Book Release/Discussion Unearthing Wolfgang Hilbig

Isabel Fargo Cole © Simona Lexau

Tue, 07/24/2018

Goethe-Institut San Francisco

ART-Lounge
530 Bush Street
San Francisco, CA 94108

Join us for a double celebration at the Goethe-Institut San Francisco! We will toast Berlin-based translator Isabel Fargo Cole, winner of this year’s Helen & Kurt Wolff Prize for her translation of Wolfgang Hilbig’s Old Rendering Plant, and the recent publication of The Tidings of the Trees. Cole will discuss the translator as discoverer, the challenges of recreating the experience of language, and the artistic intimacy one cultivates by translating multiple works by the same writer with editor and critic Joseph Schreiber.

The Tidings of the Trees

Tidings of the Trees © Liliana Lambriev – Peter Gerdehag One of Wolfgang Hilbig’s most accessible and resonant works, The Tidings of the Trees is about the politics that rip us apart, the stories we tell for survival, and the absolute importance of words to nations and people. Where once was a beautiful wood now stands a desolate field smothered in ash and garbage, and here a young man named Waller has terrorizing encounters with grotesque figures named “the garbagemen.” As Waller becomes fascinated with these desperate men who eke out a survival by rooting through their nation’s waste, he imagines they are also digging through its past as their government erases its history and walls itself off from the outside world. Featuring some of Hilbig’s most striking, poetic, and powerful images, this flawless novella perfectly balances politics and literature.

Isabel Fargo Cole

Isabel Fargo Cole is a U.S.-born, Berlin-based writer and translator. Her translations include The Sleep of the Righteous by Wolfgang Hilbig, Boys and Murderers by Hermann Unga, All the Roads Are Open by Annemarie Schwarzenbach, and The Jew Car by Franz Fühmann. The recipient of a prestigious PEN/Heim Translation Grant in 2013, she is the initiator and co-editor of No-mans-land.org, an online magazine for new German literature in English.

Joseph Schreiber

Joseph Schreiber © Joseph Schreiber Joseph Schreiber is a writer based in Calgary, Canada. He maintains the literary blog, roughghosts, and is Criticism/Nonfiction Editor at 3:AM Magazine. His reviews and essays have been published on a variety of literary sites and publications including Numéro Cinq, Quarterly Conversation, Minor Literature[s], 3:AM and RIC Journal.
 

Back

Buchveröffentlichung/Diskussion Unearthing Wolfgang Hilbig

Isabel Fargo Cole © Simona Lexau

Di, 24.07.2018

Goethe-Institut San Francisco

ART-Lounge
530 Bush Street
San Francisco, CA 94108

Feiern Sie aus doppelten Anlass mit uns im Goethe-Institut San Francisco! Wir möchten der diesjährigen Gewinnerin des Helen & Kurt Wolff-Übersetzerpreises, Isabel Fargo Cole, zu ihrer Übersetzung von Wolfgang Hilbigs Alte Abdeckerei und des erst kürzlich veröffentlichen Buches Die Kunde von den Bäumen gratulieren. Cole wird die Rolle der Übersetzerin als Entdeckerin erörtern, beschreiben wie Spracherfahrungen transportiert werden, und was mit einem passiert, wenn durch mehrfache Übersetzungen desselben Autors eine Nähe zum Schriftsteller kultiviert wird. Die Diskussion wird geleitet von Lektor und Kritiker Joseph Schreiber.

Die Kunde von den Bäumen

Tidings of the Trees © Liliana Lambriev – Peter Gerdehag Die Kunde von den Bäumen handelt über Politik, die uns auseinanderreißt; über Geschichten, die wir uns zum Überleben erzählen; und über die Tragweite von Wörtern an Nationen und Völker. Wo einst ein schöner Wald stand, breitet sich nun eine Brache aus, trostlos bedeckt mit Asche. Auf dieser begegnet ein junger Mann namens Waller den grotesken „Müllmännern“. Waller entwickelt eine Faszination für die verzweifelten Männer, die sich ihr Überleben erkämpfen, indem sie sich durch den Müll ihrer Nation wühlen. Er stellt sie sich als Wesen vor, die sich durch ihre eigene Vergangenheit graben, während ihre Regierung versucht die Geschichte auszuradieren und mit Mauern vom Rest der Welt abzuschotten. Hilbigs Novelle schafft es perfekt, die Balance zwischen Politik und Literatur zu wahren, und bietet einige von Hilbigs eindrucksvollsten und poetischsten Bildern.

Isabel Fargo Cole

Die US-Amerikanerin lebt als Schriftstellerin und Übersetzerin in Berlin. Zur ihren Übersetzungen zählen Der Schlaf der Gerechten von Wolgang Hilbig, Knaben und Mörder von Hermann Ungar, Alle Wege sind offen von Annemarie Schwarzenbach, und Das Judenauto von Franz Fühmann. Sie war 2013 Empfängerin des renommierten PEN/Heim Übersetzerstipendiums, sie ist Gründerin und Mitherausgeberin von No-mans-land.org, ein Onlinemagazin für Neue Deutsche Literatur in Englisch.

Joseph Schreiber

Joseph Schreiber © Joseph Schreiber Schriftsteller Joseph Schreiber lebt in Calgary, Kanada. Schreiber betreibt den Literaturblog roughghosts und ist Kritiker/Redakteur vom 3:AM Magazine. Seine Rezensionen und Essays wurden auf verschiedensten Literaturseiten und in unterschiedlichsten Publikationen veröffentlicht: Numéro Cinq, Quarterly Conversation, Minor Literature[s], 3:AM and RIC Journal.

 

Zurück