deutschland. In ihrer performativen Arbeit, prüft Marcin die konstruierten Rollen, mit dem Blick des/r Künstlers/in als implizierte Figur. Bei der Erschaffung eines „Kino-Theaters“, in das das Publikum eingetaucht wird, schafft Marcin ein Bewusstsein durch die übertriebenen Interpretationen von zuordenbaren Szenarien, durch das Darstellen von symbolischen Aktionen und das Katalysieren einer Sicht auf verborgene Zeichen. Ihr Arbeiten entsprechen bekannten Bildern und spiegeln die Mehrdeutigkeit des menschlichen Verhaltens und psychologischen Mechanismen.



Dorka Keehns Portrait © Dorka Keehn Dorka Keehn, San Francisco Arts Commissioner + Principal, KEEHN ON ART
Dorka bereichert KEEHN ON ARTs Beratung durch ihre Erfahrung als preisgekrönte öffentliche Künstlerin und als San Francisco Arts Beauftragte. Bei der Kunst Kommission dient sie als Vorsitzende des Visusal Arts Komitees die Kunst realisieren, die das Public Art Programm betreffen und überprüft und genehmigt alle Kunst der Civic Art Collection und der Art Commision Gallery.






Dena Beard © Lauren Bayles Dena Beard, Direktorin, The Lab
Dena Beard ist die geschäftsführende Direktorin des LAB in San Francisco. Sie machte ihren Masterabschluss in Kunstgeschichte, Theorie und Kritik an der School of Art Institut of Chicago und war vormals Assistenzkuratorin an dem Berkley Art Museum und Pacific Film Archive. Ihre Arbeit bei Lab umfasst die Ausstellungen und Performances Räume als ein Ort um Wahrnehmungssysteme zu erforschen und aufzulösen.

Zurück