Commemoration LEST WE FORGET - In Observance of Yom Ha'Shoah

In conjunction with the photo exhibition LEST WE FORGET at Civic Center Plaza, the German Consulate General San Francisco and the Goethe-Institut San Francisco cordially invite you to commemorate Yom Ha'Shoah, Holocaust Remembrance Day, at City Hall.

German Consul General Hans-Ulrich Südbeck, Sigrid Savelsberg, Director of the Goethe-Institut San Francisco, Luigi Toscano, the artist, and some of his portrayed survivors will gather together with partners and supporters of this project in order to acknowledge this important day and honor the victims of the Holocaust.

Guests will have the opportunity to visit LEST WE FORGET  at Civic Center Plaza after the program.

LEST WE FORGET features 78 large-scale portraits of Holocaust survivors, including 15 from San Francisco. Luigi Toscano has visited and taken portraits of almost 300 Holocaust survivors in the United States, Germany, Ukraine, Russia, Israel, Belarus, Austria and the Netherlands so far.

The exhibition is presented by the Goethe-Institut San Francisco and the German Consulate General San Francisco, with heartfelt gratitude to Barbro and Bernard Osher for their generosity. With appreciation for the support of the Consulate General of Israel, the Consulate General of Italy, and the Italian Cultural Center. Special thanks to the San Francisco Arts Commission and San Francisco Recreation and Parks and numerous community partners.

Due to security screenings at the San Francisco's City Hall, guests are advised not to bring backpacks or large totes.

Back

Gedenkfeier GEGEN DAS VERGESSEN - Zu Ehren von Yom Ha'Shoah

In Verbindung mit der Foto-Ausstellung GEGEN DAS VERGESSEN am Civic Center Plaza laden das Deutsche Generalkonsulat in San Francisco und das Goethe-Institut San Francisco herzlich dazu ein, gemeinsam in der City Hall Yom Ha'Shoah, den Holocaust Rememberance Day, zu ehren.

Der deutsche Generalkonsul Hans-Ulrich Südbeck, Sigrid Savelsberg, Institutsleiterin des Goethe-Institut San Francisco, Luigi Toscano, der Künstler, und einige der porträtierten Überlebenden werden zusammen mit Partnern und Unterstützern des Projekts anwesend sein, um den Opfern des Holocaust zu gedenken.

Gäste werden im Anschluss an die Gedenkfeier die Möglichkeit haben, die Ausstellung GEGEN DAS VERGESSEN auf dem Civic Center Plaza zu besuchen.

GEGEN DAS VERGESSEN ist ein Projekt zum Holocaust-Gedenken des deutsch-italienischen Künstlers Luigi Toscano. 78 großformatige Fotografien Holocaust-Überlebender portraitieren Einzelpersonen, die in den Vereinigten Staaten, Israel, Deutschland, der Ukraine, Russland und der Bay Area leben.

Die Ausstellung wird präsentiert vom Goethe-Institut San Francisco und dem deutschen Generalkonsulat San Francisco mit herzlichem Dank an Barbro und Bernard Osher für ihre großzügige Spende. Mit Unterstützung durch die Generalkonsulate von Israel und Italien, das italienische Kulturzentrum, die San Francisco Arts Commission, San Francisco Recreation and Parks und zahlreiche Community-Partner.

Aufgrund der Sicherheitskontrolle wird empfohlen, keine Rucksäcke oder großen Taschen mit in die City Hall zu bringen.

Zurück