Lest We Forget

Jacqueline Mendel | Alfred Münzer | Ilse Zur © Luigi Toscano

A project by Luigi Toscano

LEST WE FORGET, a Holocaust remembrance project designed by German-Italian artist Luigi Toscano, is on display at San Francisco’s Civic Center Plaza from April 17 – May 19, 2019. 78 large-scale photographs of Holocaust survivors honor individuals living in the United States, Israel, Germany, Ukraine, Russia, Austria, the Netherlands, and the Bay Area with dignified portraits. 15 of them were recently taken in San Francisco and the Bay Area. These pictures are at the center of the unique photographic installation, LEST WE FORGET and ensure that we do not forget the Holocaust and inspire us to fight hatred today.

LEST WE FORGET has been on view at the Mall in Washington D.C., the United Nations in New York City and Boston Common, as well as at prominent outdoor sites in Europe. Displaying the portraits in public spaces makes the exhibit accessible to everyone. Over 1 million people worldwide have seen it so far.

In conjunction with the photo exhibition, the Goethe-Institut San Francisco and our community partners will present numerous educational programs, film screenings at the San Francisco Public Library, a panel discussion, public tours and other events throughout San Francisco. .

The exhibit is presented by the Goethe-Institut San Francisco and the German Consulate General San Francisco, with heartfelt gratitude to Barbro and Bernard Osher for their generosity. With appreciation for the support of the Consulate General of Israel, the Consulate General of Italy, and the Italian Cultural Center. Special thanks to the San Francisco Arts Commission and San Francisco Recreation and Parks and numerous community partners.

With thanks to our community partners, Jewish Community Library and San Francisco Public Library, for putting together a bibliography of related books and DVDs for further exploration.

Jewish Community Library and SF Public Library Reading List Further Exploration

Gegen das Vergessen

Jacqueline Mendel | Alfred Münzer | Ilse Zur © Luigi Toscano

Ein Projekt von Luigi Toscano

GEGEN DAS VERGESSEN, ein Projekt zum Holocaust-Gedenken des deutsch-italienischen Künstlers Luigi Toscano, ist vom 17. April bis 19. Mai 2019 auf dem Civic Center Plaza in San Francisco zu sehen. 78 großformatige Fotografien Holocaust-Überlebender portraitieren Einzelpersonen, die in den Vereinigten Staaten, Israel, Deutschland, der Ukraine, Russland, Österreich und in den Niederlanden leben. Darunter sind 15 Porträts, die in der Bay Area entstanden sind. Diese Bilder stehen im Mittelpunkt der Ausstellung und stellen sicher, dass wir den Holocaust nicht vergessen und inspirieren uns, gegen Hass und Rassismus zu kämpfen.

GEGEN DAS VERGESSEN war bereits in Washington DC (Mall), in New York City (UNO) und in Boston (Boston Common) sowie an weiteren prominenten Orten in Europa zu sehen. Durch die Ausstellung im öffentlichen Raum ist sie für alle zugänglich. Bislang haben weltweit über eine Million Menschen die Fotoausstellung gesehen.

Zusätzlich zur Ausstellung haben wir ein vielfältiges Programm für Sie zusammengestellt, das neben Filmvorführungen in der San Francisco Public Library, eine Podiumsdiskussion, öffentliche Touren und andere Veranstaltungen über die gesamte Stadt verteilt umfasst.

Die Ausstellung wird präsentiert vom Goethe-Institut San Francisco und dem deutschen Generalkonsulat San Francisco mit herzlichem Dank an Barbro und Bernard Osher für ihre großzügige Spende. Mit Unterstützung durch die Generalkonsulate von Israel und Italien, das italienische Kulturzentrum, die San Francisco Arts Commission, San Francisco Recreation and Parks und zahlreiche Community-Partner.  

Wir danken der Jewish Community Library und San Francisco Public Library für das Zusammenstellen einer Liste von Büchern und DVDs zur weiteren Auseinandersetzung mit diesem Thema.